We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city break”
Review of Popelka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Popelka
Ranked #288 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

excellent value ,very clean and the staff were great their English was far better than my Czech .
its a hotel which suits people who are prepared to explore Prague due to its location, they don't hide it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

- Located out of town, but the upside is there is free parking and close to the tram.
- Note coins are required to purchase tickets at the tram stop. Would recommend the hotel has tickets available for purchase at reception (should be possible as the tickets need to be validated).
- Limited services around the hotel (ie no ATM).
- Good value for money given free parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very normal hotel.
The room was large, but not very well equipped. Small old TV has a very bad image, hand shower is mounted too high and uncomfortable. Parking is too small compare with the number of rooms. The price was very nice, but the quality matches the price.

For the rest of my stay in Prague I found a private vacation rental apartment, and even though at a higher price, comfort was much higher and the location was better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaLi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

the hotel was amazing clean tidy very quiet great food lovely staff very attentive it was our 2nd visit here both times have been amazing highly recommended just fantastic place to stay and a beautiful city to visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After booking this hotel I then read some reviews and wondered what I let myself in for. We found the hotel and rooms very clean. Breakfast was continental which was fine staff very friendly. Only thing I would say it needs is tea and coffee facility in rooms. Overall a great stay and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was just ok. The elevator scared me. I only rode it one time and that was enough, after that we took the stairs. Luckily we were staying on the first floor. The staff was also not very friendly. Yes, it is a five minute walk to the nearest tram stop, but if you have just arrived in the country and have not yet gotten any local currency, then you have to walk all the way down to Andel to find an ATM machine. The receptionist would not exchange currency. The breakfast was just the basics, nothing special (did not even have orange juice).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank TallyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After reading the reviews this hotel seemed nice although a bit far out of the main city. Saying that the hotel is only around a 5 minute walk from the nearest tram stop 'U Zvonu' which can take you to 'Andel' where you can either get the Metro (B/yellow line) or change trams to head into the old town. You also have a number of places to eat in Andel (as there are no restaurant facilities at the hotel but they can order you food in if you wish) or a 24 hour supermarket.

We got to the hotel early and the room was not ready so we stored our bags and went exploring. The staff who greeted us were very friendly. Once we got back to the hotel we collected our bags and headed to our room. We were on the first floor but the room was well sized (with ample cupboard space) and clean.

Breakfast the next morning was simple (only a small section of hot foods as well as bread, rolls and cereals, fruits) but plentiful.

Overall if you want a hotel that is in a quite location then this is ideal. Prague is very easy to get around so distance is not really an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Adalbert
Hotel Adalbert
#279 of 646 in Prague
168 reviews
Praha 6
Silenzio Hotel
Silenzio Hotel
#322 of 646 in Prague
107 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#99 of 646 in Prague
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Villa Voyta Hotel & Restaurant
Praha 5
Wellness & SPA boutique Hotel pod Lipkami Prague
Praha 4
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#539 of 646 in Prague
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popelka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popelka

Address: Na Popelce 215/12, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#207 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popelka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popelka (Cinderella) is a modern four-star hotel, situated in a very peaceful and beautiful part of Prague, only 15 minutes from the historical center. Hotel aims at providing those who visit Prague with a home away from home. Our guests can enjoy the comfort and pleasant atmosphere of our hotel which will enable them to relax and then genuinely enjoy a wonderful visit to historic Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Popelka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popelka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing