We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for nothing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Rose

Golden Rose
Ranked #3,831 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive for nothing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We've stopped and ordered one beer and one small water,and with poor service and hand written receipt, price was very expensive in compare with all prague.

Helpful?
1 Thank ShadiBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stopped here for a drink on our way down the Castle steps. There was a sign saying " home made lemonade". What we got was sweetened water with a couple of pieces of lemon, one of orange and two very soggy strawberries in it. A very strange drink with insult added to injury by the addition of a service charge on the bill. This was the only place in Prague that charged anything other than the menu price for food or drinks. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“Service is ok, but you have to pay it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is very nice restaurant, with excellent outdoors seats. We were satisfied with food, price were the same, BUT, we need to pay 15% of our bill for the service. Be aware!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ypsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are at the castle, you must check out this place out! It is a family owned and ran business. We just had soups (goulash and bean soup), but it was awesome. In fact we went back again a few days later for the same thing. The place is right alongside the castle pathway; and it has great views from the outdoor seating. The service was fantasitic; which is sometimes hard to find in this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A taste of authentic Czech cuisine right in the middle of Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you're already in Prague as you read this, you no doubt have figured out that most of the food is (1) derivative of something else and/or (2) is not very good. The Golden Rose, right in the shadow of the Castle (the last place you'd expect authentic food) is a welcome exception. We had several simple items -- strudel, goulash soup, bread, hot chocolate, in an authentic setting, and it was all excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Rose also viewed

 

Been to Golden Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing