We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are most important”
Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #141 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is ideally situated just 2 minutes from the old square and the famous clock. VERY nice interior really good spacious rooms, we were 3 sharing a family room. The most important part was the really friendly reception manager ADAM who was a support in non hotel matters like glasses left in hire car and a credit card being swallowed by bank machine, you feel really vulnerable without the language skills he was fantastic at sorting out the details. So top marks to the hotel for such capable staff not what we found elsewhere in prague. The only minor criticism was the breakfast area needs improvement, the breakfast was great just the setting. Will use this hotel again

Room Tip: Try to book early share if you can loads of space all areas quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Mrs. Carol,
thank you once again for your review.
It is very nice to know that the hotel´s staff make the best for our guests.
With best regards Nina Machatová.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the heart of Old City. It is in the pedeatrian zone, so you cannot drive there (even if the gps says so!). We stayed in a suite on the top floor (7th floor, room 4). It has one large master bedroom (some space is not usable bc of the roof slant), and one room with 2 twin beds. Also has an updated bathroom with a stand up shower. The shower stall is quite crowded. The beds were a little hard, but fairly normal for a european hotel. Linens were clean, bathroom was clean. Great free breakfast. No wifi- just wired. It is located above a cafe and crystal shop. There is a small elevator, and the staff seemed nice. You cannot beat the location. We walked all around old city and mala strana, no problem. Parking was the only downfall- we had to park at the four seasons near the charles bridge for 59euro for 24 hrs.

Thank elle183
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for me and all the staff hotel Palác U Kočků for your positive review. With best regards Nina Machatová.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We paid in advance extra for double superior room to get some extra space but unfortunately we got a room that we could hardly move about without crashing our head to the ceiling! On arrival we were not able to take a shower because of the leaking floor which had to get dry for two hours! On third day of our stay we came to a breakfast room (8:30 am) with three drank people, a man and two women who thought they were still in a bar or disca! Non of service personal tried to get these people quite! The only good thing about this hotel is the location!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank September17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice old building. Some of the period elements are still there. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right between the old city square and Charles bridge. We had a 'family room on the top floor. Which means more space, but also a bit more privacy. The rooms were simple, but clean. Absolutely no complaints about the beds either. Before travelling we requested a taxi at the hotel from the airport to the hotel. We got confirmation from the hotel within minutes. The taxi was there at on arrival and we were within 30 minutes in the hotel. Breakfast is very good. I am sure it helps to have a bakery within the buidling! The hotel is also quite close to several metro stations.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Jiska (street) side are less noisy than the ones on the Karlova (street) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nina Machatová.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

i just got back from prague. hotel is in the center. it is good hotel, but the only thing that it is BAD is that they dont have air conditioner and in prague it is really hot in summer. i woke up every morning in sweat. so dont go in this hotel at summer time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorazgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Fully agree with mamace08 comments, some previous comments about the noise due to the location not relevant (no more noise at 11 pm), and also comments on lack of air conditioning not relevant (2 fans are working ok). Very recommended the bakery shop round the corner. Really a very good experience overall

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

After reading all the negative reviews, we were more than pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. We had a large, clean, recently remodeled family room with a fabulous 270 degree view of the Prague skyline. The beds were very comfortable, with nice clean linens. The breakfast was very good (better selection when we ate earlier than if we showed up at the last minute, but still good late, too). And, of course, the location was perfect, just two minutes walk to the Old Town Square, and within 20 minutes walk to all the sights we wanted to visit. The staff were all nice and helpful, too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalGirlInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#71 of 646 in Prague
1,619 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 646 in Prague
762 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Staré Město (Old Town)
Central Hotel Prague
Central Hotel Prague
#185 of 646 in Prague
789 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 646 in Prague
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £42 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing