We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average everything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #126 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, average everything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'm not quite sure what all the fuss is with this hotel. Yes, the location is great, slap bang in the centre of town. But other than that... pretty average, with some flaws too. The central location meant there was a lot of street noise (singing at 4am outside, that kind of thing!) and given there was no air-con and Prague is warm in summer, meant the windows needed to be open an night, so we were woken up a few times. The rooms are spacious and clean, but not especially comfortable; the bathroom was definitely on the small side. The breakfast was average, so much so we skipped it on the second morning in favour of a local cafe. The hotel doesn't have any shared space as such, and the bottom two floors are taken over by one giant Czech crystal emporium. Wifi in the rooms is now excellent (in contrast to previous reviews - this has clearly been sorted out). It's a pretty good deal, but I think unless location is critical to you I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkeladvokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Winkeladvokat,
thank you for your interest in our hotel and your review. We are sorry the street noise dirsturbed you at nights, but that’s something truly beyond our powers, because as in any other city in the world, the nightlife focuses on the city centre mostly. We can also imagine it might be difficult at times, especially when the high temperatures strike, to stay in the building without the A/C.
The problem however is the building being more than six hundred years old therefore protected by the monuments comitee of Prague, which makes it impossible to make such major adjustmens as instaling the AC, since it needs major building adjustments as well. This issue is being compensated by all the rooms being provided a fan.
We are sorry to hear you found the breakfast unsatisfying. The staff is always trying to provide various meals and drinks and doing their best, which is also regularly checked. Of course there might come up when entering the breafkast just before ten o’clock, when it finishes.
Also we are glad to hear you were satisfied with the newly installed wi-fi connection, as we care about the reviews and we are always trying to improve and learn from feedback of the guests.
Hopefully you would give the hotel another chance and you would change your opinion. Thank you for your stay and your review anyway. With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    188
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
192
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would have to start by agreeing with some reviews I read prior to booking this hotel: the photos don't do justice to the rooms! The rooms are classy and warm and very spacious.
If any of you read my hotel reviews, I usually tend to comment on the cleanliness of the room and I am actually quite attentive to this. I have nothing to comment here. The room and bathroom were clean and the room smelled so nice everyday after it was cleaned. Sheets were changed after 2 or 3 days.
The rooms are a bit warm and there is no air conditioning but there was a fan in the room. There is also some noise coming from the street so I wouldn't recommend sleeping with your windows open unless you are a heavy sleeper - at night you here people yelling and in the morning trash cars picking up trash. I am not objecting to this. I actually enjoyed hearing all the street noise at night..it felt like the streets were alive.
I read some reviews saying that there is no wifi in the room...there is and the signal was great.
About breakfast, I would have to say that I had quite some expectations as it had great reviews. In my opinion, it isn't all that great. It is not varied and you can choose from a wide range of pastries only if you get up really early..if you go aroung 9 a.m. there is not much to choose from and no refill is done after that hour (i think so cause I never saw it happen). Nevertheless, what you find is good and fresh and pleasant. The location is interesting as it is in a very medieval looking like basement.
The staff is very helpfull and nice irrespective of the hour when you ask them something. We even saw them helping tourists which were not customers of the hotel.
The location is perfect. You walk 2 minutes to the old town square.
Whenever I will visit prague I will lookup this hotel first!

Room Tip: Higher floors are not confronted with the same level of street noise and if you are on 6th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioana_Purcarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear ipapushy,
Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel and your kind words and a insightful review in general. We are glad you found the room clean, because that’s something we focus on very much.
The issue with the missing AC is, as mentioned in other responses, a bit beyond our powers since the building is protected by the monuments comitee of Prague and therefore it’s impossible to make such major adjustments as installing the AC within the bulding, we are sorry for that, but also we are glad you found the fan useful at the time of your stay.
To be fair, the wifi has been installed just recently, so there really was no wifi in the rooms, but this was solved out as we care about the reviews from our guests and there’s always room for improvement.
The breakfast staff focuses on providing various meals and possibilities, but it’s difficult sometimes to satisfy everyone. The breakfast refill should have been done regularly, so that’s something we had to check and we are sorry for that.
Also thank you very much for praising our staff, we are always trying to make the best out of your stay and other visitors of the city of Prague as well.
Thank you very much again, and we hope to see you soon again.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed there last Jan. We were 4 and booked the family apartment. It was perfect, clean, spacious, luxurious and cozy! Breakfast was really good. The location of the hotel was ideal. Staff really helpful. Everything was amazing except for one of the receptionist whom we asked to call for us the airport big cab for to go to the airport when we were leaving and gave him the phone the no. as we were offered 50%, instead he called other 2 private cabs so we paid around 4 times extra and we had no time to solve the issue or else we would have missed our flights.

PS. wifi is only in the reception which is small area and people are gathered so no privacy :) But it was fine for us...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraHany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear SaraHany,
first of all thank you very much for your stay and your interest in our hotel. and also thank you for both your kind words and pointing out what did not satisfy you completely.
Regarding the transport issue you experienced. The company, which the receptionist called provides the discount vouchers to be used for one car on the way to/from the airport. The problem in this particular case was that you indeed were only four passengers, but each with two big suitcases which basically couldn’t fit into one car, however big, any way. And in case the receptionist had called a minibus transport, you’d pay even more. So this really was the best option. On the other hand, it wasn’t the company which officially provide the service for us, but a company which you decided for, so there’s no way we can then check if they really apply the discount voucher. But in case you feel you’ve been charged more than you should, you can always fill the complaint with the receipt you received in the car. I am sincerely sorry for your trouble and I can only recommend you to use a different company and always take a receipt from the driver.
Despite I hope that you enjoyed your stay in Prague a I am looking forward to your visit in the future.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It is close to everything! But as many reviewers have stated the lack of wifi in the rooms is inconvenient. I was aware of this when I booked the room, but didn't realize how tiresome it would be. We were on the 6th floor and it was time consuming to have to run to the lobby to look up an address or check a train or bus schedule. There are a few little tables near the reception desk where you can sit to use the internet. Even just addeding a small wifi area on each floor would be a major improvement. As you enter the hotel right before the reception desk you have to pass through a little bar area where the cafe staff stands and then walk through a crystal store to get the elevator. I didn't like the set up of the entire lobby area. The hotel's breakfast was very good and was served in the charming basement area. When we visited the weather was cool so we could close the windows at night. However, I can image that in the summer if you have to sleep with the windows open that there would be street noise throughout the night. We stayed there 2 separate times and both rooms were very large. One bathroom was a comfortable size but the bathroom in the largest room was so small that you couldn't open the bathroom door the entire way without hitting the shower. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel even though I didn't love everything about it..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiLou075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear LexiLou75,
thank you again for your stay and interest in our hotel, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Based on your and other reviews we received, we are currently setting up a wi-fi network throughout the hotel in order to make your and all the other guest in the future as comfortable as possible.
We hope you’d come back and enjoy your stay once again.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Cobbled streets, swarms of tourists passing by because that's where you are, the heart of it all! The hotel is on the walking route from the old square to the Charles Bridge.

Wireless internet is only available in the foyer. The windows are double panes so they block out any noise, the rooms are large, the beds comfortable, and very importantly lots of power outlets. The breakfast is served in the basement, a very interesting section of the hotel exposing its 13th century stone and brick walls with vaulted arches. There are several upmarket crystal shops in the building and a pleasant cafe out the front. We stayed on the fourth floor and the renovated centuries-old architecture is very interesting and spacious.

The staff are all attentive, very helpful and genuinely pleasant, no forced smiles here. For instance we were being picked up by taxi for the railway station five minutes before breakfast time and were pleasantly surprised to be handed two breakfast packs in paper bags.

We definitely recommend Palac u Kocku faor everyone, but if you are on the plus-plus size you will find the shower cubicle a challenge.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a quiet lane, probably better than overlooking the main pedestrian walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear BobandDeirdre,
thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel: it is always the most pleasant moment of our work to hear - or read - our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose this hotel mostly due to its location and we were not disappointed. We had been to Prague before so we had a pretty good idea where we wanted to be. The hotel is literally a five minute walk to the Old Town Square and Astronomical clock and within a few minutes of the Charles Bridge.

We were two couples so we rented the two bedroom apartment which was absolutely massive and each couple felt as though they had their own wing. Very nice to have two full bathrooms when sharing with another couple. The apartment is very well appointed, comfortable, and quiet. The website pictures really don't do the hotel justice. The breakfast was fantastic!

The only reason I did not provide 5 stars was the lack of internet in the room. Like a lot of travelers the only connection to home is provided through internet and given the time change it was not fun having to go to the lobby to get messages each day.

Other than the internet.....it was perfect and I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The three bedroom apartment is great for families or two couples traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsteven_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear lsteven_99,
Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at hotel Palác U Kočků. I and the entire staff, we thank you for your positive rating and we believe that we will be able to welcome you again during your visit to Prague. Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A gem of a find, close to Old Town in Prague, I could hear the Astronomical Clock ring from my interior room location, which by the way did not give me street noise. Room was very clean, recently remodeled, simple but adequate. The breakfast was very complete served in a beautiful finished basement area with curved and arched ceiling. Best breakfast "provided" that I have encountered on my trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Chris,
thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel: it is always the most pleasant moment of our work to hear - or read - our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#91 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#102 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#84 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#105 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#343 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Property: Palac U Kocku
Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing