We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could stay every year...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #97 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay every year...”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our 3rd return stay at the Iron Gate in Prague. We are pleased to say it lived up to all our expectations and we will certainly return again.
This was our first visit since suites were refurbished in 2012 and rooms have been freshly decorated with new contemporary quality furniture and fixtures.
Our room was on the ground floor with an outlook into and access from the quaint internal courtyard. The room did not have the decorative historic ceiling fresco paintings but it did have a lovely vaulted ceiling. This meant our room was lovely and quiet despite being in the heart of the city.
There was a separate living room with sofa, TV, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, desk, drawers. The mini bar was well stocked and replenished daily. The bedroom was spacious with large comfortable bed with plentiful supply of pillows. A second large TV in the bedroom. A large solid wood wardrobe provided plenty of storage space and staff kindly provided additional coat hangers on request. The small safe was easy to use however it was not big enough to hold our tablet and cameras.
The bathroom was well appointed with a large walk in shower and useful lit mirror. Our previous rooms at Iron Gate had huge jacuzzi baths so we did miss that feature this time but the large shower was also good.

Our only slight criticism was the temperature of the room was a bit warm for our liking and it did make it a bit uncomfortable at night. We weren't able to open a window as we had two frosted glass patio doors. The heaters/temperature seemed to be controlled automatically so we would have preferred local control. This may not be an issue in summer when air conditioning is available.

The hotel and suite was spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff were very efficient. Staff at reception were very polite and helpful with any request.
The hotel lobby whilst small is very characterful and has some seating and access to a PC and printer for guests.

Breakfast was excellent with a good range of fruit, cereal, cooked food, breads and continental breakfast. We particularly enjoyed the wafer thin ham!

The location and character of this historic building are second to none - you really are two mins from old town square and you can stay in a building with real charm. There are countless bars, restaurants and shops around along with easy walking distance to most of the key historic sites.

Iron Gate is our favourite place to stay and we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet. All rooms are unique in this heritage building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    264
    75
    30
    13
See reviews for
160
477
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coatzacoalcos, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and me stayed at this nice hotel down town Praghe for 4 nights , we enjoyed staying so close to the main Plaza and most of the city attractions and with plenty of restaurants and shops just steps from our hotel .
the hotel is in good conditions mostly but details in door and Wood bruises and also the lobby is almost non existent , and summer garden was imposible to use do to the extreme cold weather of the season .
romos were nice but we were expecting a more traditional decor for a 14th century building.
so our room was quite comfortable and sound proof but definitly not a luxury 5 star acomodation .
we had included breakfast and the food was good but the breakfast room and the service were not any atractive and adecuated for a hotel that is suposed to be a 5 star place .
personel were mostly very helpfull with us and quite profesional .but never personal .

Room Tip: rooms are mostly confortable and well equiped ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We enjoyed the Iron Gate Hotel, the court yard in the center of the hotel was charming, as well as the breakfast room with a nice and complete breakfast. The location was great for walking and exploring the city and hotel personnel were helpful and experienced with information and ideas for exploring.
Rooms looked down on the inner court yard and were spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candace8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely hotel in old buliding, with all the charm that comes with this. Stayed 4 nights, and there was nothig to complain about. Reception staff was very helpful with everyting we asked about, from restaurants to shopping and transport, and managed to pint us in the right direction every time. Maybe not a 5-star hotel, but we could not have made a better choice regarding location; very close to the main square in old town Prague, and still in a quiet sidestreet.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back garden, nice and quiet most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Not by far a 5-star hotel compared to the international chains, but a charming, quaint hotel with personality. Everything - beds, bath, cleaning, noise level, service at the front desk - worked well, and the location is very central, within walking distance to most major sights. Stayed in a Junior Suite Royal, which was spacious to the degree where you wondered why there wasn't more furniture. The room had original, antique paintings in the ceiling, very nice. Great TV and WIFI. Breakfast was not impressive, it had all the usual buffet items of good hotels and will probably leave no one hungry, but the coffee was barely acceptable, and the general impression was that they were a bit sluggish in both service and food preparation (with a little more effort it would be a great breakfast buffet). Very good bread and bread selection, though. I would book the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohlnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel in excellent location near the Old Town Square inc Astronomical Clock. Rooms sizes can vary - after rejecting the 1st room offered, we chose a large room overlooking Michalska which was very comfortable. Staff were generally very attentive and helpful during our stay (floods in Prague). Only down (other than the floods) was the noise from a nearby bar on a Friday night that was a bit loud.

Room Tip: Seek a room in the middle or towards front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The best hotel in down town Prague. Cozy, clean, small hotel near the main streets and near Charles Bridge. Breakfast included, easy access from two different doors, delicious restaurants nearby. Good service!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pay1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#102 of 649 in Prague
608 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,504 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#110 of 649 in Prague
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,085 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,462 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#128 of 649 in Prague
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Gate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Gate Hotel & Suites

Property: Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Address: Michalska 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#121 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#173 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iron Gate Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites offers 48 unique rooms and suites, each with a different lay out, view and decor. This beautiful landmark, set in a privacy of inner courtyard with unforgettable atmosphere, is certainly one of the hidden gems in Prague. Most rooms and suites are decorated with original 14th-18th century frescoes or wooden painted ceilings that were carefully renovated and nowadays are one of the hotel's unique features. Some Royal Suites are even with 2 bathrooms and jacuzzi. All rooms and suites are unique - you should come more than once to enjoy the breathtaking atmosphere of all. All rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. If coming for leisure or business - indulge yourself and let us treat you as royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Iron Gate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Gate Hotel And Suites
Iron Gate Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing