We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Emblem captivates the essence of Prague”
Review of The Emblem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Emblem Hotel
Ranked #30 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Emblem captivates the essence of Prague”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

While I am not in the habit of reviewing establishments, in this instance I feel it particularly necessary to share my experience. A friend of mine and I were visiting Prague from New York City and had the pleasure of staying at The Emblem for 5 nights.

The spirit of Prague permeates every facet of this hotel. I am hesitant, however, to refer to The Emblem as just a hotel, as it is a space that transcends my own notions and experiences with any hotel in the past. The confluence of the city’s rich historical energy and its modern voice come to life within these walls.

The interior has art-deco-made-current vibes and our room itself was cozy and chic. Gorgeous hardwood floors, silk curtains (that do a phenomenal job blocking out the sun), big comfortable bed, soft linens, blazing fast wifi, and an unbeatable view of Old Town Square make it clear that great care was put into the design. The Nespresso machine in the room serves its function in helping overcome the sunshine that floods the room upon inching open the curtains each morning. The bathroom was clean and modern, with a large bathtub for winding down after long days of walking the streets of Prague.

We made the mistake of only exploring the spa on our last night in Prague. While taking a Jacuzzi on the rooftop terrace overlooking Prague’s Castle was a beguiling way to end our trip, we couldn’t help but kick ourselves for not popping up each evening for a little spin in the Kneipp path or a quick sauna. The spa staff was a dream, taking extra care to show us around and explain each treatment.

The Maharal Club, a hidden gem located in the basement of The Emblem, fosters a feeling of community that immediately suppresses any symptoms of homesickness. Here we were able to socialize with other hotel guests and Prague residents, peruse its collection of books, sit back and enjoy a Pilsner, and soak in the atmosphere of a time that is perhaps no so forgotten after all.

The Emblem’s attention to detail elevates its service above any hotel I have ever experienced. Each staff member exhibited kindness, respect, and enthusiasm toward their guests. Ultimately, The Emblem cultivates a unique, inclusive feel that is a welcome change of pace for any traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAlice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear MaryAliceP,

Wow! Thank you for such a beautiful and extensive review of our hotel! We are so glad that you chose to break your usual routine and write down your experience with us because every amazing thing you have said is exactly what we want every guest to experience, and we could not be more grateful.

First of all, hearing that our hotel captivates "the essence of Prague" makes us proud because that is exactly what we want to be--a place that combines Prague's historical past and penchant for the sharing of ideas with today's modern design and technology. We want to be a hotel that you stay "with" not stay "at," so seeing you refer to us as a space that transcends your notions of any hotel in the past is exactly what we are working for.

As for the design, our Creative Director Richard spent years working with designers from around the world (both well-known creatives and young, fresh-faced talents) to make sure that the interior design reflected our philosophy. If you come back to stay with us again, he can show you around and explain the story behind all the details and materials. (It really is fascinating!)

We are so happy you at least got to experience the Spa (even though you wish you had more time up there) because it is (as you can tell) one of our favorite places to go in the entire hotel! We will definitely pass on your kind words to the spa staff. We are also glad that you spent time in our "hidden gem," The Maharal Club. Your experience there is the reason we created this space. It is for a community of travelers and locals to: come together and share ideas and experiences; sit, relax, grab a drink, and enjoy; and make the space entirely their own.

Once again, it has been absolutely amazing to hear your experience with us, and we really are grateful for you to take the time and share all of this with us.

We hope to see you the next time you return to Prague!

Kind Regards,
Hannnah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    185
    33
    10
    1
See reviews for
132
581
64
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This beautifully designed hotel is in the center of the city, a one minute walk from the Old Town square and the astronomical clock. The service and hospitality of all the staff was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The free wifi speed and connection in the rooms worked perfectly. Breakfast offering was just right. Music selection in the lobby area was very enjoyable. Overall a highly recommended hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Alphat5,

Thank you so much for your amazing review about everything that we have to offer--from our staff and rooms to our WiFi, music and breakfast. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and to our Creative Director who can be credited with the comfort of the rooms. As for the WiFi, we were just named the hotel with the fastest internet in the world, so we are so glad you got to experience this free service because it is really important to us! And thank you for letting us know that you liked the music in our Living Room. We have asked our entire staff to give us some of their favorite tunes which is what you hear throughout the entire hotel!

Were you able to check out The Maharal Club on the lower level of the hotel? We have lots of spaces down there where you can relax, grab a drink, or even play a round of poker on our new poker table. If not, we hope you come back, stay with us, and check it out soon!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
389 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Have yet to stay, but wanted to share this experience.

We are planning our trip to Prague in May and was referred to this new hotel by the reservationist at the Four Seasons (they are booked for visit dates). I was trying to take advantage of the online discount and was having difficulty doing so online. I had to call the hotel a few times and was always attended by Axel. He stood by me 100% in making sure my reservation was done appropriately and with the promotional perk. He was kind and very pleasant. I could tell that he was smiling on the other end!

This is a great start and we look forward to meeting Axel and stay at the Emblem as this first impression is nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Habaneros,

Thank you for your kind compliment and for your reservation with us at The Emblem.

It was such a pleasure to help you make your booking with us, and I am looking forward to meeting you in May. I hope you enjoy your future stay with us!

Again, thank you for your review, and please don't hesitate to contact us if you need any more information before your stay.

Best Regards,
Axel

(via Hannah, Public Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had just spent two nights in the The Emblem Hotel and we truly enjoyed it. The hotel is in a very central location with just two minutes walking distance to the Old Town Square. The hotel room, lounge, dining hall and spa were all very well decorated, furnished and equipped. The beds are very comfortable, wifi is very fast and reliable, the spa facilities are so wonderful. The breakfast is also fantastic. All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, providing first class services. We would surely recommend the hotel to everyone going to Prague.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Shenqin,

We are honored that you consider us a truly excellent hotel, and it is also truly excellent to read your amazing review! We love that you appreciate our entire look because our Creative Director spent years making sure that each piece and the whole design were all perfect. We are very proud of it! As for the WiFi, did you know that a recent report was just released stating that we have the fastest internet in the world for a hotel? We are proud of that too because it means that speed and reliability will be consistent for all of our guests and their gadgets. We will pass on your kind words to our staff, and we really hope that you come back and see us again soon.

There are many exciting things happening in the future, and we want to share them with you!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

An amazing hotel in the perfect location. Our first trip toprague and cannot wait to come and stay at THe Emblem again. The staff were always available to offer great local advice, check we were happy and have just been fantastic. New hotel with a great vibe. Cannot re commend enough.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otsh, General Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Hillary

Thank you so much for your visit and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have met you and your family and I do hope to see you again, and provide more information about the art that we talked about.

I hope you had a safe trip back and I wish you a lovely day. Once again, thank you for your warm words they mean a lot to me.

Yours sincerely

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was my second time in Prague and we decided to try this supposedly new boutique hotel near the old town. Thought it would be a small and comfy place but it really exceeded our expectations! It is conveniently located just about 2 minutes away from the old town square and all the main attractions were really within walking distance. The extremely attentive and amicable service coupled with well decorated, modern and clean rooms made it a highly enjoyable stay. The buffet breakfast is not to be missed as well!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolewongws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear nicolewongws,

It is so great to hear that The Emblem exceeded all of your expectations! Thank you for such kind words about our staff. An "attentive and amicable" environment is exactly what we want every person to experience when they walk into our hotel, so we will make sure to tell everyone that it made your stay highly enjoyable. Thank you also for complimenting our rooms! Our Creative Director spent a long time working with designers from around the world to make sure that our rooms were the perfect mix of design, comfort, and modernity. We will let him know that you appreciated it.

We hope that you will come back to Prague for a third time and stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Emblem hotel in Prague was the lone 5-star accommodation on our four-stop Europe trip, and it came through with all of the expected luxuries.

Location couldn’t possibly have been any better. Right around the corner from the beautiful Old Town square, so you are steps away from one of Europe’s most enchanting pieces of real estate, yet far enough away that you don’t have all of the hustle and bustle right outside your window.

Room was not large, but had enough space for two, and it was about as modern and chic as a hotel room can be. Room was spotless and maid service was always on point.

Check-in/out was a bit of a different process than what I’m used to. There is no “front desk” in the reception area, and instead you are brought over to a couch where someone will sit down with you and go over the required info. On one had I can see how this is a nice personal touch, but on the other hand it wasn’t nearly as quick or efficient as a standard “desk” setup.

As for the extras; breakfast was fantastic, it included the typical European spread of buns, jams, fruit, cold meats, but also several hot al-la-carte items. Wi-Fi was included and for the most part was reliable. I used the gym once and it was rather small and a portion of it was unusable due to construction, but I was able to accomplish what I went in for.

Overall value for the hotel is superb (keeping in mind that Prague is generally more affordable than most European tourist hot spots). I would surly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again when returning to this fascinating city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardioCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Chevelle87,

We are so glad that you came to stay with us during the Prague part of your European trip, and thank you for your extensive and amazing review!

We do try to do things a little differently here in the hopes to change the way that people view hotel stays. We want to be your home-away-from-home, so we try to operate more like a traditional household. Our rooms are small, but we want to encourage everyone to share all of the Living Spaces that we have to offer. We hope you took the time to check out The Maharal Club on the lower level of the hotel and our amazing rooftop Spa. As for check-in/out, we have developed our own tablet system in order to eventually make our entire hotel paperless! It's still in the process, so we apologize if you had any delays.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much! We will definitely pass on your kind words to our Housekeeping staff and Creative Director for the compliments on our rooms and to our restaurant George Prime Steak for the compliments on our breakfast. Thank you for your fantastic recommendation, and we hope to see you soon on your next European adventure!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#116 of 649 in Prague
960 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 649 in Prague
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emblem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emblem Hotel

Property: The Emblem Hotel
Address: Platnerska 111/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Emblem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emblem Hotel, a Luxury Lifestyle hotel based in Prague, caters to individuals who want to truly experience one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Located in the Jewish Quarter of Prague's historic Old Town, our hotel not only reflects the history of the city center, but also enhances it. We want to create a unique home-away-from-home for all our guests, so we provide access to a variety of living spaces, a world-class American steakhouse and bar, a culturally-focused member's club, and a rooftop spa, fitness and wellness center. We encourage you to come, explore the city, and become a part of our ever-growing community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Emblem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing