We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #93 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in perfect location right in the center of Prague, walking distance to everything. Many restaurants and shopes right at the door step. Big rooms and very comfortable. The staff speaks perfect English, among other languages and was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xlodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just off of Old Square - close to all of the tourist stuff you have to see in Prague. Good breakfast buffet. Great way to load up before hitting the square. Rooms only have wired internet. Wireless is available in the lounge area. Room was comfortable. Had a couch in addition to the bed. Air conditioning worked well - good thing because it was 35C outside!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedWingsScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very comfortable , big rooms with best mattress in the world. We slept better than at home.
We even checked who made it! The rooms were the combination of old class and modern technology.
Also the best breakfast ever. This hotel was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSNY-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break. Staff was very friendly and helpful, location is superb.
Two suggestions for future guests:
- if you plan a night in bring your own DVDs - TV channels are quite limited.
- don't use the hotel taxis - they cost twice as much as any other taxi company. The staff can book taxis for you - just ask for "normal" ones.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a nice stay here. The staff and the location are the best parts of this hotel. Everyone was kind and friendly and it's a 100M walk to the main square. I had emailed the hotel the day before our arrival and they responded within 10 minutes. My husband and I had a room that needed some renovation (dated decor), but my mother's room was lovely. I think it just depends on what kind of room you get. It seemed like she had been upgraded, so if we stayed again, I'd definitely pay for the upgrade. My only main complaint is that our room didn't have a "real" shower, only a tub with a hand sprayer, but it wasn't that big of a deal. Hotel staff were also doing some major renovations, so it seems like they may be going in the right direction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel has a lot to offer but don't book it if you're thinking 5 Star. The staff is friendly and knowledgable and speak perfect Engilsh. There is a small restaurant that puts out a decent breakfast buffet, the same restaurant serves as a bar/restaurant for lunch and dinner but I didn't try it for either. No spa, if you want any spa services, you'll have to go elsewhere. WiFi, only in the lobby and outside courtyard. The rooms whlie clean - actually very clean - would have been updated in a true 5 Star hotel 20 years ago. If you want clean, basic accomodations that are very well located, this is the place for you. (PS: If you bring a car and valet park you'll need to give them 1 hours notice to get your car; (30 euro a day for parking) if you don't valet park I have no idea what you'll do with your car - parking is at an all time premium. If you can I'd suggest you don't take a car.) ps: Cabs have no fixed rates but can be reasonable, negotiate a price before you get in and know that almost universally the first price they suggest is exaggerated. - Also while I rated the rooms a poor, I base that on what I'd expect from a 5 Star property. There is nothing wrong with anything provided in the rooms, it's just not current and not 5 Star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevez641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We can't praise the Iron Gate Hotel enough. The staff were uniformly welcoming, efficient and helpful, the location is terrific (five minutes' walk from the Old Town Square), the rooms are spacious and spotless. The taxi company they use has a fixed rate for trips to the airport which is good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookish_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,519 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 649 in Prague
1,565 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#128 of 649 in Prague
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#42 of 649 in Prague
1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 649 in Prague
1,337 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#136 of 649 in Prague
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Gate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Gate Hotel & Suites

Address: Michalska 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#120 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#173 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £75 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iron Gate Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites offers 48 unique rooms and suites, each with a different lay out, view and decor. This beautiful landmark, set in a privacy of inner courtyard with unforgettable atmosphere, is certainly one of the hidden gems in Prague. Most rooms and suites are decorated with original 14th-18th century frescoes or wooden painted ceilings that were carefully renovated and nowadays are one of the hotel's unique features. Some Royal Suites are even with 2 bathrooms and jacuzzi. All rooms and suites are unique - you should come more than once to enjoy the breathtaking atmosphere of all. All rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. If coming for leisure or business - indulge yourself and let us treat you as royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Iron Gate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Gate Hotel And Suites
Iron Gate Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing