We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #104 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Co
1 review
“Splendid Spot”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

On May 11, 2009, my husband and I were warmly welcomed as we entered the Residence Retezova in Prague. Our beautiful apartment on the second floor was beyond our expectations. We each had a lovely private bathroom! The decor, including live plants and paintings, was very tasteful, as was the furnishing of living room and bedroom. The entire staff of young women and men were polite and always helpful. I know it sounds too good to be true, but it is. We definitely recommend this splendid spot in the Old Quarter.



And if you need a taxi driver, ask for Roman. You wouldn't expect a driver to be such a gentleman--but he is.IThe Retezova staff and Roman made our stay delightful.



From Marlene in Orange Co., California

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orange222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    86
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
164
270
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed at Residence Retezova in July for a three day stay. My partner's daughter also joined us there after a long spell travelling around Europe. It was such an oasis from the very tourist-ridden streets of Prague. The hotel is located in a very convenient location, but just around the corner the action starts. The Jersusalem apartment was spacious, very clean, well serviced and I'd highly recommend it. The street was very quiet. When compared in price to other places that we stayed in Europe during this trip, this was one of the most expensive but all things considered, it was good value because of standard of facilities, location and service. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were permiited to use the internet at the spare reception desk as the wifi did not have a reliable connection within the very thick 14th century walls of our apartment. We'd stay there again.
Deborah & Don, Australia

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwakibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We recently stayed at Hotel Residence Retezova. We only stayed one night and wished we had planned for additional nights. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was centrally located and easy access to many sights. The rooms were very lovely decorated and spacious. We would stay again!! Great value too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here Easter weekend. It was our first time in Prague. We found the hotel on a quiet side street. We were shown a bi level room with a courtyard and were very satisfied. Within 15 minutes after checking in the room, we were shown a larger upgraded room as they discivered they had open rooms and their policy is free upgrades; what a surprise. I had read about this policy but thought this never happens to me. The room was beautiful with a hand painted ceiling and very spacious.

The staff was tremendous and we followed their restaurant reecommendations; all were very good choices. This part of old Prague is a walkers paradise and is close to most of the major attractions.

We thought the hotel was clean, comfortable, friendly, and a great value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petezach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed at Residence Retezova with my wife and 13 year-old son for nine nights in July, 2009 and had a wonderful stay. Retezova is more than a hotel - it is nine luxury apartments located just a few blocks from Old Town Square, but on a quiet and charming side street. The hotel location can't be beat as it is central to everything in Prague, making it especially convenient for dropping off shopping bags, grabbing a jacket, or simply taking a brief rest. There is also a small cafe attached for convenient breakfasts of bagels, croissants, etc. We were able to see several of the rooms and each one is as it appears on the hotel website. We stayed in the New York apartment, which consisted of a bedroom, a large living room with sofa bed, two nice sized full baths and a kitchen. The rooms were large and in excellent condition, and the housekeeping was immaculate during our entire stay. The staff was tremendous and pre-trip communication by email fast and friendly. Ask Radim at the front desk for restaurant recommendations and you won't be disappointed, and manager Magdalena is delightful and helpful. Prague is a beautiful city and the staff helped make our stay even better. If I visit Prague again, I will definitely stay at Residence Retezova again without question.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epbmcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The Hotel Residence Retezova is perfectly located to enjoy the sights, restaurants and shops of Old Town Prague. The staff is very friendly and helpful in providing assistance and recommendations of what to see and do. The two bedroom suite was ideal for two couples traveling together. We would highly recommend it to anyone based on our five day stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmichaelJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The service was excellent. To describe one incident... After the first night we realized that the room we had originally selected was not suited for us. The hotel staff also realized this. Even though we had unpacked they took it upon themselves (with our approval to move all of our belongings to a larger and better room for the same price. All of our belongings were either hung up or placed neatly on the bed. The new room contained a large kitchen and was about 20 x 20 in dimensions. The staff was also helpful in making reservations at restaurants and concerts. I can't think of any negatives at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womanalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#117 of 649 in Prague
350 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#98 of 649 in Prague
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing