We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Residence Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Bologna
Ranked #337 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I wouldn't even recommend this hotel to people I don't like! It is beyond basic. The handle fell off the terrace door, the sheets were paper thin, and on the whole, the room was not the cleanest. We checked in on Sunday evening and our room wasn't serviced until the Wednesday, and even then, the bathroom hadn't been cleaned - fresh (fresh may be stretching it a bit!) towels had been left. On a positive note, the breakfast was acceptable, with a reasonable choice and the location is very good, only 5 minutes walk from Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    421
    336
    160
    172
See reviews for
274
409
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Perhaps the best bit about this hotel is its location. Located at a 5-minute walking distance from Charles Bridge, the place was dotted with a lot of good Czech restaurants and watering holes that stay alive till wee hours.
The moment you step in, you are welcomed by a strong whiff of after-smoke stink. This stench makes its presence felt in the lobby, the lift, the breakfast area in an overpowering manner. In fact, there’s hardly a place where you will miss it. Was quite disappointing.
The rooms are exceptionally spacious and comfortable with hints of antiquity in its décor. Also, one gets a splendid view of the city from the rooms. A tiny separate adjoining the bedroom acted as a boon for the third person in triple sharing.
But the most disappointing bit about this property was its service. The reception staff wasn’t comfortable in English language and it was a reason to worry for tourists like us. Also, they were either ill-informed or had other intentions while suggesting us commuting options. Like we were told not to take a cab from outside as they might charge more than the hotel cabs. On the contrary, a cab from the cab stand charged us half of what they asked us at the hotel. Disappointing!
If a room with view is your only lookout, opt for Residence Bologna. Otherwise, you can give it a pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JyotirajHazarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive, but the location and price made me choose it.
Here's the rundown:
Front Desk Staff: did not find them rude at all but only dealt with them upon check-in and check out.
Room: not at all like the photos. No blackout curtains. TV was old, and no Enlish language channels (I know I didn't visit Prague to watch TV, but I like to have one on as I get ready or go to sleep). The bed was fine.
Bathroom: quite large yet it had the smallest shower I'd ever seen. I'm not a large woman by any means, and still found it a bit cramped.
Maid service: I was there four days and my room was made up once. The towels were replaced.
However, I was a bit disgusted when I found my makeup bag in the bidet. I suppose she moved it from the sink when she cleaned the sink and out it aside and forgot to put it back. I can only hope that she cleaned the bidet first. Gross.
Breakfast: it never changed but that didn't bother me. Cereal, bread, scrambled eggs, jam, salami, ham, sausage, cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, apples, and watermelon. It was fine.
The bar/restaurant: only went on my last night. I had a great pasta dish and a few drinks. Staff and patrons were quite friendly and I had a nice time with them.

All in all it's a good value for the money. It's blatantly average in every way--- except location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJcapulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed visiting Prague but on this occasion the rooms wasnt the best but was ok to sleep in after many beers!!
Lady in the bar was very friendly but the chef well what can I say!! Very rude snatched money out of your hand and gave you change in euros then wouldnt accept it back this man got very big chip on his shoulders, apart from that hotel in a great location close to all main bits. Oh and a chance of towels every five days!!!!! Yes this is very clean of them!! But other than that what a great time we had!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexierobbie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed at the Residence Bologna last weekend. Having read some of the reviews I was expecting a rough reception but the gentleman on reception was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was a good size, but had one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. It was OK for two nights, any longer and I think I'd have needed physio! The temperature was up in the 30s and alas the aircon didn't work, but again it was OK for a couple of days. Breakfast - food was good, but the breakfast room is way too small, so very crowded and (I guess as a result) many of the other guests quite rude. if only they would use the restaurant across from reception as well, it would be so much better. Checking out was fine, but the poor girl on duty there was clearly overworked and had no cover from management so when there were three other families with complaints, all of whom were being quite rude to her, she was overwhelmed.

Woken up both mornings at 0630 by workmen who thought it was fun to shout and scream a lot, and drag bins across concrete. Not helpful.

in terms of the location - excellent. a stone's throw away from the river and the Charles Bridge in one direction, 5 minutes from the old square and the astronomical clock in the other.

So, overall my impressions were mixed, but I would probably go back there again if i needed somewhere in the city centre to stay. If anything the one thing that let it down was the behaviour some of the other guests, and thats not something the staff could really do anything about.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidElGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomas de Zamora, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great location, and that's it. Everything else is terrible, front desk lady is extremely rude, rooms are noisy at all times, Breakfast is the worst I had in my entire life (juice tastes like salt water) windows don't block the sun, so be ready to wake up at 6 even if you don't want to. Broken TV.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamianFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place is an absolute dump. The front desk 'lady' was extremely rude when I checked in to what can only be described as a hovel. The room looks nothing like any photos on the hotel's website. Ours was tiny with curtains hanging by only a couple of hooks. There were very few dishes in the cupboards and the ones that were there were dirty. Yuk! Our room faced the back of the hotel so we got the noise from the street below at all hours. The one piece of furniture in the living area was a futon covered in dubious looking stains. Needless to say we didn't use it at all. TV didn't work and while the stove may have, there were no cooking utensils in the room to use anyway.
Definitely give this one a miss if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#92 of 649 in Prague
1,968 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#208 of 649 in Prague
927 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#209 of 649 in Prague
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#220 of 649 in Prague
601 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 649 in Prague
334 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#271 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bologna

Property: Residence Bologna
Address: Konviktska 263/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Bologna is located in the heart of Prague's Old Town, just 400 meters from Charles Bridge. It offers newly renovated apartments with kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi. All apartments in the Residence Bologna feature parquet flooring and the marble bathrooms include a bidet. The Italian restaurant on site serves a wide range of meat and fish dishes. You can park your car in the garage, which is under video surveillance (for an additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Bologna Hotel
Residence Bologna Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing