We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey and handy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #101 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“homey and handy”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for close to a week in a suite(main floor) it was large with a useable kitchen a big bedroom and small but adequate bathroom. It had a nice old world charm beautiful plaster walls. door to a inner court yard. On the down side there really was no natural light.
John and the young dayshift lady were very helpful and friendly a real asset. There is a cafe next door and lots of restaurants close by as well as a 5-10min walk to Charles Bridge or the old town square. The walks were always interesting as the buildings are old and beautiful. the touristy shops are just around the corner and grocery stores past the powder tower or towards namsti street.(billo and Tesco). Close to municipal house that has symphony and the hall across has ballet(quite reasonable)ask about seniors rates I learnt that abit late.
A good economical place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs or ladders(for getting into bed) let them know they were very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residence_retezova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Marie,

thank you very much for choosing of our Residence Retezova and also for high rating here on TripAdvisor. We are happy we made your stay as comfortable as possible and hope that during your next trip to Prague you will visit us again.

Best regards,

Hana and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    84
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
163
268
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location, two minutes walk to the old town and two minutes walk to the Charles Bridge! It's not that close to the metro, however we didn't ever use it so don't think that's important! We stayed in the Rio Di Janeiro apartment which was a two storey apartment, if you don't do stairs easily then maybe pick a different apartment - the entrance is upstairs with the kitchen and the bathroom and bedroom is downstairs. The kitchen was useful though didn't have a microwave, but we had a stove, kettle and oven so were fine without. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was warm with a good shower.

I would stay in this hotel again, it's locations was its biggest plus and we found the front desk so welcoming and friendly, particularly the young man who was on day shift when we were there between 5 and 8 March. They even organised for a driver to pick us up from the station, for only 330ck. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am happy to say that our stay at Residence Retezova was perfect in every way, from arriving until we sadly had to return home. The location is central, even though the apartments are tucked quietly away down a side street. Our suite consisted of two bedrooms, of which one was set in the eaves, via a wooden staircase and had its own bathroom. Downstairs had another double bedroom, the second bathroom, a very characterful lounge with exposed beams and a small kitchen which was perfect for making your own hot drinks after wondering around picturesque Prague. The staff were always helpful and very friendly. I would recommend using the Apartments taxi to pick up and return to the airport because it is excellent value compared to the prices we were given from the local taxi's( they seem to be able to charge what they like up to £30 difference) We will return to Prague and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I totally agree with all of the other glowing reviews about these apartments. We have just returned from staying in the London Suite for 3 nights with two children aged 10. The apartment was fabulous. It was very large with two separate bedrooms, two bathrooms and then a large sitting area with kitchen - and a small roof terrace. It was very well decorated with lovely furniture and the whole apartment was very clean. The staff were always very welcoming and helpful with a smile on their face. Now on to the location. To be honest, it couldn't have been better. It is between Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square - literally minutes from each. Although it was so central, it is in a lovely side street so away from the noise and hustle and bustle. We enjoyed walking around the cobbled streets around the apartment and it was great to know that everything we wanted to see was in walking distance - even the Castle and the Observation Tower at Petrin Hill. I highly recommend the apartments and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have children, the London Suite is ideal as one bedroom as a large double and the second bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying in the Madrid apartment and would like to advise anyone considering staying here to definitely book. The best deals appear to be on the hotel website where you can also select which particular apartment you wish for. The staff are very welcoming, the whole building is spotlessly clean, and I can only comment on the Madrid apartment which is beautiful,spacious and exactly like the pictures. The room is quite warm but individually controlled radiators allow you to turn off the heating and also the windows open to allow some cool air in, even with the windows open it is still very quiet. as others have mentioned the location is fab, a few minutes from old square, Charles bridge and many lovely bars and restaurants , we found many bars recommended on T.A within a few minutes walk! And am so glad we chose this area to stay rather than the other side of old square near wencelas square , however we soon found our way to that area and the Jewish quarter,again not much more than 10 minute walk - would definitely recommend as a perfect place to stay for a perfect break in this beautiful city :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for a week and wish it could have been longer. Fabulous apartment with two bathrooms right in the heart of town, only minutes walk away from Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square. Super helpful and friendly desk staff that couldn't have been more welcoming. The New York apartment suited us perfectly - huge living room and all very comfortable. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely be going back.
There is a cafe downstairs/next door for breakfast or just dropping in - Cafe Ebel. Try the honey pie/cake.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboChangMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

TOTALLY different rooms - you may be lucky, or you may climb down in the Cellar.

Rooms are like in an old House ... you may call it Flair, but but it´s definitely old style.

Breakfast is in the Cafe besides the Hotel and is downright cheap. 3 leaves of sausage, 2 of cheese, no White Bread or rolls, SLOW ( but nice ) Service. If there are several People before you, plan on one hour for your Coffee.

NO parking included, they tell you where a separate parking is ( expensive ), and if that´s full, you are on your own ... and the Staff didn´t even know the Address for the Navi!

No Bar, no Service of any kind.

It´s in a blind alley, which leads to another Hotel. And it´s one roadway only! NO parking near the Hotel, if you are unlucky, some Drivers will wait for you to get away, and if there are some Cars behind another, it´s traffic jam! In short, that´s no place for a Hotel!

3 Stars at the most!

Will book another Hotel in Prague next time for sure.

HK

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaandHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residence_retezova, Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate each review because we are always trying to increase quality of our service. I am really sorry for your unsatisfaction with our hotel and it is pity that we haven’t had an opportunity to meet . As you mentioned in your review all our rooms are different with individual style. Our guest have possibility to book room category or individual room. We always try to do our best for clients so in case that we mention some complains we always try to find suitable solution for both sides. Unfortunately during your stay we didn’t hear from you any complains or request so we couldn’t recognize any difficulties. We hope that in the future we will have an opportunity to show you perfect service and fulfill your satisfaction.

With my best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 649 in Prague
348 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#104 of 649 in Prague
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#124 of 649 in Prague
449 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pachtuv Palace
Pachtuv Palace
#96 of 649 in Prague
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#89 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing