We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of The Emblem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emblem Hotel
Ranked #31 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on the reviews, location and the fact that it was a boutique hotel. Boutique hotels are generally more uniquely designed, less stuffy and come with many of the amenities of a larger chain place. The Emblem is exactly that. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, the staff was welcoming, super helpful and cheerful. Special thanks to Hady who checked us in and gave us plenty of tips about the town. Some reviewers seem to not like the casual nature of their check-in process. But after lugging our suitcases up the metro stairs, nothing beats getting to sit down in comfy chairs with a tall glass of water and checking in on a tablet. Best experience ever.

The hotel is small but nicely designed so has a posh feel to it. I booked a King room after seeing the reviews about the rooms being small. It was just the right size for us and frankly a roomy space by European standards. Only cons were lack of drawer space, the a/c unit didn't work well so I had to open the windows (which is fine in this cooler weather, may not be great in summer months), they don't give you many towels, and the mattress was very firm (ok for us, maybe not others). The included breakfast comes with buffet as well as a hot a la carte menu. Great selections including juices and coffee. I loved the yogurt, couldn't get enough of that.

The Maharal Club downstairs, which is open to hotel guests, has plenty of seating / work spaces. The hotel gave us a complimentary glass of wine so I did some work down there before heading into town. Highly recommend checking it out. It's a chill space so if you want something more happening, hit a bar in town. I didn't try the spa but it looked nice. The gym is very small but clean with good working machines (one of each: treadmill, bike, elliptical and some weights).

Location cannot be beat. You are right around the corner from the Jewish quarter, Old Town Square and the Charles bridge. And all the shopping is a mere 5-10mins walk away.

Fabulous stay, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear kimmi8,

We are so thrilled that you chose The Emblem based on what you knew about us and based on other reviews, and we are glad that we lived up to your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we really appreciate all of your amazing compliments.

We do things a little differently at The Emblem, so it is always nice to hear such positive feedback from our check-in/check-out service. We will make sure to tell Hady and the rest of our team that you found them so welcoming, helpful, and cheerful! We are so proud of our staff, and we really believe that they make The Emblem such an enjoyable experience.

We are also glad that you were able to check out everything The Maharal Club has to offer! It is definitely something else that makes The Emblem a unique place, and it's great that you had the opportunity to make it your own space and do some work while you stayed with us. We recommend you take advantage of The M Spa the next time you stay with us because all of our guests get complimentary access to the Kneipp path, Sauna, Steam Room, Relaxation Room and rooftop Terrace! It's one of our favourite places to relax in the entire hotel.

Thank you again for all of your kind words. We apologise for any inconvenience that our A/C unit caused--(it is a problem that we are currently working on)-- but, we are so glad that overall you had such a lovely time with us. We hope you get the chance to come to Prague again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    193
    35
    11
    1
See reviews for
147
619
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel based on others reviews, best decision ever. The staff were all amazing, special thanks to Erika who was very friendly and made our stay special and to Michael who made some very tasty cocktails.
The hotels location was perfect, walking distance to all major attractions with easy to use public transport very close by.
Do recommend trying the George Prime steak restaurant that's attached, best steak we have had outside of USA. The breakfast was varied and worth having. Didn't get to use the spa but looked lovely.
Rooms are great, no smaller than you find else where in Europe, full a/c and a lovely comfy bed and high quality bathroom.
Don't expect to pay more for your drinks in the hotel as they are well priced against local restaurants and bars, bottle water is twice the price of beer though!
Great little bar up the street from the hotel if you wanted but the Emblem Hotel is hard to leave.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 19chris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 19chris79,

We are so glad to hear that you had such an amazing time with us at The Emblem! We really appreciate you sharing your experience, and we love that you truly enjoyed yourself here. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We are lucky that we have such a perfect location located in the very centre of the city, and we are thrilled that you were able to try (and love) our restaurant, George Prime Steak. Next time, we definitely recommend The M Spa, because it is one of the best places to relax with an unbeatable, rooftop view of the city. We will make sure to share your kind comments with everyone on our team, especially Erika and Michal who made your visit truly special, and we hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Emblem staff was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the day we left! The rooms were nice and spacious and we loved the rain shower. The location was perfect next to the olde square. We enjoyed the restaurant and bar as well! Great job Emblem!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smiletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear smiletex,

We are so glad that y'all had such an amazing stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for all of the great things that you had to say about it. We are so proud of our amazing team here, so we love that you found them so fantastic throughout your entire trip. We also really appreciate your kind words about our nice rooms, our perfect location, and our incredible steakhouse restaurant and bar. We hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to Prague again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff were outstanding - very helpful and all spoke English. 0ur room was very small, but the weather was superb so we didn't spend any time in it. Breakfast was good and the walk-in shower terrific. The hotel is in a brilliant location for exploring Prague.

The only minus was that there was no lounge and the public areas are very dark. Prague is a fantastic city with lots to see and do. There is no reception as such, as everything is done on tablets, check in and out. However, we would not like to be there in bad weather, as there is nowhere to sit, other than on the bed in a small room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room - probably more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Hazel K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad that you found all of our staff so helpful and that you enjoyed our wonderful amenities and brilliant location. We will make sure to share all of your kind words with our team! We hope that you got the opportunity to check out The Maharal Club on the lower level of the hotel, because that is where we have a number of lounge spaces for all of our guests to enjoy! Each room in the Club is designed for any of your needs. We have The Salon for lounging, TV-watching, and cocktail-sipping, The Pantry if anyone decides they want to cook their own meal, The Drawing Room for a "take-away" office, and even a Games Room for enjoying some games. Next time, just make your way downstairs and make the space your own! We hope that you will come back and visited us again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pros

Fantastic location
excellent decoration
Amazing restaurant
Helpful, young staff
Gym is ok not top

Cons

Bedroom was a bit to small
Check in was very strange, they do the check in in iPads and sit you in the lounge room. Just very weird.
Forget about the jacuzzi and spa you have to pay for all of this at a crazy price

All in all a nice hotel and i would stay there again as the location is excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Zyna21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Emblem! We love that you had an overall nice time here, and we appreciate your feedback greatly! Thank you for your kind words about our location, decor, restaurant and especially staff. We are very lucky to be so centrally located, but we are really proud that you found our team so helpful. We will pass on your kind words to them all!

We do things a little differently here, and one of these things is our check-in/check-out service. We try to make it as personable as possible while simultaneously becoming a paperless process! We are constantly working out ways to improve it, so thanks for your feedback.

Also, our rooms are a bit small, but that is why we provide so many Living Spaces throughout The Emblem. We want our guests to have the opportunity to use the whole hotel as their home-away-from-home. We hope you got the chance to check out The Maharal Club downstairs because it is one of our favourite places with a number of different spaces for guests to kick back, relax, watch a movie, conduct business, or even attend one of our unique events. The M Spa is another space that we offer in the hotel. All our guests receive complete complimentary access to the Kneipp path, sauna, steam room, fitness centre, Relaxation Room, and rooftop Terrace in the spa. We hope that next time you get the opportunity to enjoy all of these complimentary features!

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us! We hope that you will be returning to Prague again in the near future, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem.

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Emblem Hotel is a new kid on the block (a little over a year old). It is a boutique, elegant and very well located property just a couple of blocks from the Old Town Square. Most of the staff are young, very pleasant and eager to please people. The hotel has a very nice spa with many services and jacuzzi. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel is George Prime Steak and Bar (separate review available) - this area is also used as the breakfast room. The breakfast is self service buffet, but ample with a separate menu for hot item options. Downstairs is a small bar with a very large and cozy sitting room called the Salon; here you can relax in one of the plush couches, read the newspaper, have a drink or watch something on the very large screen television. Although our room was not very big, we found it light and bright, comfortable and clean. Our room faced the street, but noise was not an issue as there were two doors (one leading out onto a tiny terrace) which kept the evenings quiet. The bathroom amenities are nice and products are those from the M Spa upstairs. We did struggle with the air conditioner as we could not get cool enough - there is a large down comforter on the bed, which was comfortable, but the temperatures at night were too high.

The hotel strives to give top notch quality service and they believe that the hotel should be your home away from home. All staff were very accommodating and we can say that guests are safe as the staff watch all comings and goings very carefully - there is a podium as you enter the hotel and there is always someone attending. This podium is located directly in front of the elevator taking you up to the rooms; nothing escapes the staff. A couple of times this area was like a gauntlet with staff members as you come off the elevator to go in to the breakfast room - there is not a lot of space to just walk on by. Of course, you are stopped and greeted.

We do want to comment on the reception and check in. We disliked it VERY much. In their "home away from home" philosophy, when entering the hotel you are asked to go to your right to a nicely appointed and decorated sitting room. You still have your luggage with you and here is where you are checked in (despite that in another room close by, there is a beautiful and elegant desk where the customer can have privacy with the reception on duty). You are to sit down on one of the couches, fill out the check in form, and swipe your credit card with a hand held machine. The lighting is dim for ambiance, but it was difficult to hold the documents in your lap and then to read and sign them made the experience awkward and in our personal opinion = not very professional at all. The sitting room is where others come and go and we believe customers do not want to be observed by others in this manner while checking in. When checking out, we made it clear prior that we were to be checkout at the desk and not in the sitting room.

The hotel still has some kinks to work out, but all in all, it is a beautiful, contemporary place to stay while in Prague. We would definitely stay at the Emblem again and do recommend it to those traveling to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear habaneros,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and lovely review! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community in such detail because you highlighted so many of the great things that we have to offer here at The Emblem. We love that you spent time in all of our spaces, from our comfortable, clean rooms to our fantastic spa and cozy Maharal Club. We are so glad that you found our staff very accommodating, and, in the end, we hope you really did feel at home here!

We also appreciate your feedback on our check-in / check-out service. It is always good for us to hear what our guests think because it helps us to constantly improve! We decided to completely do away with the "reception desk" in the hope that our guests would feel more comfortable. When entering someone's home for the first time, you are usually shown to the living room, which is why we conduct our check-in in our very own Living Room. Our Living Room Hosts are just that... hosts who try to welcome each and every guest in the warmest and most relaxed way. We do apologise for any inconveniences you may have faced during this process, because our goal is not to make things awkward but actually to make them less so. We will definitely take into consideration your comments and hopefully continue to improve this process!

Thank you again for your amazing review, and thank you for recommending us to future travellers. We hope that you will be able to travel back to Prague soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was amazing and really attentive staff! Loved the design of the hotel and the art featured throughout. Check in was really personalized, staff even took the time to sit down with me and point out the hotel's location and nearby attractions on a map. The location was perfect, walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. The room was beautiful with great views - loved the bathroom (huge tub and shower) and comfy bed! The front staff was great with providing recommendations and umbrellas each time we left the property on days with chances of rain. They even followed up with the airline several times to check in on my friend's lost luggage and delivered it to the room as soon as it arrived!

We spent a lot of time in the underground bar Maharal Club. The manager Stephen was awesome and went out of his way to help us with anything we needed, Aneta was so friendly, and Daniel can make a mean cocktail (try the Swizzle). Each remembered our names throughout our visit. There were different events each night which we were welcomed to be a part of and really made us feel included and were cool Prague experiences we wouldn't have found otherwise.

Had an amazing massage in the spa. The manager and masseuse were lovely and we enjoyed the added amenities of sauna/spa room/roof top jacuzzi. No better cure for jet lag.

Overall really loved this hotel and its staff and hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Go for the Atelier suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A, Public Relations Manager at The Emblem Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear alyskie,

Thank you for such an incredible review! It was a pleasure hosting you here at The Emblem, and I am so glad that I got to personally meet and chat with you a bit before your stay. We are all happy that you had such an amazing experience, and we really appreciate all of your awesome compliments about our location, amenities, and especially our staff. We try to do things a little different here at The Emblem because we want all of our guests to feel like they are at home, and hearing about your experience really makes us proud!

We are thrilled that you got to experience everything that The Maharal Club has to offer. Everything you described is exactly the reason why we provide the space in the first place. We want it to be a friendly environment for guests to be able to kick back and relax or to participate in one of our unique events that exposes a different/more local side of modern Prague.

We are also happy to hear that you were able to take time out in our incredible spa. It truly is one of the most relaxing places in the entire hotel, and it's great to hear that you were able to have a lovely experience with our staff and all the amenities that we provide there!

Thanks again for all of your kind words about everything. We will make sure to share your review with Stephen, Aneta, Daniel, and the rest of our hotel and spa staff! We hope that you get the chance to come back to Prague and stay with us again very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Emblem!

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,516 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,754 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emblem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emblem Hotel

Property: The Emblem Hotel
Address: Platnerska 111/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Emblem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emblem Hotel, a Luxury Lifestyle hotel based in Prague, caters to individuals who want to truly experience one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Located in the Jewish Quarter of Prague's historic Old Town, our hotel not only reflects the history of the city center, but also enhances it. We want to create a unique home-away-from-home for all our guests, so we provide access to a variety of living spaces, a world-class American steakhouse and bar, a culturally-focused member's club, and a rooftop spa, fitness and wellness center. We encourage you to come, explore the city, and become a part of our ever-growing community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Emblem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing