We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel - would definitely recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #61 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great boutique hotel - would definitely recommend it”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar hotel for 3 nights and would highly recommend this boutique hotel. We stayed in Room 5 (more of a suite), which has a view of the Charles Bridge. The room was huge and very tastefully and comfortably decorated - lots of windows so very light and airy and a gorgeous beamed ceiling. The bathroom (and room) was very clean and the shower a great power shower!
The location is perfect - very close to Charles Bridge and all the sights (and restaurants and bars) but being on the slighly quieter (less frenetic) side of the river meant room very quiet at night. A perfect base to explore the city.
The staff were all extremely helpful - they organised the transfer to and from the airport for us which would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you very much for such a positive feedback!! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our services. Looking forward to your next visit in Prague. Warm regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    110
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
50
277
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar October 23 through October 29, 2012. We reserved one of the suite rooms, and it was exactly as depicted on the web site. We were traveling with another couple, and they reserved the other suite. We were all very happy with the rooms. The breakfast at the bagel place next door was excellent. Offered all the normal buffet items you would expect and then they would ask each morning if we would like an omlette or other hot item. They were very attentive to our needs. The hotel staff was also very helpful in getting us the bus tours we were wanting and arranging a car back to the airport on our last day. There was a small convenience store right next door to the hotel. You are literally steps away from the Charles Bridge. A short 5-10 minute walk puts you in old town. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very happy you have chosen our hotel and that your stay here met your expectations. Thank you for nice words about our staff, rooms, breakfast etc. We highly appreciate that you would recommend our hotel. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Repton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a perfect location, literally on the Charles Bridge on the slightly less busy castle side. Service at all times is exemplary, as is the quality of the room (we were upgraded with the goo luck room deal). Breakfast in the cafe next door was also fabulous. I recommend it very highly indeed and would stay there again when I next go to Prague. Taxi driver working for hotel also an absolute gentleman.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexterces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice words about our team and services! We highly appreciate it. We are very grateful that you shared your experience here and we are looking forward to your next stay in Prague. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Highly, highly recommend this hotel. Just got back from Prague and can not say enough about the experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and the room was amazing. Perfect location to everything you'll want to see in Prague. The breakfast was delicious and again, the staff was so kind. Don't think twice about staying here! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share such an amazing feedback following your stay with us. Thank you for rating us "excellent" and sharing your comments about our location, rooms, breakfast and the staff. Look forward to seeing you again. Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed her back in July and had just a lovely experience. Location was great, walk right out your door and the Charles Bridge was right there! The first night we were there opened up window and listened to the violin player on the street while getting ready could not have been more perfect. Staff was wonderfully helpful spoke English and very helpful with transportation accomendations! Room were very spacious as were the bathrooms! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel. Sincerely, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is an unbelievable hotel! From the great staff to the awesome room to the amazing location I don't know where to start. You are right next to the famous Charles bridge. The area on this side of the bridge is less crowded and there are so many great restaurants to choose from within a 5 minute walk. You can walk to Prague castle in 15 minutes. The room was very spacious (room#5) with a view of the bridge. The washroom was big and updated and the WiFi worked well. The beds are big and very comfortable. Not alot of TV selection but we were not there to watch TV. The Bohemian Bagel place next door (attached) was great for breakfast and included in the price. The service here was great! I did notice if you book directly with them you get a discount if you stay 3 or more days and you can arrange to have the driver pick you up at the train station or airport. There is a safe in the room if you need it as well. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and my wife and I travel all over the world. It felt like we were staying with family (that we liked;-)) Great visit!

Room Tip: Room # 5 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Allow me to thank you for your beautiful review about our hotel. I was delighted to read, that our facilities and service met your expectations. Regards, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Excellent location close to Charles Bridge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Efficient and well priced transfer service. Enjoyed breakfast in the Cafe next door. Occasionally a bit noisy as people ascended/descended stairs in hotel. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for staying at the Domus Balthasar Hotel and for your kind words about our hotel and staff. Yours Sincerely, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#71 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#77 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing