We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September in Prague”
Review of Popelka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Popelka
Ranked #258 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“September in Prague”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, and fits perfectly to the surrounding buildings. We got a very clean and spacious room (207) with a nice view to the winter garden (which wasn't opened at the time, unfortunately!), but with no wi-fi signal. Nonetheless, we enjoyed being awakened by birds and wind, instead of traffic and sirens ;) Our only complaints (besides the wi-fi signal, that varies from room to room) would be that we had to wait for hot water (sometimes for more then 10 minutes!) to shower properly and that the fridge was very warm and you can't rely on cooling anything down.
Hotel Popelka is five minutes walk from the tram station and it'll take you no more then 15 minutes to get to the city centre. If you get up early enough, food that you find at the buffet breakfast will be enough to last you untill late afternoon (fried, boiled and scrambled eggs; bacon; at least 5 different cereals; 2-3 different salami and cheese; sponge cakes; fresh or canned fruit; milk, yoghurt, coffee, tea...). Also - don't use the hotel taxi, regardless of their friendly recommendation - we had to wait for more then 30 minutes for the car to come, it turns out that it's not taxi at all (the guy obviously has a deal with the hotel and drives people around in a hired car, speaks almost no English) and the price is fixed - you'll pay 350 Korunas no matter the address, distance, etc.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and we'll definitely come again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falkusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    118
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
109
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrov, Karlovarsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were there at first 3 years ago and since that we are not looking for another. It´s perfectly situated, clean, quiet and keenly priced, rooms are clean and spacious. Tram station right to the center near by (5 minutes walk) just like shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Definately not a 4* hotel. The rooms were very clean. First room allocated did not have any Air Condition or fan, this was essential because the temperature was 34 deg. We were given another room lwith A/C, but no fridge/minibar or a safe in there even though the welcome pack stipulated all rooms have them. When mentioned to the receptionist, we were told this is not an apartment - this is a hotel. Would not have one this week at all. The shower should have a temperature regulator - the water was cool one minute and then scaldingly hot the next.

Breakfast was below average - the juices were watered down or re-constituted. Sliced bread had mould spots on it; complained to the staff and were apologetic but this should not happen. They even ran out of tea bags, had all different flavouered ones but no good old black tea!!

Most of the staff were friendly except the one on reception on 8/8/13 morning who was abrupt.

The location a bit far from the historical center but quiet. The neighberhood is a bit creepy at night and run down. No one on the streets.

Should not advertise as 4* hotel because it is not.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarjiSach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked this hotel through a BA package holiday staying for 4 nights in late July and would recommend this place. The room is spotlessly clean and bight. The bathroom is spacious and we even had a lovely little balcony attached to the room which was a real bonus! (Room no 212)

All staff we saw were friendly and helpful, especially Jana and another young lady reception (sorry didn't take her name). They even helped us book the coach ticket to Karlovy Vary where we visited on a day trip.

The location of the hotel is also convenient. Approx. 7-8 mins walk to the nearest Tram Station where you can take Tram 9,10, 16.. to city centre. Whole journey takes less then 15 mins.

There are only 2 slight issues we'd like to mention for further improvement:

1. There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. It could have been better if at least a kettle was supplied.

2. The Wi-Fi signal in the room are not always as good. Several interruptions occurred during our stay. The problem was been addressed to the receptionist but seemed no easy solutions.

Having said this, we are happy with the time spend there and would like to thank all staff at Hotel Popelka for the excellent service provided!

Oh, forgot to mention the buffet breakfast was very delicious as well!

Room Tip: Room 212 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelymulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A big thank you to wonderful staff of Hotel Popelka. Their is just NOTHING negative to report on! It is near the Tram Station, excellent rooms and service. Please take note there is not a little supermarket nearby, so make sure you have all essentails needed before you hop off at the tram station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly service.
The location a bit far from the historical center but a very quiet.
The neighberhood is a bit creepy at night. No one one the streets.
Must go at a nearby restaurant Le lapin Bleu. Nice one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adicroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at hotel popelka, the room was very spacious, the bathroom was large and very clean and also included a bath as well as complementaries. Towels were clean and changed daily. There was a mini bar which was very reasonable ( a bottle of water being less than £1 (20czk) ). They were happy for you to eat in your room and even ordered take out food for you if you wished and provided take out menus for recommended local restaurants. I ordered pizza one night which was a very simple process, the receptionist was happy to help with the language on the menu as well, be aware the sometimes restaurants in Czech Republic will add on small extra charges in this case we had an added charge for the cardboard box the pizza was delivered in.

The staff were very pleasant and very helpful throughout the entire stay. Even before I arrived due to flooding just before I left I sent them an email asking whether the hotel was affected and had a lovely reply explaining that the hotel was under no threat and would remain open and safe.

The breakfast was lovely, it was continental breakfast everything was fresh and it was a good variety if foods and choices, a small cooked section as well with different meats to try each day. There was also a czech breakfast option of beef broth, I didn't try it, but it's nice see the option. There was also tea, coffee, orange juice and ice tea to choose from at breakfast too.

I was in a good location to a tram stop and the tram took around 15/20 minutes to get into town, during a busy time I think I 30 minute tram ticket for 18czk would be a safer option. Just as a tip I found buying 2 tram tickets from the machine before I got on the tram was useful instead of wandering around town trying to find somewhere that sold them and had the ticket I wanted available. If the idea of using trams is worrying and you are thinking against this hotel for ha reason, the trams are incredibly convenient and you soon get the hang of it! (Always buy your ticket before you get on a tram and remember to always use the machine on the tram to validate your ticket!!) but it's also a great Prague experience to use the trams and when you understand them, it opens up a lot of options for travel in the city.

Another good point in the hotel is the information the provide on arrival! They provide useful information and tips about the city, recommended restaurants, tips on how to safely use a taxi (without getting ripped off) a map of the city and other useful information!

Overall a lovely stay and a very enjoyable visit to a gorgeous city (despite everything being closed due to the flooding!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Adalbert
Hotel Adalbert
#284 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Praha 5
Herrmes
Herrmes
#215 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#235 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Villa Voyta Hotel & Restaurant
Praha 5
D'Angelo Hotel
D'Angelo Hotel
#364 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#83 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popelka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popelka

Property: Popelka
Address: Na Popelce 215/12, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#207 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popelka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popelka (Cinderella) is a modern four-star hotel, situated in a very peaceful and beautiful part of Prague, only 15 minutes from the historical center. Hotel aims at providing those who visit Prague with a home away from home. Our guests can enjoy the comfort and pleasant atmosphere of our hotel which will enable them to relax and then genuinely enjoy a wonderful visit to historic Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popelka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popelka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing