We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming apartment in the heart of Old Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Retezova

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #102 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ellyn, IL
1 review
“Charming apartment in the heart of Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

It was our first visit to Prague, and we throroughly enjoyed our trip. The Retezova is in a fabulous location in Old Town, and we walked to all of the sights in Prague. The hotel itself is charming and Suzana asked us to see the Singapore and Madrid rooms before settling in. We reviewed both and found that the Madrid was much more spacious to accomodate our family of four. The Singapore was small, but still could have fit two adults and two small children. The Madrid room had a nice size kitchen, bathroom (small shower), and spacious room. The cafe on the ground floor met our needs for a quick bite before heading out to sightsee. The staff was friendly and helpful, and spoke English very well. We would stay there again. The Bower Family.

  • Disliked — The staff and the location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JayhawkOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    84
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
158
266
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We've just returned from an excellent 4 night stay in Prague at the Residence Retezova and would definitely recommend. We stayed in the Rio De Janeiro suite which is a one bedroom apartment over 2 levels.
We arrived at around noon and although we expected to have to leave our bags and return later to check in there was no delay in getting us to our lovely little apartment. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The apartment was a good size, very clean and the bed was comfortable. We ate breakfast in the apartment each morning and there are enough utensils, etc to make a simple meal if you don't want to eat out every night.
The location cannot be beaten, literally 2 minutes walk from the old town square and lots of great cafes and restaurants, but off the main thoroughfare so it's very quiet ( unless you're snoring neighbour leaves their window open!)
Only bad points about the Rio De Janeiro suite ( and these are extremely minor points ) are that there is only 1 comfortable chair in the living area - which my husband commandeered the whole time! and as the windows face out into the internal courtyard it is a little dull and difficult to see what the weather is like outside.
However, these would certainly not deter me from returning to Residence Retezova if visitng Prague again.

  • Liked — Great location and old fashioned charm
  • Disliked — Only 1 comfortable chair!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-Lu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

I'd seen great reviews for this place on Trip Adviser but - unless the Rio was a particularly poor room - it really doesn't live up to the hype. Rio and Berlin overlook a small courtyard which was dank and in almost perpetual darkness as the surrounding buildings are high and enclosing. A previous attempt to grow some foliage up the wall had been cut down and abandoned, leaving the whole wall stained and ugly, with no attempt to repaint it. This is the only outlook that these apartments have and the impact is really quite depressing. The courtyard was also noisy as the sound from the apartment above reverberates around.
The room itself was clean and functional. My only gripe was that the whole ceiling directly above the shower was horribly mouldy and it felt quite creepy if you looked up whlst standing under it.
On a positive note, the staff were friendly and breakfast at the little cafe next door was a lovely arrangement.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

Amongst the cobbles of Stare Mesto lays the converted palace, Residence Retezova. It's simply luxurious and caters to all needs within it's separate available apartments, ranging from single/double occupancy and much higher.

The men and women at reception were really friendly and approachable, although I did not need to ask them much, they were always explaining things in detail to other guests and they were very knowledgeable.

I was travelling on my own but do like having the opportunity of cooking my own meals should I wish to. There's a cooker, fridge, plates and cutlery, all available. Turn left coming out of the main door, then right at the top of the road, it will take you upto a nearby Tesco, which is good value.

I can only talk about the Rio de Janeiro suite which I stayed in. It had a classic stone floor. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need. The television is small but you probably won't need it much. There's comfy chairs and then downstairs (I wouldn't recommend this suite for older or disabled guests) is your bedroom. The bed is very big and there's a huge old style wardrobe at your disposal, along with matching chest of drawers at your bedside. The bathroom, which is large too with a great shower, is here.

This suite has access to its own private courtyard. There is one other suite which has access, the Berlin I think, but I never saw anyone in there the whole time I was around. If you're staying with someone, it's an ideal place to sit out with them and spend time together.

The location is excellent, it's near Karlov Most, Starometska, Starometska Metro station and many restaurants, including a tiny small one just around the corner to the left of the residence, which I'd recommend!

My stay included breakfast in the adjoining cafe. It's a cafe in its own right and this is refreshing, as you get locals in there too. The staff are extremely friendly and the place has its own classic appeal.

If you can afford it, stretch to experience the Retezova. If there's more of you travelling together, then it's even more value!

  • Liked — Location, Friendliness of staff, Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SarkaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This little hotel has 9 unique rooms. Amongst our group, we had 6 of the 9 rooms. We all enjoyed our rooms & our stay.

First, we loved the location. It is situated close to Old Town Square & The Charles Bridge. Everything seemed close (once we figured out the curving streets). We walked everywhere.

The hotel staff was friendy & helpful. They arranged tours, cabs, etc.

I loved how each room had a character of its own. Go on line & pick the room & price that fits you best. I can say that all of the rooms are clean and well maintained. Most of the rooms were spacious / almost oversized.

Here are a few things to think about when choosing a room:

The Singapore Suite is the smallest room in the hotel, and therefore, the least expensive. While most rooms are oversized, this one is tiny. The beds are located in a loft. You must climb a steep, tall ladder to get to the beds. The bathroom is on the lower level. If this is a problem for you, choose another room. Having said that, my roommate & I thought that this room was kind of fun. It was definitely a conversation piece. If you are okay with the size & the loft, it is a nice room.

The rooms at the front of the hotel have a quaint view of the cobble stoned streets. But, they are a little noisy. Rooms in the back don't really have a view. But, they are very quiet.

Enjoy your stay. Prague it beautiful.

  • Liked — Location & Character of the Hotel
  • Disliked — My room was very small. Others are bigger.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellinDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel upon the recommendation of trip advisor. I can't say enough about how friendly the staff was. They were nice and helpful. Spoke perfect English. You could tell they really loved their city and wanted to share it with visitors. The location is fabulous. Walking distance to Charles Bridge and Old Town. We had the Paris Room. It was quite large for 3 people with a fabulous view of the church clock tower. The rooms are extremely quite. The tip I would have for travelers is to avoid Taxis at all cost unless arranged by the hotel. We got ripped off by the taxi driver from the train station to the hotel. The restaurants even the ones that come highly recommended serve mediocre food that is very salty. You will be better off going to the local grocery store (there is one within walking distance to the hotel called Tesco) and preparing your own sandwiches for lunch and breakfast. The rooms come with a fully equipped kitchenette. For dinner we went to KFC which is a place we never go to in the States but for some reason we enjoyed the food and the cleanliness of the chain in Prague.

  • Liked — The location and the room size
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LauraClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2008

My wife and I recently returned from a 2+ week European trip. Our first stop was Prague where we stayed at the Residence Retezova. We stayed in the Madrid Suite. There was a comfortable bed, nice-sized bathroom and a kitchenette. The room also had connections for our laptop and the front desk will supply an ethernet cord. The location is between Old Town and the Charles Bridge on a quaint little side street. We booked the Romantic Package which included transfers from the airport (which they arranged) and to the train station for our trip on to Vienna. Dinner was also included one evening at a wonderful restaurant called Cafe Provence near the Ungelt, one block from the Tyn Church. The staff could not have been more helpful and language was no problem as all spoke very good English. Breakfast was also included in the coffeeshop downstairs (Cafe Ebel-the equivalent of Starbucks-great little place). Prague is a hip and youthful city but welcomes their visitors. The Retezova could not have been better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast could be just a bit better
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richkath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#104 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#89 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing