We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel that is not a hotel”
Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #129 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a hotel that is not a hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Boy, where do i begin? The so-called "hotel" (U Kocku) is not a hotel but a shop that rents rooms. The "hotel" doesn't own the building. They rent a spot in the front entrance that is shared with a restaurant/bar. The space is also rented to a bakery and a shop that sells Czech crystals. The "rooms" are on the second floor. Access to the second floor is open, there's no elevator -so be ready to pull your luggage up the stairs. With the rooms, there are also offices. Basic security measures are non existent. For example, the "hotel" provides one and only ine key per room, which is kept in the front when you are not in the room. Asking for and getting a key is as easy as 1-2-3. Also, there is a luggage room, but it you are provided anything to show that the luggage is yours. Basically, the person at the front desk opens the door and you collect the luggage. I could go on, but... In sum, i don't recommend the "hotel". There are much better places to stay, well located as this one is with better...everything.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Purple I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    204
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
117
201
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is ideally situated just 2 minutes from the old square and the famous clock. VERY nice interior really good spacious rooms, we were 3 sharing a family room. The most important part was the really friendly reception manager ADAM who was a support in non hotel matters like glasses left in hire car and a credit card being swallowed by bank machine, you feel really vulnerable without the language skills he was fantastic at sorting out the details. So top marks to the hotel for such capable staff not what we found elsewhere in prague. The only minor criticism was the breakfast area needs improvement, the breakfast was great just the setting. Will use this hotel again

Room Tip: Try to book early share if you can loads of space all areas quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Carol,
thank you once again for your review.
It is very nice to know that the hotel´s staff make the best for our guests.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the heart of Old City. It is in the pedeatrian zone, so you cannot drive there (even if the gps says so!). We stayed in a suite on the top floor (7th floor, room 4). It has one large master bedroom (some space is not usable bc of the roof slant), and one room with 2 twin beds. Also has an updated bathroom with a stand up shower. The shower stall is quite crowded. The beds were a little hard, but fairly normal for a european hotel. Linens were clean, bathroom was clean. Great free breakfast. No wifi- just wired. It is located above a cafe and crystal shop. There is a small elevator, and the staff seemed nice. You cannot beat the location. We walked all around old city and mala strana, no problem. Parking was the only downfall- we had to park at the four seasons near the charles bridge for 59euro for 24 hrs.

Helpful?
Thank elle183
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for me and all the staff hotel Palác U Kočků for your positive review. With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We paid in advance extra for double superior room to get some extra space but unfortunately we got a room that we could hardly move about without crashing our head to the ceiling! On arrival we were not able to take a shower because of the leaking floor which had to get dry for two hours! On third day of our stay we came to a breakfast room (8:30 am) with three drank people, a man and two women who thought they were still in a bar or disca! Non of service personal tried to get these people quite! The only good thing about this hotel is the location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank September17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice old building. Some of the period elements are still there. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right between the old city square and Charles bridge. We had a 'family room on the top floor. Which means more space, but also a bit more privacy. The rooms were simple, but clean. Absolutely no complaints about the beds either. Before travelling we requested a taxi at the hotel from the airport to the hotel. We got confirmation from the hotel within minutes. The taxi was there at on arrival and we were within 30 minutes in the hotel. Breakfast is very good. I am sure it helps to have a bakery within the buidling! The hotel is also quite close to several metro stations.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Jiska (street) side are less noisy than the ones on the Karlova (street) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

i just got back from prague. hotel is in the center. it is good hotel, but the only thing that it is BAD is that they dont have air conditioner and in prague it is really hot in summer. i woke up every morning in sweat. so dont go in this hotel at summer time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorazgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Fully agree with mamace08 comments, some previous comments about the noise due to the location not relevant (no more noise at 11 pm), and also comments on lack of air conditioning not relevant (2 fans are working ok). Very recommended the bakery shop round the corner. Really a very good experience overall

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#126 of 649 in Prague
613 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,516 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#96 of 649 in Prague
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#114 of 649 in Prague
351 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#153 of 649 in Prague
998 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#190 of 649 in Prague
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Property: Palac U Kocku
Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing