We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip and Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #542 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 14 December 2009

My fiance and I wanted to get away for a few days on our very limited budget. We booked this hotel and only afterwards read other peoples reviews, to be honest I was then slightly scared about what we would face upon arrival, as many people had been quite down on the hotel.
Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the room was huge! The bed comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. It wasn't overly fancy, but it was simple and comfortable. Considering the weather outside was absolutely freezing the room was warm, but not hot, which was great for us.
Breakfast was simple yet satisfying, and the on demand Tea and Coffee was a bonus for two caffeine addicts!
We couldn't fault this hotel, we had a great time in Prague and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi_Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed with small stag group for 2 nights - room basic, mattress a little uncomfortable for longer stay but fine. Clean room, quiet location, staff friendly. Missed breakfast but available.
Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Easy to get to by Prague rail Metro system. Arrived with a 'back in 5 min' sign when arriving after 5pm. We had a quad room and it was spacious but there are issues of cleanliness. Under the beds on the floor a great build up of dust and other peoples rubbish. Be careful if you have allergies. There is no safe but the staff will gladly store any valuables in their 'safe room' which s merely a store room with food and drinks. The day staff are very helpful. Basic breakfast but ok. Lift basically runs on rubber bands - I would hate to be stuck in it ! Good location to the main sights and easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbonatedAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This is a budget hotel in a fantastic location - less than 5 mins walk from I.P. Pavlova metro and tram stop and only 10 minutes walk from the old town. My room was comfortable and had a fan and a TV that got CNN news, and a decent shower. Only complaint was breakfast - not good for a carnivore! There was only sliced bread for toasting (no nice Czech caraway rye bread) and Dairylea type cheese plus a bit of yoghurt, cornflakes and a few preserves and some fresh tomato and cucumber. Oh, and some cake. I'd stayed here before and they used to provide ham, cheese etc. - but no longer. Still OK value though overall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpykeGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Stayed in the hotel as a group of 10 for a stag do and the location was brilliant. The rooms are what you would expect and are surprisingly quite spacious. The staff were very helpful and all spoke English. It was disappointing that most of us had to share beds as they can describe a triple room as a double bed and just one single. Overall the stay in Prague was excellent and very doubtful that you would spend much time in the hotel anyway as there is so much to do and see. I would recommend the hotel for groups and couples but not families as there was quite a few pubs open 24/7 within a few hundred yards, which is very good if that’s what you are going for.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

My partner and I arrived late in the evening and were told there was complimentary tea & coffee in the breakfast room, nice touch we thought...Only on making said tea did we discover putrid milk on offer for the tea and told there was not a jot of milk in the hotel. The breakfast cereal was stored in large glass jars in a wooden dresser with no lid on and brought out each morning....urgh! Our room had live wires hanging from the wall were a mirror light had been!! The blind on our dorma window was hanging off the door frame at a 'jaunty' angle! We were provided with bath towels that were threadbare and the sides ripped and hanging off!! To top it off a shower head that would not stay upright.....What joy to have a shower each morning whilst holding the shower head yourself. The hotel is basic and is a very small step away from a youth hostel-the staff are all pretty young and wouldnt be out of place in a youth hostel. The hotel is in a decent location for Wenceslas Square and I'm afraid that is the only positive thing I can say. :o(

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty-March
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

If you want a no frills stay in Prague I reccommend this hotel!
I have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was very good for a budget hotel. It is situated near the city centre about a 5-10 minute walk from Wencesles square.The rooms are modern and clean and a continental breakfast is included. The staff were very helpful and all spoke English fluently. there isn't a bar in the hotel but there is a very good pub/club 50 yards down the street that is open until 3:30am. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skumhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 675 in Prague
769 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#20 of 675 in Prague
882 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#189 of 647 in Prague
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#519 of 647 in Prague
179 reviews
Praha 3
Jump in Hostel
Jump in Hostel
#170 of 364 in Prague
37 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 647 in Prague
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Legerova 1815/33, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £40 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical centre of Prague, just 900 meters from the heart of Prague: Wenceslas square. All the most important sights can be easily reached just walking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Prague
San Marco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing