We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #125 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel the best choice for all, its in a very special location. you are close to the old town square, jewish quarter, charles bridge, and all the night life and restaurants. really i enjoy so much for being there. my only one comment is that there is no AC. the services was amazing, as they have a very friendly team.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zikaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear zikaprof,
thank you very much for your kind words and your appreciation. We are always glad when we can see our attitude and effort is worth it.
We are sorry for the missing A/C, but as explained earlier – it’s well beyond our powers to install such a device due to a historical nature of the bulding and therefore the building being protected by the state monument comitee. Hopefully the fan provided in every room had compensated this for you a bit.
Thank you again for your stay and your interest in our hotel.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    204
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
116
201
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been the best one I have stayed at in Prague after six trips. It has the best location just a few steps away from the clock and main points of interest. The WiFi speed in the rooms is very good, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is good and it's included in the room price.
The only disappointments were the restless sleep nights due to drunk party people walking down the street all night long, the summer is hot and the rooms have no air conditioning so you have two options: either melt down in heat and not being able to sleep or open the window to hear drunk people all night. Personnel kindness is an improvement opportunity.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Firito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear firito,
first of all thank you very much, we are truly glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague and we hope to see you again the next time you’ll visit our beautiful city.
The A/C absence is unfortunately a fact we can’t change, because the building itself is protected by the city monuments comitee and it’s not possible to make such big adjustments to the core of the building as the AC installation would be. We are trying to satisfy your needs and make your stay as comfortable as possible by providing a fan in every room we have.
Anyway, thank you again and hopefully see you soon again!
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Every thing about this hotel is great specially the location. If it is the first time for you in Prague, then this one is for you. Close to everything on feet, 1 minute to old town, 5 minutes to Charles Bridge, 5 minutes to the Jewish quarter.
Things you should know about this hotel
1. It doesn't have a left, but it is only 3 floors
2. It doesn't have A/C (that is why I give it 4 out of 5)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Emad_10,
thank you very much for your kind word about our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. About the A/C, the problem however is the building being more than six hundred years old therefore protected by the monuments comitee of Prague, which makes it impossible to make such major adjustmens as instaling the AC, since it needs major building adjustments as well. This issue is being compensated by all the rooms being provided a fan.
Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Winton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great place to stay for three nights in a comfortable apartment with two large bedrooms and two bathrooms. Rooms were clean and fresh and exceeded our expectation. The breakfast area was cozy in the basement of the hotel. Food and service was good and plentiful. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is less that a kilometer to the main square and close walking distance to the wartime ghetto area. Many restaurants to visit as well as all types of shopping.
There was no parking at the hotel and we were fortunate that our driver delivered us to the door.
Since we traveled in May the temperature in the rooms was not a concern as there was no air conditioning. Wifi worked best in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Eugene N., Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently spent 4 night's in this hotel and the day we arrived it was a scorcher so I was very disappointed to find no aircon, just a pedestal fan. The only other downside is the noise from the street as you are right in the heart of it and with it being so warm we had to have window's open, we were on the first floor so I suggest asking for one away from street and higher up.
The hotel itself was lovely, our room was modern, clean, with a nice breakfast, they have the square European pillow's so maybe ask for a normal one as they can be tricky to sleep on. The other room that my niece had was a bit less modern but still nice and had a modern bathroom. Reception staff friendly, breakfast staff got more friendly as the day's went on, (just not morning people perhaps).

Room Tip: Higher floor away from front of hotel. Request normal pillow, square one's hard to sleep with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Linda,
thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in future.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night and apart from the disadvantage of having no air con I could not fault this hotel. Really luxurious rooms and bathrooms. Central location so close to all nightlife and day trips. Just absolutely brilliant and at £70 a night it was amazing value for money

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor rooms as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyfrenchbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear crazyfrenchbird, Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is right in the middle of the centre. We had a room not facing the street and it was quiet, even though it was still busy and lively in the streets.
Rooms are very spacious, our room even had a little hallway between the bedroom and the bathroom.
No A/C, and it was a bit too warm to sleep (with temperatures in Prague being around 26C).
The hotel is not accessible by car. You can park your car in a partner hotel, which is about 15 minutes walking away. With lots of luggage, it might be uncomfortable, however car is parked very safely there.
There is no elevator in the hotel.
I liked the hotel a lot, beside a bit of hassle lugguage wise (no parking and no elevator), it was really good. Nice staff, nice rooms, good breakfast and perfect location.
Free WI-FI was working very well.

Room Tip: Not facing street. Not top floor - as it might get a little warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Eveline B,
We are delighted that you enjoy your stay in hotel 1. Republic and we appreciate that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#124 of 649 in Prague
612 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#114 of 649 in Prague
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#97 of 649 in Prague
932 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#158 of 649 in Prague
997 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#177 of 649 in Prague
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Property: Palac U Kocku
Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing