We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Close to a Tram Lline”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #180 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Close to a Tram Lline”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

The Hotel Carlton is on a tram line that will take most visitors close to the many of the major sites in Prague. The ride to the main square was about 10 minutes and the tram goes by quite often.

The deskman was friendly and very helpful.

The room was large with high ceilings; the bath had a shower with a glass door (which I prefer) with a heated towel rack.

The included breakfast was more than adequate, though not the best quality pastries (it was Easter weekend, so that may account for the quality).

Easter Sunday we had a small chocolate rabbit put on our pillows - a nice touch.

A good recommendation.

  • Liked — One block from a major tram line
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    173
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
165
41
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Previous reviews have said it all. I booked a single and found myself in a twin and rattled around quite nicely! Breakfast room in the basement is very pleasant, the cooked food so-so (eggs sometimes a little raw, bangers cool and beans cooler) but I did not go hungry. Coffee good, juices watery. Other than that I could not have done better for the price I paid.

  • Liked — Room quality, hotel location
  • Disliked — Only a niggle about the breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffpolizei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton and it was great. The rooms were a great size, the hotel very clean and the staff really friendly.

We got a taxi from the airport that cost approx £20.

Initially I was a little concerned about the proximity of the hotel to the centre but the tram is 2 minutes walk away and takes you right into the heart of everything - all day tickets cost about £3.50 and the trams run about every 7 minutes and until approx midnight - so please don't let the distance from the centre put you off!

Breakfast was good, beans, egg, sausages and a selection of meats cheese etc...

I would stay at the Carlton again without a doubt and I'm already looking to book my next stay!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mimsharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Just arrived back from a weekend in Prague, 10 of us stayed at the Carlton Hotel, the people there could not do enough for us, you can buy your tram tickets there, ask them to get you taxi's and book restaurants etc.

The rooms were a good size, the ones higher up on the 5th floor had gorgeous beams, just watch your head one of our groups kept forgetting and banged their head several times.

Breakfast was sausages, eggs and beans toast tea and coffee, fruit juice and then the normal continental meat and cheeses etc.

The hotel was clean, and only a stones throw from a tram station you need to get the 9 or 26 into the centre, it is about a half hour walk or about 5 mins on the tram.

Brilliant would definately book there again!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bridaldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at the Carlton from xmas eve for 4 nights very nice rooms and bathroom breakfast a bit meagre but plenty of coffee and fresh bread only 4 stops on tram to Old town 5 to Wenceslas Square
only let down was no restaurant that they advertise on all their blurb also bar only open once on Xmas night but just 1 tram stop away a loveley restaurant called SKLEP really good food and reasonably priced area looks a bit dodgy but quite safe
do not have a cappuchino in airport bar called the hole in one we were charged £13.00 for 2 the only reason we went there was because they allowed smoking a very expensive cigarette!!
also be careful about the change offices advertising rates of 40 to the pound this is not true we only got 28 which was in very small print we could have got 35 at hotel so a lesson well learnt

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank audrey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRETE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I stayed there on april 2007 and i was very satisfied!!! The rooms are spacy the bathroom was awesome and the hotel staff was great. 2 advices
1) Do not worry about the distance from the center the tram is really punctual and it works all night long
2) The tram stop and the rails are next to the hotel but the noise at least I could not hear it

The breakfast was ok but the quality of the food could have been better. Overall I think it worths the money so choose it.

  • Liked — The room it self cozy spacious with great ligh and feeling
  • Disliked — Breakfast (average) ,location (a little bit far but no problem )
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TERA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We stayed at the Carlton hotel for 3 nights during Easter sun- Wed. The Hotel was very clean and our room and bathroom was spotless. The Hotel staff was very nice and assisted us with everything we needed.
In the room there is a sattelite TV, a mini bar and a big bathroom with a bath.
We found the location to be excellent as it has tram number 9 and 5 to get to old town square in 10 minutes or less. Also if you take tram number 5 from the other side you reach the Flora mall, which is only one stop away, and is a large mall with a cinema complex . There is also a connection there to the metro, which you can take to the further parts of the city.
The advantage of the location is that it is close enough to the city center to reach it without difficulty, but not too close, which means it is very quiet at night and no noice comes from the streets.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would come back to the Carlton again with no hesitation.

  • Liked — clean, good location, friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mdfrogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#242 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#120 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#261 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#168 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Prague
#120 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#139 Business Hotel in Prague
#152 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel, situated in the completely renovated historical building, is characteristic by its convenient position, not far from business and historical center of Prague. Hotel features 48 stylishly and comfortably furnished rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet, cosy breakfast restaurant built in the original historical basement with vaulted ceilings and a lounge providing comfort premises for venues of smaller company events and family celebrations. Parking is available on the street at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing