We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice”
Review of Gallery Hotel SIS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallery Hotel SIS
Ranked #455 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We traveller with few friends. The location wasn't near city centre, but you can easily get there with public transport. Next to the hotel there is also bar and restaurant. The breakfast was good, the stuff nice and English speaking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ewelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

good value for money or if you don´t want to travel far when you´re visitng pub "Zlý časy"
Good location, pretty good breakfast and staff were OK.
our room was small but with everything what you need to sleep for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jiri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Dominick K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

It is een Nice play to stay. Some personal is very social and Nice...
ITS close to the tram. You can go with THE tram to THE centre
Breakfast is good and THE room is clean and perfect for tourist..
Conclusion is very good hotel for THE price i paid!!
You gonna enjoy

Friendly regards

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The moment we closed the room door it's handle came off. Looked strange, but we didn't know what will come later: there was no hot water in the room for two days! What came out of the water tap was barely warm, I wouldn't even shower with such water during the summer, but it was late September! Receptionists (not very affable) were very surprised (didn't look genuine) and didn't even come up to check it by themselves, but said they emailed the manager. Beside the door handles coming off (which most of them were), there was no safe in the room.

After two days of complaints they moved us to another similar room, this time with hot water and a safe. But guess what? The next evening hot water disappeared. This time it didn't become barely warm, it was plain cold. After a complaint it became hot again.

I don't understand how it is acceptable for a hotel to not provide hot water and basically ignore the requests to fix it immediately.

On the good side, the breakfasts were quite good, though the same every day, and staff speaks Russian—from what I understood the hotel is mostly used by Russian-speaking tourists. I think that's all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, 9-11 August with girlfriend. We decided for this hotel as it was cheap for us and location was acceptable - we do not mind traveling few minutes by tram or bus to hotel. To get to this hotel from city center or from railway stations you need to use tram 18 or 11 - 11 goes way faster, you can hop in it near Wenceslaw square/national musem.

Neighbourhood of hotel are just some random houeses in rather poor district. Not very nice to go for a walk in the night.

We thought that it will be just another random cheap hotel we will stay but unfortunately we were dissapointed with it.

1. In the beginning we were happy to be able to check-in earlier (at 11 A.M.) than we were officially allowed (2 P.M.)

2. Room was very basic with dusty brouchers about facilities inside hotel.

3. Electric spots were very hard to access, one of them was not working.

4. Old kinescopic tv which was not working - no signal from the TV SAT - problem was mentioned at the reception but no actions had been made.

5. Small fridge was broken - it was makeing large noises like old big wall clocks - it was really disturbing - again problem was mentioned at the reception and again no actions had been made - to be able to sleep I had to plug it out.

6. Shower was broken - it was leaking everywhere around you while you were under it.

7. Toileteres - 1 bar of soap smaller than Merci chocolate bar and 2 little sacks of shampoo - 2x 2ml - good luck cleaning your hair with it. No shower gel attached.

8. Room service = empty the trash bin, nothing else - no cleaning, no changing towels, no bed makeing etc.

9. Breakfast in a tiny room and for breakfast all you could it was 3 types of bread, 2 types of ham, 2/3 types of cheese, boiled egg and cereals - you could get stuffed with it but it wasnt meal you would enjoy.

As for so called 4 star hotel - service were at the level of 2 star hotel. Also in my opinion staff was focused on ripping you off the money - as I looked at the pricelist of for example massages average price was above 1100 kc, also everywhere there were glass items for sale from 2000kc till 8900kc (most expansive I have noticed there).

I was quite surprised noticing that whole staff were Russians. Some people may mind it, we howere didn't.

Overall this is not a 4 star hotel, also do not expect any service or understanding. Better just pay few € more and look for better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kukus112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice hotel, breakfast was good. No beans coffee :-( but ok.
Airconditioned rooms, staff helps you organize tours and is friendly, even if you get back at 11 p.m. ;-) good working w-lan in the room and a very nice hotel-lounge where you can rest in very comfortable chairs. At the lounge one can use a computer with internet for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#460 of 646 in Prague
55 reviews
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#279 of 646 in Prague
398 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Vladar
Hotel Vladar
#336 of 646 in Prague
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#406 of 646 in Prague
271 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#318 of 646 in Prague
333 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#376 of 646 in Prague
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel SIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel SIS

Address: Rostislavova 253/17, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £15 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallery Hotel SIS 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gallery hotel SIS is located near the center of Prague close to all major sightseeing. Hotel building is a monument of architecture erected in the XIX century. In the Gallery hotel SIS, we have a unique Glass Art Gallery offering an exhibition and sale of many fine and beautiful works of art by Czech masters of Glassand Crystal. Enjoy our rich program of Health & Spa services while staying in Gallery Hotel SIS.Location of hotel is perfect for its closeness to the major cultural and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gallery Hotel SIS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing