We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Ranked #378 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I found this hotel absolutely terrible. It most certainly is not a 4star hotel.

Customer service
On arrival the receptionist was impolite and had a very cold tone in which she did not appear friendly at all. On various occasions through out the day my fiancé and I felt non of our requests were met (please note this was because the receptionist wasn't helpful to begin with hence we needed to ask for information) however even following this she answered our question but no other suggestions or advise was given - which is a shame seeing as you're at first point to your customers and should be ready for all typical touristy questions.

Room:
The room is very basic. The double bed room is not a double bed in fact its two single beds put together. Please note if you require extra pillows there is no room service you are asked to collect this from reception.

Location:
Its the Peckham of London, very noisy, a number a police sirens woke us up at night.

Please do not be fooled by their website it is very misleading and not worth the money.

Our initial stay was for 3 nights however by the end of the first night we made a decision to move to another hotel. Our new hotel assisted us voluntarily, handed us full information about Prague greeted us with a smile and provided us with a top service. They also helped and guided us around the city and advised us with the best restaurants too.

The iron gate hotel is where we stayed and is highly recommend!!!!

All in all Prague is a beautiful city, it was a shame we lost the first night with such a poor hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank OnxNimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you want to spend your whole time in Prague seeing the main tourist sights of Prague 1, Castle, Old Town etc. the location of this hotel may not be for you. However, if, like us, you want to spend some time exploring the proper "lived in" areas of Zizkov, Vinohrady and Holesovice and only be 10-15 mins into the centre this is a pretty perfect base (tram 11 goes straight to Holesovice in 10 mins, avoiding the city centre). The bars, restaurants and beer gardens (there's one directly opposite) of the area charge non-touristy prices for very decent food and beer. The hotel itself is excellent value for money. It doesn't offer 4 star luxury but is clean and comfortable and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the air conditioning worked well. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel - far from a glorious view but nice and peaceful, didn't hear a thing overnight. Breakfast did the job - again if you expect a full western European breakfast for the price you're probably going to be disappointed, but this was a good continental spread, with hot options too (hot dog sausages, egg etc). Our major criticism would be that the safe in our room didn't work and they were unable to repair it during our stay - meaning we had to use the safe at reception (which apparently is a common problem). There is a fridge in the room, perfect for keeping your supplies from the Tesco across the road nice and cool! In summary, if you want a great value for money hotel and see some of the real Prague this a great base. If you only want to spend time in Prague 1 the trip in and out of town might mean there are better options, but the trip is easy enough.

Room Tip: Courtyard view are probably much more peaceful, if you don't mind a view of the service yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is great, very close to two tram stations (which is the main mean of transportation) and a bus station. There's a supermarket right across the street. It is very easy to reach the city center.

Having the trum nearby give you noise at night which is not comfortable.

Breakfast with the basic needs, like we are at home and no in a hotel!

The room has some light smoke smell, probably the cleaning lady smoke´s or someone smoke near the room clothes.

The food from the restaurant is excellent.

Staff is normal and helped on what we asked!(almost nothing asked...)

Car parking was full but the hotel gave a good option nearby.

For a travel, where you use the hotel to sleep and eat it´s ok considereing the price!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not turned to the trum roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lordrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very clean, but very old. Mattresses, towels, TVs are from previous century. Rooms are small and no kettle in the room. Very few channels on TV. Slow, but free wifi. Close to all public transport. Breakfast - eatable.

Restaurant "U Kozla" in 5 minutes walk - excellent Czech food (original local restaurant with no tourists) and excellent beer. Restaurant's prices are local, not for tourists so it's cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Алексей Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Well I dont know why everyone is so exited about this hotel, from 4 star hotel I expect so much more. First pain in the a ss was get there by the car, with location directly at very big crossroad and narrow streats its prety impossible to stop by the car. So we have to stop few streets away and the go ask where to go, Then our bigger car cant fit into the old garage. Room was small and very poorly equipped , tv table was broken in half holding by mirracle. Breakfast was good but we grab a juice which was near all drinks at breakfast and then we get fined for drinking it ( because it was just for sale??? please at least write it down next time!! ) ... also its pretty noisy outside because the crossroad. So if you are modest traveler without the car or with small car you can enjoy stay. But otherwise go for something else...

Room Tip: Try to get room with no view to the street if you want sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanislavholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The location is great, very close to two tram stations (which is the main mean of transportation) and a bus station. There's a supermarket right across the street which also has some machines if you ever need to print stuff (like a plane ticket) that works with USB as well.
Although the hotel is located on a rather busy intersection it was very quiet with the windows closed. (and it's a great urban view if your room faces the street)

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent -continental- (coffee sucked though) They don't have many tables though, so you might end up waiting or having to sit with a bunch of strangers. We also ordered some pork meat dishes for one of our dinners, which were incredible.

Rooms were spacious and clean, nothing fancy. Bathroom is fine. I don't think there were any English channels on TV and Wi-FI was very slow. I think it was a great choice though, I recommend it for those who just want a cheap decent place to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogdan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Exactly what we were after for our city break for a couple of nights to prague. Good rooms, good veiw, great location!!!!! 10 minutes on the bus to city centre! good value for money, good brekkie, good restuarants and bars on the same road!

Loved it!

Oh and the hotel staff were VERY helpful!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkgirlie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#401 of 648 in Prague
52 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#360 of 648 in Prague
196 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#286 of 648 in Prague
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#356 of 648 in Prague
142 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#538 of 648 in Prague
186 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Abito
Hotel Abito
#483 of 648 in Prague
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag

Address: Konevova 114, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vítkov is situated in a historical and peaceful area of Prague - Žižkov, only 12 minutes by public transport from the city centre. The hotel building dates back to the 1930s and combines architectural elements from the Bauhaus, Modernism and Art Deco era. Completely renovated in 2007, the hotel has 96 guest rooms featuring modern interior design, a spacious lobby and an all-day restaurant serving Czech specialties and a fine selection of Czech draught beer. Our guests have access to complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel. The reception is operated 24 hours and our multilingual hotel staff is well-trained and customer orientated, able to assist with any guest enquiries including recommendations on restaurants, cultural events as well as booking concert and theatre tickets, day-trips or sightseeing tours. An airport or central station pick-up service can also be arranged. The hotel's garage is available at a daily rate of €14, however as parking space is limited availability cannot always be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitkov Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing