We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms with great service in a marvellous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #99 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms with great service in a marvellous location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I plus our 15 year old son had a suite here for a weekend break. The room was terrific and the service outstanding. The hotel is close to the heart of Old Town but its courtyard setting ensured a quiet ambience. The spectacular split level room had a 14th century ceiling and a tasteful layout. The upstairs seating area had a kettle and sink, with the sofa converted over to a bed. The staff were excelkent and were able quickly to arrange outings and bookings. All in all a great experience

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hauxton2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    265
    78
    30
    14
See reviews for
164
487
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our 2nd stay in this lovely boutique hotel set in a peaceful courtyard in the heart of the old town. Location is simply fabulous with a passageway leading to old townsquare.
Staff and service is outstanding, they really try very hard to be helpful and polite at all opportunity. They put our luggage in our room, booked taxi's and restaurants. They ensured taxi's knew our destination & told us how much it would cost.
Small breakfast room had a plentiful spread of continental food, some hot food and fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and breads/pastries.
Lounge provides large screen TV/DVD and internet access with printer etc for general use.
Restaurant & bar are modern and provide quiet and quality escape from tourist places. Food was reasonably priced and good quality. Bar prices are reasonable.e with daily offers on beer.
We stayed in a royal suite which was large and spacious. With a very large open plan lounge, dining and small kitchenette with fridge/kettle. No microwave or cooking facilities. Minibar with some snacks. Could have done with a bottle opener, cutlery and a few mugs. Lounge had two sofa beds which need replaced with something more luxurious. TV & DVD player with a few English speaking news channels.
Bathroom has Jacuzzi bath with tap shower - no seperate shower unit. Also a 2nd seperate toilet.
Other features include large windows which keep you cool in heat and let in lots light. Old painted frescos on ceiling throughout suite. Safe capable of holding lots gadgets held our tablet, kindles, camera, mp3, money, jewellery. Might not fit larger laptop.
Lots of old antique furniture mixed with newer stuff gave it lovely character. We felt a few extra table/floor lamps were needed in lounge but made for a cosy atmosphere.
Overall very good hotel in the most convenient location for prague with great service and unique accommodation. Will be back!

Room Tip: All suites different but if you want more space ask for split level room or larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I travelled to Praque in October and we stayed in the Iron Gate Hotel, wow where do I start. The whole experience was nothing but magical. Firstly the Hotel is simply amazing & beautiful.. Our room was awesome on three levels, there was nothing more u could want for as it was all there provided for you. Just a short stroll into the Old Town Square everything was so close for us to walk to, the Hotel is in a perfect location. The staff were absolutely Wonderful, friendly & happy, they could not have done anymore for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they provided us with all the information we needed and any questions we asked they were only too happy to answer them for us. We had breakfast every morning and we also ate in the Restaurant a couple of times, the food & service provided to us was simply awesome & outstanding. We can not say enough good things about this Hotel, & we recommend treating yourself to a Magical experience when u visit the beautiful city of Praque.

Graham & Kerry Anderson

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

by far the best hotel room i've ever been in,royal suite split over two floors with the top floor bedroom having a large sunken jacuzzi in,1 minute from the main square.We went about this time of year when there was still snow on the ground which makes prague look stunning,i've seen the suites in this hotel go for £120 a night,you would have to pay £8-900 a night for this level of luxury in london,even the basic rooms are amazing but after a hard days sight seeing and shopping the jacuzzi was most welcome

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joandjohn2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was our first trip to Prague and from the minute we checked into the Iron Gate we receievd nothing but exceptional service, friendly faces, and a beautiful suite. I originally had booked the basic room and the wonderful staff upgraded us to a royal suite, after showing me 3 of the suites so I could choose which one we wanted stay in. Absolutely stunning building, every room in the hotel is different. Our room was huge, it felt more like an apartment. Great, udated bathrooms with large showers and jacozzi tubs. We were also greeted with a bottle of complimentary champagne. The staff is absolutely WONDERFUL and everyone spoke perfect English and they arranged all our activities and taxis, provided us with great sights to see, where to eat, and answered any questions we had. Amazing location right in the middle of Old Town Square, you can walk to everyhting. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. 110% recommend if traveling to the wonderful city of Prague!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is different and all have their own unique charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Iron Gate Hotel is a 14th Century 4 story building which surrounds a huge courtyard which contains several tables for outdoor dining. All the rooms are unique. The general architectural design resembles that of a medieval monastery. It is located on the quiet Mikalska Street which contains several fine bistros and is only a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square.

On January 2, 2012 my wife and I stayed in a junior suite on the third floor. It cost about $450 per night in U.S. dollars. It was an excellent choice, and we will return.

The place exuded medieval. The ceiling was constructed of ancient wooden beams. As you enter, the first room was a kitchen. The second room, quite large, is bisected in the center by two large armoirs. In front of the armoirs is a "living room" comprised of a pullout couch, stuffed chair, loveseat, and stand with TV. Behind the armoirs is the "bed room" consisting of a kings size bed. Both room have a few windows which open up allowing a view of the courtyard below. While throngs of college students create a riotous cacophony mere few block away, within the Iron Gate Hotel, the peace and quite transfer you back to an earlier century.

Please note that in December 2011 we stayed at the famous Savic Hotel, however all their windows face the street , and it was very noisy at night and early morning.

Room Tip: I would avoid the fourth floor. These room have low, sloping ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very central to old town of Prague, big comfortable picturesque rooms, quiet, everything worked, staff was attentive and friendly, great breakfasts. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#92 of 649 in Prague
611 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#148 of 649 in Prague
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,114 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#128 of 649 in Prague
464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Gate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Gate Hotel & Suites

Property: Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Address: Michalska 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#121 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#173 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iron Gate Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites offers 48 unique rooms and suites, each with a different lay out, view and decor. This beautiful landmark, set in a privacy of inner courtyard with unforgettable atmosphere, is certainly one of the hidden gems in Prague. Most rooms and suites are decorated with original 14th-18th century frescoes or wooden painted ceilings that were carefully renovated and nowadays are one of the hotel's unique features. Some Royal Suites are even with 2 bathrooms and jacuzzi. All rooms and suites are unique - you should come more than once to enjoy the breathtaking atmosphere of all. All rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. If coming for leisure or business - indulge yourself and let us treat you as royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iron Gate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Gate Hotel And Suites
Iron Gate Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing