We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #126 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of the city - 5 min to walk to the Charles bridge and 3 min to walk to the central square where the famous Clock is. The staff at the reception and at the restaurant is extremely friendly and helpful! The room is big and comfortable, and even the hotel is located on a crowded street - it was very quiet at the night (room number 31). The hotel has own restaurant in the basement - Casserol - and it is amazing! I liked totally everything at the hotel and I can only recommend it further.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Kathirin,
Thank you for your kind review, which we greatly appreciate.
It is nice to hear that you were with the services of our hotel satisfied.
Thank you for all the hotel staff and we look forward to meeting you in the future.
Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    188
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
192
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I booked a room for my family (4 adults), and this was easily the one of the best value-for-money hotels I have ever stayed at. We had a beautiful, spacious room on the seventh floor (a double bed for my parents and a single bed each for my sister and me), with a gorgeous view of the rooftops nearby. It is a minute away from the Astronomical Clock, 5 minutes from Charles Bridge, roughly 10 minutes from the Jewish Quarter and the New Town. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful--the person at the front desk even offered to send my postcards for me. The breakfast was quite good--one very minor complaint though is that it is located at a basement restaurant so the atmosphere was a little strange. Another thing that some people might not appreciate is the noise in the evening. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, and unfortunately I was woken up multiple times by screaming drunkards. But I seriously think this is a small price to pay for the great location, amazing price, and the best staff you can ask for (tip for future guests: bring earplugs). Thanks for the fantastic stay. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porporina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Porporina., Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay in this unusual hotel right in the middle of the Old Town. It is walking distance to all the major sights except the Prague Castle. The breakfast in the lower level was amazing! Have the hotel send a cab to pick you up from the train station or the airport. I was directed at the train station to use the metro and found the streets very confusing in the beginning. You get used to it, but wandering with a rolling suitcase on cobblestones is not fun. The reception will gladly arrange for a taxi for you and then the price is guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad that you were satisfied during your stay at the hotel Palác U Kočků. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to meeting you in the future
Kind regards
Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel the best choice for all, its in a very special location. you are close to the old town square, jewish quarter, charles bridge, and all the night life and restaurants. really i enjoy so much for being there. my only one comment is that there is no AC. the services was amazing, as they have a very friendly team.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zikaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear zikaprof,
thank you very much for your kind words and your appreciation. We are always glad when we can see our attitude and effort is worth it.
We are sorry for the missing A/C, but as explained earlier – it’s well beyond our powers to install such a device due to a historical nature of the bulding and therefore the building being protected by the state monument comitee. Hopefully the fan provided in every room had compensated this for you a bit.
Thank you again for your stay and your interest in our hotel.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been the best one I have stayed at in Prague after six trips. It has the best location just a few steps away from the clock and main points of interest. The WiFi speed in the rooms is very good, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is good and it's included in the room price.
The only disappointments were the restless sleep nights due to drunk party people walking down the street all night long, the summer is hot and the rooms have no air conditioning so you have two options: either melt down in heat and not being able to sleep or open the window to hear drunk people all night. Personnel kindness is an improvement opportunity.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Firito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear firito,
first of all thank you very much, we are truly glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague and we hope to see you again the next time you’ll visit our beautiful city.
The A/C absence is unfortunately a fact we can’t change, because the building itself is protected by the city monuments comitee and it’s not possible to make such big adjustments to the core of the building as the AC installation would be. We are trying to satisfy your needs and make your stay as comfortable as possible by providing a fan in every room we have.
Anyway, thank you again and hopefully see you soon again!
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Every thing about this hotel is great specially the location. If it is the first time for you in Prague, then this one is for you. Close to everything on feet, 1 minute to old town, 5 minutes to Charles Bridge, 5 minutes to the Jewish quarter.
Things you should know about this hotel
1. It doesn't have a left, but it is only 3 floors
2. It doesn't have A/C (that is why I give it 4 out of 5)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Emad_10,
thank you very much for your kind word about our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. About the A/C, the problem however is the building being more than six hundred years old therefore protected by the monuments comitee of Prague, which makes it impossible to make such major adjustmens as instaling the AC, since it needs major building adjustments as well. This issue is being compensated by all the rooms being provided a fan.
Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Winton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great place to stay for three nights in a comfortable apartment with two large bedrooms and two bathrooms. Rooms were clean and fresh and exceeded our expectation. The breakfast area was cozy in the basement of the hotel. Food and service was good and plentiful. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is less that a kilometer to the main square and close walking distance to the wartime ghetto area. Many restaurants to visit as well as all types of shopping.
There was no parking at the hotel and we were fortunate that our driver delivered us to the door.
Since we traveled in May the temperature in the rooms was not a concern as there was no air conditioning. Wifi worked best in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Eugene N., Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#91 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#102 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#84 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#105 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#343 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Property: Palac U Kocku
Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing