We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prague Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Emblem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Emblem Hotel
Ranked #39 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Prague Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Emblem staff was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the day we left! The rooms were nice and spacious and we loved the rain shower. The location was perfect next to the olde square. We enjoyed the restaurant and bar as well! Great job Emblem!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smiletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear smiletex,

We are so glad that y'all had such an amazing stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for all of the great things that you had to say about it. We are so proud of our amazing team here, so we love that you found them so fantastic throughout your entire trip. We also really appreciate your kind words about our nice rooms, our perfect location, and our incredible steakhouse restaurant and bar. We hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to Prague again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    174
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
118
540
59
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff were outstanding - very helpful and all spoke English. 0ur room was very small, but the weather was superb so we didn't spend any time in it. Breakfast was good and the walk-in shower terrific. The hotel is in a brilliant location for exploring Prague.

The only minus was that there was no lounge and the public areas are very dark. Prague is a fantastic city with lots to see and do. There is no reception as such, as everything is done on tablets, check in and out. However, we would not like to be there in bad weather, as there is nowhere to sit, other than on the bed in a small room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room - probably more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Hazel K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad that you found all of our staff so helpful and that you enjoyed our wonderful amenities and brilliant location. We will make sure to share all of your kind words with our team! We hope that you got the opportunity to check out The Maharal Club on the lower level of the hotel, because that is where we have a number of lounge spaces for all of our guests to enjoy! Each room in the Club is designed for any of your needs. We have The Salon for lounging, TV-watching, and cocktail-sipping, The Pantry if anyone decides they want to cook their own meal, The Drawing Room for a "take-away" office, and even a Games Room for enjoying some games. Next time, just make your way downstairs and make the space your own! We hope that you will come back and visited us again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pros

Fantastic location
excellent decoration
Amazing restaurant
Helpful, young staff
Gym is ok not top

Cons

Bedroom was a bit to small
Check in was very strange, they do the check in in iPads and sit you in the lounge room. Just very weird.
Forget about the jacuzzi and spa you have to pay for all of this at a crazy price

All in all a nice hotel and i would stay there again as the location is excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Zyna21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Emblem! We love that you had an overall nice time here, and we appreciate your feedback greatly! Thank you for your kind words about our location, decor, restaurant and especially staff. We are very lucky to be so centrally located, but we are really proud that you found our team so helpful. We will pass on your kind words to them all!

We do things a little differently here, and one of these things is our check-in/check-out service. We try to make it as personable as possible while simultaneously becoming a paperless process! We are constantly working out ways to improve it, so thanks for your feedback.

Also, our rooms are a bit small, but that is why we provide so many Living Spaces throughout The Emblem. We want our guests to have the opportunity to use the whole hotel as their home-away-from-home. We hope you got the chance to check out The Maharal Club downstairs because it is one of our favourite places with a number of different spaces for guests to kick back, relax, watch a movie, conduct business, or even attend one of our unique events. The M Spa is another space that we offer in the hotel. All our guests receive complete complimentary access to the Kneipp path, sauna, steam room, fitness centre, Relaxation Room, and rooftop Terrace in the spa. We hope that next time you get the opportunity to enjoy all of these complimentary features!

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us! We hope that you will be returning to Prague again in the near future, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem.

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
389 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Emblem Hotel is a new kid on the block (a little over a year old). It is a boutique, elegant and very well located property just a couple of blocks from the Old Town Square. Most of the staff are young, very pleasant and eager to please people. The hotel has a very nice spa with many services and jacuzzi. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel is George Prime Steak and Bar (separate review available) - this area is also used as the breakfast room. The breakfast is self service buffet, but ample with a separate menu for hot item options. Downstairs is a small bar with a very large and cozy sitting room called the Salon; here you can relax in one of the plush couches, read the newspaper, have a drink or watch something on the very large screen television. Although our room was not very big, we found it light and bright, comfortable and clean. Our room faced the street, but noise was not an issue as there were two doors (one leading out onto a tiny terrace) which kept the evenings quiet. The bathroom amenities are nice and products are those from the M Spa upstairs. We did struggle with the air conditioner as we could not get cool enough - there is a large down comforter on the bed, which was comfortable, but the temperatures at night were too high.

The hotel strives to give top notch quality service and they believe that the hotel should be your home away from home. All staff were very accommodating and we can say that guests are safe as the staff watch all comings and goings very carefully - there is a podium as you enter the hotel and there is always someone attending. This podium is located directly in front of the elevator taking you up to the rooms; nothing escapes the staff. A couple of times this area was like a gauntlet with staff members as you come off the elevator to go in to the breakfast room - there is not a lot of space to just walk on by. Of course, you are stopped and greeted.

We do want to comment on the reception and check in. We disliked it VERY much. In their "home away from home" philosophy, when entering the hotel you are asked to go to your right to a nicely appointed and decorated sitting room. You still have your luggage with you and here is where you are checked in (despite that in another room close by, there is a beautiful and elegant desk where the customer can have privacy with the reception on duty). You are to sit down on one of the couches, fill out the check in form, and swipe your credit card with a hand held machine. The lighting is dim for ambiance, but it was difficult to hold the documents in your lap and then to read and sign them made the experience awkward and in our personal opinion = not very professional at all. The sitting room is where others come and go and we believe customers do not want to be observed by others in this manner while checking in. When checking out, we made it clear prior that we were to be checkout at the desk and not in the sitting room.

The hotel still has some kinks to work out, but all in all, it is a beautiful, contemporary place to stay while in Prague. We would definitely stay at the Emblem again and do recommend it to those traveling to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear habaneros,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and lovely review! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community in such detail because you highlighted so many of the great things that we have to offer here at The Emblem. We love that you spent time in all of our spaces, from our comfortable, clean rooms to our fantastic spa and cozy Maharal Club. We are so glad that you found our staff very accommodating, and, in the end, we hope you really did feel at home here!

We also appreciate your feedback on our check-in / check-out service. It is always good for us to hear what our guests think because it helps us to constantly improve! We decided to completely do away with the "reception desk" in the hope that our guests would feel more comfortable. When entering someone's home for the first time, you are usually shown to the living room, which is why we conduct our check-in in our very own Living Room. Our Living Room Hosts are just that... hosts who try to welcome each and every guest in the warmest and most relaxed way. We do apologise for any inconveniences you may have faced during this process, because our goal is not to make things awkward but actually to make them less so. We will definitely take into consideration your comments and hopefully continue to improve this process!

Thank you again for your amazing review, and thank you for recommending us to future travellers. We hope that you will be able to travel back to Prague soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was amazing and really attentive staff! Loved the design of the hotel and the art featured throughout. Check in was really personalized, staff even took the time to sit down with me and point out the hotel's location and nearby attractions on a map. The location was perfect, walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. The room was beautiful with great views - loved the bathroom (huge tub and shower) and comfy bed! The front staff was great with providing recommendations and umbrellas each time we left the property on days with chances of rain. They even followed up with the airline several times to check in on my friend's lost luggage and delivered it to the room as soon as it arrived!

We spent a lot of time in the underground bar Maharal Club. The manager Stephen was awesome and went out of his way to help us with anything we needed, Aneta was so friendly, and Daniel can make a mean cocktail (try the Swizzle). Each remembered our names throughout our visit. There were different events each night which we were welcomed to be a part of and really made us feel included and were cool Prague experiences we wouldn't have found otherwise.

Had an amazing massage in the spa. The manager and masseuse were lovely and we enjoyed the added amenities of sauna/spa room/roof top jacuzzi. No better cure for jet lag.

Overall really loved this hotel and its staff and hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Go for the Atelier suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear alyskie,

Thank you for such an incredible review! It was a pleasure hosting you here at The Emblem, and I am so glad that I got to personally meet and chat with you a bit before your stay. We are all happy that you had such an amazing experience, and we really appreciate all of your awesome compliments about our location, amenities, and especially our staff. We try to do things a little different here at The Emblem because we want all of our guests to feel like they are at home, and hearing about your experience really makes us proud!

We are thrilled that you got to experience everything that The Maharal Club has to offer. Everything you described is exactly the reason why we provide the space in the first place. We want it to be a friendly environment for guests to be able to kick back and relax or to participate in one of our unique events that exposes a different/more local side of modern Prague.

We are also happy to hear that you were able to take time out in our incredible spa. It truly is one of the most relaxing places in the entire hotel, and it's great to hear that you were able to have a lovely experience with our staff and all the amenities that we provide there!

Thanks again for all of your kind words about everything. We will make sure to share your review with Stephen, Aneta, Daniel, and the rest of our hotel and spa staff! We hope that you get the chance to come back to Prague and stay with us again very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Emblem is located so central its almost silly, but at the same time not in the most touristy place. its a very private small hotell with very personal service. So I can warmly recommend them (their restaurant is excellent but expensive as well, but thats a seperate review). U cant go wrong here :). There is no Pool, and the SPA is very fresh, but small. And charging extra to use jacuzzi is just silly...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear pelle001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We greatly appreciate all of your kind words about our location, environment, service and Spa. We also think our location is one of the best in the city centre--so close to everything that's happening, yet just perfectly tucked away on a quiet side street. We hope that you got the opportunity to explore all of the complimentary aspects we have to offer like the Kneipp path, sauna, steam room, relaxation room, and terrace in The M Spa and all of the Living Spaces that we have on the lower level in The Maharal Club. Our building was built way back in 1908, so we have taken careful considerations to preserve as much of the old "spirit" of the building as possible. We provide all of these amenities in order to make our guest's stay more comfortable, and we hope that you felt truly at home with us! Thank you again for your warm recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you back at The Emblem next time you travel to Prague.

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I (65+) were guests at The Emblem from May 22 until May 25. A very nice hotel with a good location. Walking distance to most of the attractions we wanted to see. The staff was very polite and helpful in any ways. The breakfast was excellent (we got even dark grain bread). The room was small, but okay. I can highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Simmen2013,

Thank you for such a fantastic review! We are so glad that you and your husband chose to stay with us and that you had an amazing experience. We are lucky that we are so centrally located because it makes seeing Prague much easier, but we really appreciate your kind words about our staff and breakfast. We will make sure to let our team know that you found them so polite and helpful! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending us to future guests. We hope to see you both back here again in the very near future, and we look forward to seeing you!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#86 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
#49 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emblem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emblem Hotel

Property: The Emblem Hotel
Address: Platnerska 111/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Emblem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emblem Hotel, a Luxury Lifestyle hotel based in Prague, caters to individuals who want to truly experience one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Located in the Jewish Quarter of Prague's historic Old Town, our hotel not only reflects the history of the city center, but also enhances it. We want to create a unique home-away-from-home for all our guests, so we provide access to a variety of living spaces, a world-class American steakhouse and bar, a culturally-focused member's club, and a rooftop spa, fitness and wellness center. We encourage you to come, explore the city, and become a part of our ever-growing community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emblem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing