We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Hotel Ilf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ilf
Ranked #352 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I came there early in the morning after a four-hour flight at night and was eager to have a bath and sleep. They had free rooms but made me wait for several hours with my bags in an arm-chair near the check-in desk just because the normal check-in time was 12:00 am. I offered to pay for early check-in but this did not work. The girl at the reception didn't even smile or anything and looked rather annoyed by me sitting there. After a couple of hours the other reception girl finally gave me the key. So, my advice is - if you need an early check-in - arrange it in advance, book for the previous night! Or choose another hotel!
The room was clean but extremely small.
What I loved was their restaurant - good food, and the waitor was friendly and helpful. Their breakfasts are a bit dull though.
The location is not bad, it's easy to get to the center by subway (the station is 5 minutes away), but it's rather gloomy in the evenings and there're no cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ilf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Clean Rooms, most rooms just have showers. Very close to Budjevoic metro stop (red line about 4-5 stops from central Prague and Wes Square). No pool, no exercise room nothing for kids to do, breakfast was basic but adequate. Hard Boiled eggs, bread with jelly, ham and cheese platter, coffee, tea, OJ. Mcdonalds, pizza place (across the street), Costa coffee is also across the street and chinese within walking distance 3-5 min (turn right out of hotel, right after "Albert" grocery store. There are doughnuts inside Marks and Spencer for 60 cents each and they are half price after 7 PM. Lidl (grocery store) is next to McDonalds (they accept Visa). There is also a "American-ish" restaurant down the street (past the Albert grocery store about one more block) called "Coolna" they have a rack of BBQ ribs for about 9 dollars (US) or 7.50 euros.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeege777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel was not the most memorable of the trip, meaning it was not great but it also wasn't memorable for the wrong reasons. It was pretty clean, the rooms were well presented and the reception staff were nice and efficient. Basically if you want somewhere passable with good value for money then this is your place. If you want luxury you might want to look elsewhere. Also although it was not the most central location to the Prague CBD it was only a 5 minute walk to "Budějovická" metro station (6 or so stops from starometska(CBD)).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It's simple: you can get better hotels for the same price nearer the historic centre, more well-equiped in a better region. As soon as you leave the metro station, you realize that you are in the middle of one "Call of Duty Modern Warfare" Scenarios with concrete-made buildings surrounding everything. Rooms are small with no kind small luxury whatsoever. Single beds are rouch, hard and sometimes uncomfortable.
Please, do yourself a favor: stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed there for nights and this was one of the worst services and lack of style I have experienced in my time, and I have travelled much around for nearly 30 years.

A very unfriendly staff at the reception(all 3 of them) on the edge of being hostile cause you are
a tourist and not a local that speaks czech

Room was small and filthy, with a very small and hard bed to lay on.
An old TV with mostly german and italian channels, no international ones like BBC or CNN f.eks.

Cleaning was bad and superficial, and you get only one towel a day.
And the Cleaner doesnt knock or ring on your door at 9 am when she stops by to do her job,
no..she just walk right in like it is her room. So, put up the "dont disturb" sign if you sleep long
or just dont want your privatelife disturbed without warning.

The bar is open almost whole day, but dont go there if you need a talk with the barman or girl.
Cause after you have ordered your drink, the barman leaves the bar and go sit in another room by purpose. Strange way of being barman, but maybe they just didnt like me..haha.

Breakfast is lowquality goods, but there is plenty of it with a wide variety of food, but you
wont miss it for a second cause most of the things tast awfull or of nothing, not even eggs can they boil. Superhardboiled eggs is what they have and socalled juice that is mostly water with a drop of orangeessens in it.

Location is far away from the center but the metro is just nearby so you can be in the center in 10 min.
Many office buildings in the area and some local shops and stores.

There is free wifi and 2 pc s you can use for free. and the lugageman is friendly.
But that is all I can say of positive things of this hotel.

Overall I suggest you find something else for the same money unless you dont care about a good service and fine quality of room etc.


I will conclude that this is easterneuropean style at its worst.

Good Luck

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Reception staff was not the nicest we have met but it was OK, they do what you ask to do but they didnt eager to help, maybe its something to do with Czech culture (I dont know).
Ilf Hotel is high building with normal sized (not too big and not small) rooms, they are clean,
the furniture is good. Bathroom is clean, but the towels are very old almost like a rag.
They dont put shampoo in the bathroom, only small tiny soap, which was OK for me.
Double bed is two separate beds put together which is bad.
Breakfast is average with sufficient choice which you can expect from regular 3 star hotel.
Had one dinner at summer cafe and it was good treat and service was great.
Hotel is situated a bit far from Prague center, but its very easy to get by metro, Budejovicka station is just across the street, and its not more than 15 mins to get to city center.
Overall its good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Me and my love have been forwarded to this hotel, because our previously booked 4-star had been full. The Ilf had been advertised by the forwarder as the "Highest standard" hotel within a 3-star rating. Well, here we go...

The first thing we noticed is a pharmacy symbol on the roof of the hotel. Was that an ex-hospital or clinic? The lobby was quite alright, we actually thought that the place wasn't bad at all. However strange things started happening right away. Parking was not recommended outside the main entrance because of burglary and theft, for which the hotel had no responsibility. The hotel had a secure parking with cameras behind the building, behind the fence and it's included in the room price! Great! But you have to drag yourself back around the building to the main entrance as you cannot enter the hotel from the parking lot...

There was only one of two elevators working with really poor ventilation and when you pressed the "Up" button, the elevator would stop on your floor even when going down. And vice verse.

The room was a come back to soviet times: old beds, the double bed we wanted had actually been an expanded sofa. Not a trash bin in site, an ash tray in non-smoking room. Opening a window has immediately filled the room with noise from the surrounding roads. The view from the room came out on a roof with some trash bags on it. There is no fridge in the room, no conditioner and NO VENTILATION!! (Photos are coming soon...)

The bed looked clean and washed, however I noticed two bite signs on my arm in the morning... The cherry on top of that was the bathroom that had been washed with... CHLORINE!! The stench was terrible, we have decided not to take a bath, because even water smelled chemicals! The bathroom had been tiled with white plates and looked like a public toilet in a soviet train station.

There was a Wi-Fi connection in the room, however we did not receive any password for it... The check out time is 10:00AM. I had to press on the receptionist to extend the time to 12:00PM, since that is what I have reserved in the previous hotel we got forwarded from. The receptionist had agreed to extend the check-out time, thanks to her for that.

We did not dare to look into the restaurant or bar, whatever they had in the hotel, BUT! We strongly recommend to dine in the Summer Terrace they have right near the main hotel entrance. The food is perfect, prices are extremely cheap and the size of meals is just amazingly huge!! We ordered garlic soup (very tasty, but way too salty), fried cheese with salad, pork steak with blue cheese and fries and a salmon salad. Tea, very well cooked hot wine and czech beer. To tell you the truth, we were very sorry we could not eat it all and had to leave some food on the table. We had breakfast at the same place and just loved every bite of it! The Summer Terrace is the only positive thing about this hotel, so book elsewhere, but eat here if you come across, it's really worth a try!!

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by roads, so I doubt you can get one without any noise from outside. Ask abo...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalistyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#577 of 648 in Prague
359 reviews
Praha 10
Fortuna City
Fortuna City
#583 of 648 in Prague
389 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#533 of 648 in Prague
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#290 of 648 in Prague
284 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel U Sladku
Hotel U Sladku
#361 of 648 in Prague
61 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#295 of 648 in Prague
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilf

Address: Budejovicka 743/15 | Michle, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £27 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilf 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilf Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing