We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day stay in Prague”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #167 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotel Carlton was recommended to a friend of mine and me while visiting in Prague. I did not particularly like the location but overall the stay was pleasant. Marek the young man at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. He is a very sharp guy and could carry on a great conversation as our bartender as well as our go to guy for checking in, checking out or when in need of a taxi, etc. Whatever we requested Marek was the man. We were in Prague during off season so the breakfast was mediocre at best. The price was good so if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head and shower while enjoying the other sites in Prague, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such nice commentary. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed here recently when in town for a conference. The price was low enough that I would have been worried had it not been for the good reviews on here.

The room was comfortable, although there was no desk and the bathroom was tiny. The internet was a decent speed, the breakfast was better than I had expected given the reviews, and the number 9 tram into town was unbelievably frequent and very quick.

Overall I would have no trouble recommending the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for the time you took to write such a nice review. We would be very glad to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Carlton for five nights while on Holiday in Europe.

Pros

The location is great, it's either a 20 - 25 minute walk down to all the main attractions or you can jump on the number 9 tram and be taken to Wenceslas Square, or if you stay on the tram a bit longer it takes you to the river and it's only a 2 minute walk to Charles Bridge. From Wenceslas Square you can easily jump on the number 22 tram to the castle, or simply walk over Charles Bridge and up that way. A 3 day tram pass is 330k (the hotel usually sells them but they had run out when I was there). There really is no need to use taxis and they are best avoided due to constant over charging and crazy driving.

My room was a good size and clean, with a decent bathroom although the shower was a little small it was fine and the water pressure was great.

Breakfast was decent, not a great selection but more than enough to get you started for the day.

The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly one young man who helped me out a lot by calling and confirming tour times.

There is wifi in the lobby and a free computer.

Cons

The only real issue was there not being a restaurant at the hotel or anything decent nearby, but that's not a huge problem as it's so close to the centre of town.


I loved Prague and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to find out that you vere pleased with services of Hotel Carlton. We are looking forward to you next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Managament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed for three nights at Carlton Hotel and had a really nice time. The room was spacey and very clean. Hotel employees were very nice and helpful the whole time. There's free wifi at the lobby and you can use a computer they have in there in case you need it. Breakfast, which was included, was ok. The hotel is pretty close to the city center, it takes about 5 minutes by tram, so distance is not a problem. I'd definitely recommend Carlton hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your pleasant commentary. We truly appreciate your words and hope that you will visit us soon again.

Best regards,

Hotel Managament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The breakfast had a good choice and it's location is great. It is right between 2 stops on the tram and only half a dozen stops to the very centre. The trams are easy. The staff were friendly and spoke in English when they saw me. I will stay here again when next in Prague.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and services in Hotel Carlton.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was a really nice hotel! Conveniently located on the number 9 tramway - hop on or off just outside the hotel and make your way downtown to the many pedestrian only streets full of shops and cafes and buskers and classic architecturally designed buildings of Old Town Prague. EASY to get to! Also easy to get to/from the train station! You can buy transit tickets right at the front desk - how convenient is that? There is also a small grocery store across the street - again convenient! The staff are friendly, very knowledgeable speak English! The breakfasts are excellent - something for everyone. The staff there worked hard to keep every open table ready for new customers - cleaned as soon as they were vacated. The room was nicely laid out with a very modern washroom. Odd but I never had to wait once for the single elevator! Not once in three days! My only complaint would be the hotel bar was closed early it seemed but it is possible I could have arrived each night at the wrong time.....hardly a complaint really. I really felt more comfortable my first time in Prague because of my stay at this Carlton Hotel. From a Canadian!

Room Tip: I did not look to see if there even was a pool or fitness room - even though I am into fitness, I pr...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanmanUfford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your appreciation of our services, and we hope that we will soon have a chance to welcome you again at hotel Carlton.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The location is great. Tram station is just 50 m away and you need less than 10 min to center. Metro station Flora is about 7-8 min on foot and a big mall is there as well.
Room was clean, breakfast was ordinary and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 648 in Prague
1,172 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#245 of 648 in Prague
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#156 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#149 of 648 in Prague
740 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#255 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Prague
#119 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#138 Business Hotel in Prague
#143 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £39 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel, situated in the completely renovated historical building, is characteristic by its convenient position, not far from business and historical center of Prague. Hotel features 48 stylishly and comfortably furnished rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet, cosy breakfast restaurant built in the original historical basement with vaulted ceilings and a lounge providing comfort premises for venues of smaller company events and family celebrations. Parking is available on the street at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing