We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and convenient”
Review of Hotel UNIC Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel UNIC Prague
Ranked #27 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent four nights here during a heat wave in July. The hotel is brand new and furnished in a pleasant minimalist style. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever seen in any hotel (including many 5 stars) and the small bistro-style dinner is also well-thought out and carefully presented. We had a problem with the airconditioning the first day and after an uncomfortable night we asked to be moved as they were not able to fix it. The second, slightly smaller, room was fine. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Slight issue with the rugs in the rooms as they can be hazardous due to rumples. The reception staff and waiters are all impeccably professional and friendly. The hotel is very well situated for walking (10 mins) to the centre and getting a tram or two up to the castle. Nice safe quiet area with a few eateries and cafés close by too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzispain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickcg, Director Comercial at Hotel UNIC Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Lizzi,

Thank you for choosing Hotel UNIC Prague during your stay in Prague. It is always very pleasant to receive positive feedback regarding our services and our staff. We are sorry that you had problem with air conditioning. Our supplier checked air conditioning in all room rooms again and assured us that there will be no problems anymore. We also notice problem with rugs, so these carpets will be replaced soon.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in Hotel UNIC Prague.

Veronika Kováčiková
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is situated somewhat northeast of the inner city, which is actually a good starting position to explore the old town and it's immediate surroundings. A couple of days before we left for Prague, I had sent an e-mail to ask for the best way to reach the hotel and to get two rooms next to each other. Promptly the hotel replied with different travel options, which bus stop to take and confirmed two adjacent rooms.
To get from the Prague airport to the hotel, one of the cheapest ways is to take the AE bus (Airport Express) which - August 2013 - costs 60 CZK one way. The ticket can be bought with the driver of the bus. Because we traveled in the middle of the summer holidays, the bus was overcrowded, hot and the driver thought he was racing in LeMans. I can imagine that in the low season, the trip is somewhat more comfortable. You need to leave the bus at Masarykovo nadrazi, which is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Alternatively, you can ask the hotel for a pick-up at the airport which will cost 590 CZK/one way.
The hotel itself is a brand new 4 star boutique hotel in a renovated stylish building. It is located in a very quiet, somewhat shabby, street. Regardless, it feels very safe, also at night.
The receptionists are very helpful, speak fluent English and are very knowledgeable of the city and how to get to the different locations.
We had one superior room and one standard room. I would recommend to take the superior rooms. The one we had was at the end of the corridor, so it actually was one of the most quiet hotel rooms I ever stayed in. The Air Conditioning is powerful, easily adjustable and the sound is a mere whisper. The room itself contains plenty of storage space, a minibar, a coffee maker, a safe, etc... Certainly worth mentioning are the large beds with comfortable mattresses. It's clean, tidy and of course all very new. The shower is powerful and you get the typical bathroom small bottles of shampoo, shower gel, etc. The bath tub (the shower is part of it) is somewhat high, so you need to hold the small towel rack in order not to slip... something apparently many people before me had to do because the rack started to come loose. To complete the room, there are two large chairs, a small table and a flat screen TV.
Breakfast was included and is served in the spacious breakfast room. On sunny mornings one can even sit outside. The breakfast is more than OK and contains a selection of breads, cereals, ham, some vegetables, some cheese. Each morning it was the same, so it might get a bit boring after the third night. Maybe a suggestion to the hotel is to have more variety and include additional types of ham, some salmon, more fresh fruit. But again, it's already very good as it is.

The location is close to the tram and bus stops. And at the reception you can buy the 30 min public transportation tickets (If you need one valid for a longer period, they direct you to the closest magazine/tobacco shop). Yet, most of Prague's highlights can be reached on foot. Very practical: there is an Albert (from the Albert Hein chain), a Lidl and some local mini-markets just around the corner. So, if you just don't want to spend too much money in a local restaurant, or you just want to have a small dinner, you can buy some prepared salads or sandwiches and eat them in your room. The mini bar is large enough to store your own bottles if you want to.

Last but not least ... the free wifi worked like a charm and this service is highly appreciated. Especially if you know some of the prices that more established 4 or 5 star hotels dare to charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room or a room at the end of the corridors. They are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PeterSGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Unic Prague is a new hotel. Its a boutique hotel. So everything is very stylefull. But sometimes things are a bit complicated. How to get warm water if there is no sign what so ever..
And iets good to have a coffeemaker in room, but no electrical point near...
The beds are extremely good, The location is superb.. Just a five minute walk and you are in old town square.

The breakfast is the best i have ever had in a hotel. Very nice café. Tosti's, serrano ham.. Fresh fruit.. Good coffee and Nice personell.

However, we have one big complaint. The aircondition did not work. And sunday the 28 th july it was The hottest day in years in Prague.. With temperatures over 35 degrees celsius.

We have been complaining several times,, but the hotel did not fix it. One manager even dare to say that it was probably to hot for the aircondition.

Strange because on The hallway The airco obviously worked ok.

I never have felt that they have taken my complaints seriously..
Maybe it was to stupid to understand The airco.. But they never bother to come up and explain to me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quistrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickcg, Director Comercial at Hotel UNIC Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Quistrene,


Thank you for staying at Hotel UNIC Prague and sharing your feedback which is helping us to improve our services and guest satisfaction. All your comments we received are taken seriously and please accept our apology for the inconveniences during your stay.

We are really sorry for your problems with air conditioning, unfortunately we were not able to fix it so quickly and did not have available another room on that day, so we could not offer to you this option. According to our manager explanation there were just misunderstanding, he did not mean that it is too hot for air conditioning to be working.

On the other hand we are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our delicious breakfast, convenient central location and friendly staff!



Please be ensured that we are constantly working on our improvements and we will be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We prebooked (and prepaid) one standard room for our teen agers and one superior room for us parents but when we arrived they gave us two standard rooms. I went down to the reception and they cleared up the misunderstanding with the household. After 20 min. waiting we got our superior room eventhough it was in different part of the hotel than our teenager's room. Hotel location is very good if you think it is OK to walk 6-7 minutes to the old townhall and only 3-4 minutes to the nearest big shopping center (Paladium) or 10-12 minutes to Wencsla's square. The hotel is new and clean. Free toiletteries is shampoo, shower gel, lotion, shower cap, hair comb and tissues (remember to bring your own conditioner).
Breakfast is good with a good variety of bread, cheese, ham, fried sausages, mushrooms and potatoes, salad, cucumber, tomatoes, peppers, yoghurt, cereals, juice, milk, coffee and tea. But we would have appreciated boilt or fried eggs instead of scrambled eggs made of egg powder.
The beds had really nice matresses and the rooms are air conditioned and possible for you to regulate temperature. In the night (before we fell asleep) and in the mornings we could hear a bit of the neighbor's doors slamming We all appreciated free WiFi.

Room Tip: We found tthat paying a few extra Euros for the superior room was worth it as the room is bigger, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Karin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just arrived home from our visit to Prague, Czech Republic and we couldn't hold ourselves from immediately writing our review about Hotel UNIC. Almost everything was the best we could wish for, especially for the price. Don't let the small, modest lobby to mislead you - the inside is very different.

Check-in: Due to our flight schedule, we arrived 7 hours before check-in time. The reception desk staff was very welcoming and did it's best effort to help us check-in early. Eventually, we received our room key 3 hours earlier than scheduled. One negative note about the check-in procedure, was that we've been asked to fill up a very informative form: our home address, passport number etc. Since our private information is very valuable for us, we went back to the desk and asked which info is mandatory and which is not (most is not but no one bothered to mention it).

The room: WOW! A long, quiet and modernly decorated corridor leads you to a highly decorated room. Our room had a huge bed that consisted of two large and very comfortable mattresses. The bath was amazing (great water stream, nice decoration) with minimal free toiletries. No view from the room window (except for the neighboring house). Our room included a large minibar, that had space for our independently bought groceries, and also a coffee set (electric kettle, coffee, sugar etc). We also found out that tap water are absolutely fine and tasty in Prague.

Breakfast: Not the best we've seen. Very minimal variety that was repeated exactly every day. Not too many options for those who don't eat meat in the morning. No cheese spreads. Scrambled egg was too "wet". It wasn't a bad breakfast but we've seen better than that. But - for the price it was just fine. The service at the dining hall was excellent!

Location: You couldn't ask for a better one. Hotel UNIC is located on a very quiet and narrow street within spitting distance of almost all main attractions that Prague has to offer. It is also located very near the old town square, Palladium shopping center, Kotva department store, supermarkets (Lidl, Albert) great restaurants (including fast food). For those who prefer not to walk, there are many options for public transportation to everywhere (metro lines, trams, busses). Just ask the reception desk to help you understand your location and direct you to Revoluční street (3 min. walk). From there everything is within your reach.

MOSTLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haifanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We just completed a 5 day stay. Whilst a little walk to the main attractions it was well worth it. The hotel is new, modern & small. The breakfast was fabulous with the best coffee I've ever had. Only down side was housekeeping knocking on your door at 8.30am or barrelling down the corridor making a racket which is loud enough to wake you up. Not all rooms have tea & coffee facilities. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Narelle-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickcg, Director Comercial at Hotel UNIC Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Narelle,

Thank you so much for your recommendation, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us in Prague. I am sorry that our housekeeping disturbed you at the morning. I would like to ensure you, that housekeeping was informed about this situation and they will not disturb guests at the morning any more. According to coffee/tea makers, they are available free of charge on superior rooms. Of course is possible to add coffee/tea maker also to standard room on request.

We'll very happy to welcome you at our hotel again.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bynigth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#62 of 647 in Prague
1,823 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,405 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,746 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Prague
Hotel Clement Prague
#66 of 647 in Prague
1,298 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 647 in Prague
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UNIC Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UNIC Prague

Address: Soukenicka 25, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UNIC Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel UNIC Prague is a four star design hotel, opened in June 2013, ideally located in the heart of the historical city centre, within walking distance to all major historical and cultural attractions, such as Prague Power Tower (Prasna brana), the Jewish Quarter (Jozefov) and the Old Town Square with famous astronomical clock (Orloj). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel UNIC Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing