We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Ranked #376 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 28 July 2014

LOCATION: Half an hour on taxi from airport. Tram and bus stops both right outside the hotel. Unfortunately, during our stay, tram 9 which was supposedly the tram straight to the city centre was under construction. Nonetheless, bus 119 can take you to the old square in 15-20 mins. There is Tesco express in front of the hotel. A few off license open till late at night, a pizzeria and 1-2 Vietnamese/Chinese restaurants. It wasn't too dodgy walking at night, but there was an eerily feel to it.
ROOM: We booked a double twin bed room. Room was spacious enough for 2 people to move around, at the same time. Haha.. Comfortable bed with duvet. Sheets changed daily. Overhead light and sidetable for each bed. Spacious wardrobe with a small fridge and safe both inside it, couple of hangers. Table with a small telly (1 English channel) and a stool. 1 whole body mirror. AC wasn't working so it was warm during the day (when we visited in June average day temperature was 19), but was cool enough during the night. There were 2 sets of windows, I'm tempted to say double glazed but I'm sure that's not the right term to describe it. Basically, there was an inner set and an outer set of windows. Something like that. So the noise level even though our room was on the side of the streets was non-existent. Be careful pulling in the curtains as the outermost ones are purely decorative, so when I did pull them in they fell off because they were attached only with velcro. Toilet was separate from the shower which is preferred, I believe. Shower area is basic, clean. Towels changed everyday. Shower gel and soap provided. Hair dryer's old fashioned so took some time doing my mane.
HOTEL AND STAFF: Receptionist Sandra was exceptionally friendly. She was very welcoming. Had a lovely smile and was well conversed in English. They require some details during check-in, passport related. No other extra charge ie: city tax, etc. They have a luggage area for guest checking-in or out early or late respectively. But the room isn't locked, no tag system whatsoever, so leave luggage at your own risk. The reception area is spacious with enough sofa and they have a cash machine. Breakfast consisted of white/brown bread slices, some sweet pastry (tasted like banana and almond cake slices), butter, jam, hard boiled egg, cornflakes, muesli, porridge, apples, orange, coffee, tea, apple/orange juice, salad made of green leaves, cucumber, tomatoes. Sounds a lot but it wasn't really ;p There is WiFi all throughout the hotel.


On a budget, this hotel basic. Otherwise, if there's room to splurge a little then I'm sure there are other better hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was due to check into my hotel on Thurs 19th June 2014. Unfortunately an
unforeseen circumstance happened and this was not possible.

I came to Prague to have surgery which i explained this to the reception
on 16th June 2014. I was only supposed to stay in the clinic until the
19th June and check into the hotel for the remainder of my stay. But after
surgery there was complications and on 18th another operation had to be
completed. Because of this i have to stay in the clinic to make sure im in
good health to leave and be on my own.

Hotel refused and pretty much laughed at me when i mentioned refund for the nights i was not staying in the hotel.

The Room was filthy and was never cleaned in the whole week i stayed there.. Pics are so deceiving. Promise there is a lot better in Prague for the same money and near a tram stop.

Avoid at all cost!!

ps. wifi is terrible all over the hotel i could not skype home!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SuperstarGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavel S, Manažer at Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Superstar,

please note you have made your reservation through travel agency and you have paid to them. In this case you have to make cancellations through this agency. Also you have to ask for refund to your agent. Hotel invoice total amount after the guest check out.

Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spatial & clean room, with all necessary amenities.
Nice window view.
20 minutes away from the city centre (either by tram or bus)
Interesting breakfast buffet with traditionally "hints" of Czech cuisine.
Problems with wi-fi connection. Servers are not capable of handling excess internet-traffic when hotel is fully booked.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: If you ask for a double bed you will get a double size with 2 single mattresses! Ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenka S, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dear Tony M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice feedback about your stay in Hotel Vitkov. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you being our guest and we are looking forward to being your hotel of choice when visiting Prague again.

Best regards,

Lenka S.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We love this hotel- evenso it is a bit far from the center but thats why you have a wonderfull every evening we had this wonderfull sunsett at 9 pm
and the great view overlooing the vitkov park. .
And to go to the center of the town you take bus 207 every 5-7 min and you are at the center.
The rooms are clean - all new bathrooms - good tv and upon request we got a kettle. 'the staff is so friendly special Sonja at the reception desk.
My next time i sure will stay her again. Thank Vitkov

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Golan6791901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent there one week and we are happy about this hotel. Close to the city centre (15 min by tram, tram stop at the hotel) and quite cheap really. Breakfast was good. The staff also. Room was clean and generally ok. Was located on the 5th floor and from the street side, so was a bit noisy at night from the street, but we got used to quite fast, especially that we were going back very late every night and when you are tired you sleep better.
When you looking for cheap hotel, not far from the city centre we recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenka S, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dear justpatti,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice feedback about your stay in Hotel Vitkov. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you being our guest and we are looking forward to being your hotel of choice when visiting Prague again.

Best regards,

Lenka S.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vitkov from 15th-19th June. The room was modern, clean and air conditioned and was exactly what we needed for our trip to Prague. The breakfast was a little bit of a let-down as there wasn't a great deal of choice, so although we had paid for bed and breakfast, we only ate breakfast twice out of the four mornings. The standard of service from reception staff varied depending on who was working, but the staff generally seemed pleasant and helpful. Overall, Hotel Vitkov was really good value for money and was just what we were looking for. Would stay here again if we revisited Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Accommodation remains important in creating an experience of place, and in this regard, staying in Vitkov Hotel this spring certainly contributed plenty in making my trip to Prague a happy memory. The staff were friendly and forthcoming in all my neediness of things. Rooms cozy, clean and came with an eager lady holding a vacuum cleaner, hopefully knocking on the door every day. The location may not be ideal for some, but I really enjoyed walking back from the city at night, and it really became very easy as soon as I got the hang of the subway system. For those, who know me, I will give this place my personal quality badge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor offer the best view, naturally :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papadupolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenka S, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice feedback about your stay in Hotel Vitkov. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you being our guest and we are looking forward to being your hotel of choice when visiting Prague again.

Best regards,

Lenka S.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#405 of 647 in Prague
51 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#550 of 647 in Prague
184 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#365 of 647 in Prague
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Ostruvek
Hotel Ostruvek
#383 of 647 in Prague
442 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#297 of 647 in Prague
275 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#570 of 647 in Prague
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag

Address: Konevova 1743/114, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £25 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vítkov is situated in a historical and peaceful area of Prague - Žižkov, only 12 minutes by public transport from the city centre. The hotel building dates back to the 1930s and combines architectural elements from the Bauhaus, Modernism and Art Deco era. Completely renovated in 2007, the hotel has 96 guest rooms featuring modern interior design, a spacious lobby and an all-day restaurant serving Czech specialties and a fine selection of Czech draught beer. Our guests have access to complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel. The reception is operated 24 hours and our multilingual hotel staff is well-trained and customer orientated, able to assist with any guest enquiries including recommendations on restaurants, cultural events as well as booking concert and theatre tickets, day-trips or sightseeing tours. An airport or central station pick-up service can also be arranged. The hotel's garage is available at a daily rate of €14, however as parking space is limited availability cannot always be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitkov Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing