We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee near the Charles bridge”
Review of Cafe 22

Cafe 22
Ranked #1,085 of 5,535 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good coffee near the Charles bridge”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had just made the trek down from Prague Castle and were looking for coffee (and a clean bathroom). The coffee was good and cakes looked really tempting, although we did not give in to that temptation! We had coffee inside, since the smokers were seated outdoors and we had a child with us. The café provided paper and colored pens for my niece, helping to keep her occupied while we enjoyed our coffee. Service was friendly although it was hard to get their attention to ask for our bill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    84
    36
    14
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful food, nice location”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Accidentaly went here. Tried the wild boar steak with gnocchi, my girlfriend had risotto. Bland taste and runny risotto. Expensive. There are much better places than this

Helpful?
Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad quality”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We went there twice, our first time was an excellent experience - good food& service. The second time was horrible. We ordered the same menu, but food came out in low quality, overcooked czech potatoe pancake, undercooked sausages, bad dish decoration. We had to ask for butter and jam that were supposed to come with the breakfast set. When we complaint about the overcooked (almost burnt) pancake, the waitress insisted that it was normally how they made it. They redid it again, and stilll dark brown - way overcooked. The waitress was indifferent. When we paid she even forgot to give us the credit card slip. I had to ask for it.

Helpful?
Thank Ploy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical tourist rip off place”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We (party of 4) have randomly chosen this place to have a coffee after lunch. We saw "illy" sign, and went in. The service (waitress and barista) greeted us, we emphasized that we just wanted a quick cup of coffee, so a nice table was offered to us in completely empty café. Everything started in a good way. Suddenly, when the waitress realized we're not going to have a lunch (and we already told her that twice by that time) the atmosphere changed. First, we asked her twice to bring us a glass of water with capuccino, then she started complaining that we should buy a bottle if we wanted water. I kindly asked her again to bring me a sip of tap water, because the coffee was rather bitter. Then her collegue gave us a "look" in a way that said "you cheap b......" Although we could understand what they were saying, they kept whinging about us and some British tourists who came to the café in the meantime. Not to mention we got the smallest possible glasses. After having to beg for sugar as well, which is I assume also something you need to pay for, we got the chance to enjoy our coffee. After 5 minutes waitress showed up asking us (for the third time) if we had changed our mind and decided to eat something. Then she kept showing up every 2 minutes, taking not finished glasses of water and last sips of coffee. After 10 minutes, we ended up with empty table and decided to leave this awful place. No wonder it was empty every time we walked buy, if they treat all their guests like this. Of course, the prices are also "tourist oriented", which means you pay threee times normal price.
It is pity for a warm and open-hearted city like Prague to have places like this, because it really leaves bad taste in ones mouth...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NightWish1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent place, very tasty italian coffee in prague. Very good service, and servers was very friendly and help us to found what we ask about, recommand it for amazing and class moment in this beautiful city

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 22 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing