We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #94 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Catania, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location!”
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We booked 2 rooms...the Singapore and the Rio. Our family of 4 squeezed into the Singapore ($191/nite) and my parents stayed in the Rio ($188/nite). We knew ahead of time that the Singapore was small. The upstairs (up the ladder) loft had a double bed and a twin. It was a bit tight, but my girls are little. My parents room was a bit larger, but only had a double bed and they had to walk down a winding staircase to get to their bedroom.

The hotel is in an excellent location! The staff was very helpful and friendly. They arranged for a van to pick us up at the airport. The day we left they called us 2 cabs to take us to the train station.

The restaurant next door where we ate breakfast (set menu included in room rate) was very nice and relatively generous...bread and croissants, ham, cheese, juice and choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. We had to leave early on our last morning, and the restaurant packed our breakfast to go:)

The hotel's location was perfect and well within the main shopping areas and Christmas market square. I would definitely stay here again, but I would book earlier to get a bigger room!

  • Liked — Location, breakfast and staff!
  • Disliked — The steps!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keri-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    86
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
166
273
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Four of us stayed at Residence Retezova in December 2007. Our apartment was lovely, two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a large sitting/dining room. There was a TV & DVD player as well as a well equipped kitchen. the fridge was stocked like a minibar and re-stocked daily, but we mostly brought in our own wine etc. Coffee, tea and milk supplied daily altho' only fruit and Earl Grey tea, so take your own tea bags if you like "proper" tea!

We had been told that Prague was cheap but we found prices very similar to the UK. It only took a few minutes to get to the Old town square with lots of beautiful buildings, restaurants etc. but there are plenty of good places to eat less than five minutes away. we found the Jazz cafe 2 mins away particulary good. Got a bit fed up with Goulash but it was OK.

The cafe next door was wonderful for breakfast, the whole building has wireless internet connection so plenty of people were using the cafe for coffee while they downloaded their emails. I will take a laptop next time!

The staff were all lovely, especially Thomas and Suzanna. A big thank you to them all. we would definitely return

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Retezova for two nights in December 2007 to visit the Prague Christmas Market.
Our apartment was the Singapore, which I'm pretty sure is their smallest, but it was just great for us. It had everything we needed - be aware, though, that the stairs up to the sleeping area are very steep, so anyone with mobility issues would have a problem with this particular apartment.
The staff were absolutely excellent at all times and just couldn't be faulted.
Cafe Ebel, which adjoins the Residence, serves a mean hot chocolate, easily the best we had in Prague!
Highly recommended all round.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very steep stairs
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slippers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at Residence Retezova for four nights in late October. We brought our 15 month old baby with us, and we were a bit nervous about choosing a hotel that would work for us as a family. This hotel was wonderful. The location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square and the Charles Bridge, we were able to walk everywhere around town and know that we weren't far from "home" if we need to take a rest. We were also a little concerned that the hotel might not welcome us with our baby, but this wasn't the case. All of the hotel staff, but especially Zuzanna, were welcoming of all three of us.

We stayed in the Singapore room - the smallest in the hotel. The bathroom - shower, no bath (but great water pressure for the shower) -is on the first level with a small sitting area and mini kitchen. There is a very steep staircase (a cross between a ladder and a staircase) that leads up to the beds. There is one double and one twin bed in the loft. The loft arrangement was a little worrisome with
a baby, but we were careful to always keep him from the steps at the top of the loft and it was OK. The loft really is quite cozy and would have been absolutely perfect for a couple. Also, it was very quiet. There is a skylight on the ceiling in the loft, and with it open, you could hear the bells chiming in the distance and that was about it. To be so near the old city center and to have such a peacefully quiet room was wonderful. We'd definitely stay here again.

The Clevelands, Washington, DC

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — 13
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We had such a lovely time in fabulous Prague--much of it due to the graciousness of Zuzanna. She was so helpful in giving us suggestions for activities and restaurants, and we were very appreciative.

The hotel is beautiful in a fascinating ancient building with a great location--right in the middle of the popular sites, but an oasis on a quiet side street. It was great to go and enjoy the sites, and then to return to our apartment in the peaceful hotel.

We hope to return to Prague someday, and if we do, Residence Retezova will be the place we stay.

Bunny & Jim Oliver
Austin, Texas, USA

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Stairs up one flight before elevator
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for our stay at Residence Retezova in September. We found your hotel was very comfortable with spacious rooms and in a very convenient location and your staff were friendly. In particular, we would like to especially thank Martina Tejnorova for her helpfulness and friendly manner. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she is an asset to your establishment. I will certainly recommend your hotel to friends and associates

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

This is a wonderful place! We stayed in the Madrid suite and it Rocked! It rained while we were there and it was nice to come back to our room. We liked it so much we sent pictures home while we were there.
The room was comfortable and luxurious. It was centrally located, yet quite at night. I will recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rataturium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
465 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#113 of 649 in Prague
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#98 of 649 in Prague
932 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#83 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing