We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Residence Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Bologna
Ranked #305 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend both 22. Stayed here 4 nights, stayed here because off cheap upricing and great location. Maids came everyday, wifi awesome password gave at reception, room size more than good enough for 2 of us. Only problem if it was colder the room would of been very cold due to poor windows. Our room was at front of hotel but wasn't very noisy at night. The staff was really nice and friendly no problems at all. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordycfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adela P, Director of Sales at Residence Bologna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Many thanks for your great review .
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Prague and Residence Bologna very soon. There is a lot happening in Prague , hope you will be making the most of it! Best regards

Eric
Executive manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I think that the owner of this hotel never reeds these reviews, he (she, they?) probably doesn't care at all.
We've been to Prague for a few times, and this is the worst hotel we've ever had here.
The only one positive thing -- the location.
The rest -- just check all the previous reviews about noise, smell, poor breakfast, broken windows, non-working phones and TVs, and personnel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adela P, Director of Sales at Residence Bologna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Residence Bologna. I am disappointed to read that the standard of the apartment did not match with your expectations. We operate a very busy establishment with 142 rooms and this can come at a price - Some of our pieces of furniture can suffer from being heavily used, this is why you will be pleased to hear that we have started a programme of refurbishment and will address all the comments mentioned in your review. Regarding the breakfast I am really surprised because we have good reviews about it and we have really international breakfast with home made cakes also warm frakfurt sausages,and eggs.We have also yoghurt, cereals, cucumbers, tomatoes so I am surprised that it doesn't expect your needs.Regarding the noise you must admit that when you have 142 rooms you never know who will be your neighbours so it is also the risk being situated right in the middle of the city comes with its advantages but also with its issues (very small ones!),
Regarding the broken windows we are surprised because every day our technical team is going through the rooms after the check-out, in that case you should have informed our reception to repair it or change your room.
I hope you will come back to Residence Bologna and see the changes for yourself. If you decide to do so, please contact me directly at eric@pinellihotels.com - Many thanks and very best wishes.


Sales Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location, and that's it. Everything else is terrible, front desk lady is extremely rude, rooms are noisy at all times, Breakfast is the worst I had in my entire life (juice tastes like salt water) windows don't block the sun, so be ready to wake up at 6 even if you don't want to. Broken TV.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolás B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Bologna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for kindly sharing your recent experience of the Residence Bologna. We value all feedback received and ensure that we use it to develop our standards and services offered to our valued guests.

As per our recent contact earlier in the week we do sincerely apologize for your stay falling short of your expectations leaving you not having completely enjoyed your time here in Prague.

As mentioned it deeply saddens me to read the experience that you had with us. Whilst we are a 3star budget accommodation provider we pride ourselves on the reputation that we have built through our high level of friendly, professional, welcoming service delivered by the team.

Regarding the breakfast ,we are very surprise because for a 3 stars hotel ,we havea complete breakfast with sweet and salted ( eggs, sausages ,home made cakes , tomatoes, yoghurts ,cereals, etc..) We do agree with you that the hotel requires some TLC in certain areas and this began with the paintwork in all rooms during the low season, now completed and in some floors carpet being installed from the 16th February 2014.
It would be great for you to return to us to see the difference in appearance since this has been complete.

I am very disappointed as the Manager of the hotel to receive such feedback. I certainly can assure you that this is not the norm which is the reason we are recommended by many different Travel Agents across Czech Republic and overseas and why so many of our guests return time after time. I understand though that on this occasion we did not manage to meet our high level of standard leaving you feeling very unsatisfied with your stay. to which we sincerely apologize for.

We would hate for this to prevent you from returning to us in the future and should you wish to do so please don't hesitate to contact me as I would love to personally organise your next visit and ensure that it is a comfortable one.

Warm regards
ERIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

malo, bad, feo, ugly, sucio , nasty.....
the cleaning ladies never cleaned enough good my room and the recepecionst
didnt know english either spanish.... that hotel was bad... the only good thing was that it was near the famous bridges and thats all...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rodrigo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Bologna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear guest, Please accept my apologies for replying to your review at such a late stage .
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings on your stay with us at the Residence Bologna. We value all feedback greatly as we believe this is the best way to continuously improve services and facilities offered to our guests.

It is disappointing to read that you found the certain areas of your room to fall short of expectations. Our Housekeeping department’s standards is one of our strong points at Residence Bologna, a reason why many guests return to stay with us, but the quality of your stay has raised some serious concerns. The issues you highlighted have been immediately addressed with our housekeeping department. At Residence Bologna we encourage all feedback from our guests as we strongly believe this is the only way to continue to achieve and maintain our high standards. Please accept my sincerest apologies in regards to this.

In regards to your comments about the team this is certainly surprising to hear as this is usually one of the many reasons so many people return to us and recommend us for the exceptional service they provide throughout and I am sorry to hear that you did not experience this. However,you cannot expect the staff to speak Spanish when you are travelling to Prague.Please note all our staff must speak English to work with us and our staff is multilingual, every receptionnist speaks at least two languages.

Once again I sincerely apologise that your most recent visit left such a negative impact. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel eric@pinellihotels.com

Regards

ERIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at Residence Bologna on 30 December 2013 at around 12h30 and were told to return at 14h00 to book in. When we returned at 13h30 it was to find the hotel lobby filled with hotel guests waiting for the magic hour of 14h00 to check in. As a result, it took us over 2 hours to check in; and the officious, unpleasant receptionist did not improve the situation. All this would have been avoided if the receptionist had checked all the guests in as they arrived during the day and asked them to return at 14h00 to collect their keys.

We got the keys to our room … to find it hadn’t been cleaned or made up. We tried to speak to the manager who wasn’t keen to engage with us; another staff member offered us a drink while the room was made up.

When we finally got to our room it was to find two beds pushed together with a double sheet covering the mattresses, no pillow cases on the very old and tired pillows, grey hard towels which last saw “white and fluffy” around the turn of the century, the toilet was not clean, there were no bedside tables or lights, and the room was filled with odd bits of furniture which seemed to have been left/stored there. The “duvets” appeared to be old blankets enclosed in an old, scrappy-looking casing and we were cold and uncomfortable during the night. Our overall impression was of a non-professional, two-bit operation.

The staff, particularly the receptionist, were generally unsmiling and surly. The room was not serviced while we were there. The breakfast was passable for boarding school fare but certainly not for the rate which we were paying. Having travelled throughout Europe staying in clean, decent hotels for the previous month this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in (double the price of the other hotels) with the least value and it left us with a poor impression of Prague hospitality.

The photographs on the website are completely misleading and false advertising. None of the rooms that we saw, and certainly our room bore no resemblance to any of the photographs in the website photogallery.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone; I don’t believe they deserve to be in business.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I want other world travelers to know, this hotel should be closed and not worth a dime of your money. Stayed 3 nights NEVER took a lukewarm shower, slept in a bed that was a box spring, Wifi is terrible, charged 75 euro for parking in a tight cellar, breakfast was gross, The list is endless! Please avoid! Paid $1200 dollars to basically have a leaky roof over my head! Take the bad reviews to this hotel seriously!! You been warned!

Thank you,

Montoya Family

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Amazing price for the location. Is not necessarily the newest or fanciest, but the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was to die for! Meaning it was a simple buffet, consisting of your staples of coffee or tea, fresh bread and cakes, and juice, etc.. However it also included farm fresh tomatoes, Persian cucumbers, and the best "bloom sweet" grapefruit (kinkoji) I've ever had. Yes you feel the love. If you're looking for a budget hotel in an interesting building, in the historical district with cobblestone streets, in the center of the action, that wears it's personality like a badge of honor, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metropolitan Old Town hotel
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#214 of 646 in Prague
993 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#221 of 646 in Prague
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#86 of 646 in Prague
2,105 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Residence La Fenice
Residence La Fenice
#343 of 646 in Prague
341 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#199 of 646 in Prague
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bologna

Address: Konviktska 263/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Bologna is located in the heart of Prague's Old Town, just 400 meters from Charles Bridge. It offers newly renovated apartments with kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi. All apartments in the Residence Bologna feature parquet flooring and the marble bathrooms include a bidet. The Italian restaurant on site serves a wide range of meat and fish dishes. You can park your car in the garage, which is under video surveillance (for an additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Bologna Hotel
Residence Bologna Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing