We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fine.................”
Review of Opatov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Opatov Hotel
Ranked #538 of 649 Hotels in Prague
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“absolutely fine.................”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I arranged a short break for me and my husband to prague for our anniversary.
After i had booked it i went on trip advisor and was worried after reading the reviews.
When we arrived it was absolutely fine,clean and friendly.
You basically get what you pay for,and as long as it was clean and comfortable it was fine for us.
It is a beautiful place,probably better in summer when its much warmer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower191160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
2
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We have just returned from our 8 day trip to Prague. We stayed in Hotel Opatov. We booked our room about 1 month earlier via internet and payed with Amex card.Our room was on the 1st floor. Hotel is nice and very warm. The staff was very helpfull and always around.Room was very large with Tv, phone, fridge, two chairs and table, doublebad, big closet with mirror, WC and bathroom was separated. Whole room was very clean so you can eat from the floor..just joking...the cleaning ladis changed our towels, wc papir... every day..Hotel is about 2 min on foot from the metro station Opatov ( red line C ). With metro you have about 15 min to the centre of the town ( station Muzeum ). In hotel we have only breakfast ( our choice ) but it was nice with very different food. Also everything was very clean. in the same time when we stayed at the Hotel there was 3 excursion and 1 big group of older people from Russia, but we didn't hear or saw any noise or something like that. We have very very nice stay in the Opatov and if we are going again to the Prague we will stay in Opatov.
If you like clean, big, warm accomodation stay in Opatov. It isn't fancy but very nice and propriety. We have 31 year of life we been staying in loats of the hotel all around the Europe, but in the Opatov everything is OK.

  • Liked — big and clean room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank split_dalmacija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

we have just got back from a 2 night stay and i can seriously say that it was the worst Hotel i have ever stayed in it was discusting the staff were miserable took us 1 hour to check in and get our keys to the room. I would advise no ONE to stay there the breakfast was terrible the coffee tasted bad and looked like dirty dish water, Prague is gorgoeus and a lovely city just make sure you stay nearer the centre as Taxis are very expensive and after 12 at night the metro stops so you have to get a taxi home. Also everywhere has graffiti even the lifs was just awful there was electric wires hanging out all over the place never go there is my advice.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bundys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Incredible bad place. Old, dirty. Managers are trying to deceive you, fraud is normal there. Overcharge is simplest way to get a fraud there: we got charged euro 30 cash/day for additional bed (their price was euro 20). We decided to cancel it for second night and returned the third key next morning. Next day they were trying to charge us more for second night - and even didn't return our overpay.
Never again!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexMVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

First thing you should know about this hotel is that it is 99 % used for school excursions. Because of that hotel is very noisy, especially at night. Food is average, but it could be very crowdy for breakfast, with all school children, around you. Also, sometimes you must wait elevator for more than 10 minutes. Good thing about this hotel, is that it is near by metro station Opatov, and you have 9 stops to the center of Prague, which takes approximatelly 20 minutes. Rooms are OK, and clean. Conclusions is, that if you are teenager, you can meet lots of people of your age there, and have fun with them, but the rest of you, who are little older and more serious people, like i am, avoid this hotel.

  • Liked — good connection with center of Prague
  • Disliked — noisy, crowdy
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StefaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drachten
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed 10 dayes at the Opatov Hotel during the christmas season..

The Hotel's interior was very seventees ( green/yellow/orange),and could use some new paints and wallpaper. The lifts are new, and we never had to wait longer then a couplle of minutes at most .

The rooms were clean, we had good beds and showers, Every day our beds we're made the rooms we're hooverde and also we got clean towels every day. The heating of the rooms was, unlike some other comment I've read, very good,

We didn't have any trouble with the people at the reception. We arived late at night, 2:30 and the check-in only took 5 minutes, and we got our pasports right back. The staff was really nice (considdering they had to work with christmas.)

The breakfast bufet was up to szech standard, but really enjoyable. There was always fresh bread, scrambeled eggs, pasta, rice, yogurt. And in the bar you could have a drink for real nice prices.

The Metro station was only a short walk (100m) from the Hotel.
Prague is a city to fall in love with, and we have....
We've had a great stay st Opatov Hotel, and will surely stay here again when we travel to Prague.

  • Liked — good beds, clean rooms, nice breakfast
  • Disliked — wall paper and carpet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

The "hotel" was nothing more than a hostel.
We checked in on May 22nd & checked out on May 25th & the only reason we stayed the duration was because there was a group of 39 of us & we couldn't get in anywhere else.
Every single night or make that 04.30am to 05.30 am there was absolute bedlam with all of the kids coming back from nightclubbing & making as much noise as possible. Even though everyone at check in is asked to sign an agreement to respect the privacy of other hotel occupants & keep noise to a minimum.

We went down to complain every night to the reception staff but all they did was conveniently forget to speak English & shrug their shoulders, one even had the audacity to laugh. They spoke English OK when they were after your credit card details!!

The rooms were basic & even though this was a high rise tower block the windows opened fully (people with children beware!!)

On the morning of departure my wife had her purse stolen from the hotel with her English cash & credit cards in & when we reported it to the staff they were of absolute no help & forgot to speak English once again.

I will always love Prague & will go back again & again but will never stop at this hotel ever again

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnymanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 650 in Prague
731 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
1,975 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#117 of 649 in Prague
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#19 of 650 in Prague
851 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#226 of 649 in Prague
305 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#129 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opatov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opatov Hotel

Property: Opatov Hotel
Address: U chodovskeho hrbitova 2141/1 | Praha 4, Prague 149 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 11
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Opatov Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Opatov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opatov Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing