We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Popelka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Popelka
Ranked #282 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The rooms are well furnished and pleasant and the included breakfast is fresh and well presented. The hotel is very clean and there is an outdoor area where children can play or you can take a drink. Although this hotel is outside the centre of Prague, the transport system is so efficient and economical there is no disadvantage.

Room Tip: Two rooms are on the same level and overlook the outside area which could be noisy for children in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333Ruth333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your stay in hotel Popelka.
We are pleased we could welcome you among our guests.
We would like to thank you for your review, your opinion really matters to us.
Guest satisfaction and making their stay in our hotel a memorable experience is very important to us.
Have a nice day!
Team of hotel Popelka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just stayed there for 4 days w/c 16th July to 19th. Fantastic Hotel, could not have been more pleased to open the bedroom door to a clean, inviting bedroom. Hotel Staff (Tereza) was very helpful with our questions regarding how to get about etc. The beds were okay but then again,not one to complain as we traveled to go to Prague. Breakfast was a complete success as it offered a array of different foods (in which I tried most.)

Regarding trams, the hotel is very close to a tram stop. Easily within reach to get to the center or Prague by catching the number 9. However, what we did was pay for our first tram tickets but because the machine broke we got on the tram anyway and didn't get into any bother. This is only due to the fact that there was no other machine for at least 5 miles (as on one day we walked to Prague from the Hotel) so to those daring enough, you do not always have to pay, as the machines are sometimes temper-mental too and didn't accept out 20kc.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Popelka to anyone wanting a break to Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms having a window facing the first level seating area have a great fun and lots of su
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelC1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Michael,

thank you for your recent stay in hotel Popelka.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are appreciated you shared your experience with us.
Guest satisfaction and making their stay in our hotel a memorable experience is very important to us.
Thank you for your time, your opinion really matters to us.

We are very pleased we could welcome you among our guests and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Team of the Parkhotel Praha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My friend and I had been looking for hotels for quite some time after deciding Prague was the destination for us and after reading many of the reviews on here and elsewhere on the net we settled on the Hotel Popelka. Upon driving up to the Hotel Popelka in the shared shuttle my first impressions were 'please say this isn't us'. However, on approaching the hotel which is set back from the main street and in its own gated courtyard my friend and I were pleasantly surprised. The check in was easy and we were given numerous maps & excursion leaflets which if we had been given more time in Prague we probably would have gone on.
Rooms
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The rooms were modern, spacious and most importantly clean. However the safety deposit box in the room caused us some difficulties. The lock didn't work and after going down to reception numerous times we decided to give up and look after our belongings ourselves during our short stay. I'm sure if you could wade through the language barrier you could get it to work and this wouldn't be an issue however I am far too impatient and didn't want to spend time faffing around when there was exploring to be done! Beds were OK to sleep on and a little hard but I have defiantly slept on worse. The only downside to the rooms was the fact there was a kettle & cups provided but no tea or coffee. Not a major downside but certainly would have been the icing on the cake if they were provided. There are around 3 local corner shops where these could have been bought and other items such as toiletries near the tram stop all for a low cost.
Breakfast
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As for the breakfast it was served 7:30-10:00 & offered cheeses, hams, salami, bread, a good choice of cereals, sausages, bacon, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, yogurt and honey and a sweet choice each day for afterwards. Although there wasn't a large choice of hot food options there was defiantly enough to make up for it & there was a broth option however the days we stayed the Pea Broth and Beef Broth didn't appeal to either of us, especially for breakfast. I must make a special mention here for coeliac sufferers. My father has gluten intolerance and although he wasn't with me on this trip, I always keep an eye out for what he could have eaten. The boiled & scrambles eggs, ham and cheeses would have been the best bet to avoid cross contamination from gluten and although simple, would quite easily have sufficed for a gluten free breakfast.

Trams
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The walk to the tram stop took around 3-5minutes and there is a flat or staired way to the stop. I would recommend at night or at dusk to take the staired option to avoid walking down a pretty run down the side street which had no lighting. We asked reception for tram details and was told to purchase a ticket from the yellow machine at the nearest stops machine. We were never given the option to purchase a ticket from reception like many people have put so had to chance the machine... Only once did the machine work & on day 2 after trying to buy a day ticket for 110kc we decided to walk into Prague by foot only seeing 1 more machine the whole way. The walk into Prague was not quick, but took around 40 minutes by leisurely strolling. I would strongly recommend at least once walking into Prague. After getting past the nearby Anděl which is around 2 stops from the nearest tram stop to the hotel, the walk is relatively flat and we saw more of Prague by walking than on the tram overall. The rest of the holiday admittedly we tram jumped due to the stupid machines however despite the receptionist stressing the importance of stamping the ticket not once did we see any locals do this or purchase any tickets. NB; We always made sure we had the correct change in case we got checked and had to buy a ticket on board.
Food
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Apart from breakfast we didn’t eat in the hotel & decided to venture into Prague each evening for dinner. The food was always of a very high quality for a very little price. We always drank bottled water and we did eat in varied restaurants and not once did we get sick at all. All the restaurants appeared clean and tidy and there are defiantly many places in England which could take a leaf out of their book.

The beer was amazing! To say I am a firm drinker of Crabbies and Guiness I must say Prague has converted me to a lager drinker. More times than not a pint cost 80kc with soft drinks being a lot more in comparison.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Overall Prague was a really good European City Break for my friend and I and we managed to get cheap flights & spent very little on our travels including souvenir shopping. I would defiantly recommend the Hotel Popelka to anyone and if I visit Prague again I will book there. The distance from Prague should be seen as a chance to get away from the beaten track and explore Prague away from a guide book. One side note should be that if you find walking difficult or need a wheelchair Prague is perhaps not the best place for you to is it. The streets can be very steep in the Lesser Quarter and the streets are uneven and cobbled nearly everywhere. When it rained the streets got extremely slippery even with good walking shoes on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NatHeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Mrs. Heaney,

we are very pleased we could welcome you among our guests.
We are happy you share your experience with us.
Thank you for your time, your opinion really matters to us.
We look forward t o welcoming you among our guests again.
Yours sincerely,
Team of the Parkhotel Praha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Horle is about is about 9 stops from the centre,all though three stops down is a thriving part of town with plenty restraunts and bars to keep you happy.tram systaem is second to none ,all in all fantastic hotel and great area to explore while in Prague

Room Tip: All rooms are good it does not have ant beneficial primary spots as to speak of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your recent stay in hotel Popelka.
We are very pleased we could welcome you among our guests.
Thank you for your review and time, your opinion really matters to us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Have a nice day!
Yours sincerely,
Team of the Parkhotel Praha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Its slightly out the way of the main towns, about a half hour walk to the Old Town but tram tickets are available from the hotel reception. We used the tram a couple of times but really didn't mind the walk, we found some nice bars and restaurants on the mooch :) One thing to note about the trams though; make sure you get your ticket stamped in the machine when you get on the tram. Although we only saw the conductor once, apparently there is a fine if you get caught without a stamped ticket. For a £1 ticket its not worth chancing.

The hotel itself was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for and totally worth its 4* rating. The rooms were exceptionally clean albeit basic. Breakfast includes a choice of sausage (strange little hotdog style things), bacon, eggs, cereals, yoghurt, different types of bread, cheese and continental meats. As a veggie I stuck to the bread and cheese but that was fine by me. To drink were the usual juices, tea and coffee. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The small bar was open 24/7 as was reception. The beds were comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels and toiletries replenished. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it felt safe and it was very quiet. I really cant think of any bad points to note, it was a perfect base for exploring the city. Photos attached :)

If you haven't been to Prague before I would recommend doing the Communism and Bunker tour, especially if you don't know much of the history. The tour guide took us around the old town and the new town pointing out important buildings and telling us of their history. The tour includes a short tram journey to an unused, underground bunker which still holds some of the original gas masks and medical kits which would have been used at that time. It cost 600 ck which equates to around £20 and if your interested in history then its well worth the money.

Another thing of note is that its really expensive to eat and drink in the old town, we paid well over the odds and its particularly annoying when you know you pay half the price elsewhere. Not worth it at all!

Oh, and we were warned of pickpockets all over town and especially on trams. I'm always very careful anyway but I didn't find any need for extra care than if we were visiting any other place. Just keep your wits about you.

Prague is a gorgeous place and you could see it all over a long weekend. We stayed from Mon - Fri and by the end we found we could take it easy and didn't feel rushed to fit everything in. Take sensible shoes, there's lots of walking to be done. We didn't even tempt heels or sandals. Plimsolls were adequate enough.

Room Tip: Our friends room had a small balcony although we didn't request it so I suppose it would be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotte_gladders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your recent stay in hotel Popelka.
We are very pleased we could welcome you among our guests.
Thank you that you share your experience with us.
Guest satisfaction and making their stay in our hotel a memorable experience is very important to us.
Thank you for your time, your opinion really matters to us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Team of hotel Popelka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A scrupulously clean, very friendly, small modern hotel.
Delightfully quiet, but bed mattresses are mounted on wooden base so the bed is consequently quite hard and firm. Very good breakfast-excellent choice-07.30-10.00.Easy 8 minute walk to trams- hotel sells 90 minute tram tickets. Last bit of return to hotel up short steepish incline. Three day pass for trams/metro/buses (310kr) is more convenient for use of excellent public transport system- get these from Metro station (e.g.Andel)- there SHOULD be reduction for children/over 65. Andel (5minutes away on tram) has huge Novy Smichov shopping mall-hypermarket + good self-service restaurants on top floor 2. Useful to book hotel/hotel transport to/from airport as package. Beware teams of pickpockets in certain areas of Prague at night on transport- their ploy is for one to block tram entrance, while an associate thief tries to rob you as you try to get past. Try to do your own trips-much cheaper and less hastle than organised tours e.g.Evening (go for 21.00 hr show) computer controlled coloured musical fountains (Krizkova Fontana, Vystaviste) costs £7 for entry-go by tram (free with pass), but £19 if you go on organised tour, which goes to 20.00 hr show- when it is not dark enough to get full effect.

Room Tip: We had two doubles and one triple- ALL were lovely. Our triplet grandchildren shared the triple whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your stay in our hotel Popelka and for your review.
Guest satisfaction and making their stay in our hotel a memorable experience is very important to us.
We are pleased we could welcome you among our guests and we look forward to your next visit.
Have a nice day!
Team of hotel Popelka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed for three nights with friends, rooms were all that you needed, tram stop just down the road, staff very helpful-helping with directions, taxis etc. only let down was the breakfast, not enough choice, but the price of the rooms reflects this. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eklid-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVavra, Director of Sales at Popelka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for your stay in our hotel Popelka and for your review.
We are pleased we could welcome you among our guests and we look forward to your next visit.
Have a nice day!
Team of hotel Popelka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Villa St. Tropez
Villa St. Tropez
#415 of 647 in Prague
51 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Adalbert
Hotel Adalbert
#284 of 647 in Prague
162 reviews
Praha 6
Silenzio Hotel
Silenzio Hotel
#344 of 647 in Prague
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#226 of 647 in Prague
194 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#275 of 647 in Prague
269 reviews
Praha 4
Villa Voyta Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popelka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popelka

Address: Na Popelce 215/12, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#207 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £30 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popelka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popelka (Cinderella) is a modern four-star hotel, situated in a very peaceful and beautiful part of Prague, only 15 minutes from the historical center. Hotel aims at providing those who visit Prague with a home away from home. Our guests can enjoy the comfort and pleasant atmosphere of our hotel which will enable them to relax and then genuinely enjoy a wonderful visit to historic Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Popelka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popelka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing