We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #67 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic-right by the Charles Bridge, which makes walking to most of the sites in Prague easy. We stayed in a suite on the second floor and it was very nice and clean. We had lots of room, and while our bed was comfortable, our kids were uncomfortable on the sofa bed, which was really hard. We ended up putting our pillows down for them to sleep on top of because they couldn't sleep.

Also, because you are very central and in a touristy area, there was alot of outdoor noise (mainly cars driving by) at night that woke me up some but I tend to be a light sleeper. The wifi Internet worked great in the first room, but couldn't find the signal in the master bedroom.

Breakfast was great and in the next door bagel shop which is connected to the hotel. There were lots of choices and we got a discount to eat here for lunch too which was a nice option if we wanted a bagel sandwich to take with us.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and for the money, its a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkgervitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us. :) We are sorry that your children were not comfortable on our extra bed. We are trying to make the extra bed as comfortable as the normal bed, we have a big choice of pillows but still - it is just an extra bed. One prefers harder bed, one softer but our guests used to be satisfied with it before. The house has thick walls what makes it technically difficult with the wi-fi. As a compromise to this problem there is the computer on the first floor where the internet use (cable access) is available for our guests for free as well. Kind regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

With the room rates and a staircase to match, what with no lift, Domus Balthasar is truly Over The Top. Truly a valiant attempt in a tatty tourist district but falling quite short of the mark.
Breakfasts are catered in the affiliated bagel shop in which the lighting is mercifully subdued.

Room Tip: Impossible location for a quite night. Select a property away from the tourist centre.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. Our hotel is a part of an ancient building preserved within the Prague UNESCO zone what makes us limited in bigger reconstructions. The fact that we do not have a lift is mentioned on our web page, booking systems as well as in our e-mail correspondence. On the other hand we think that our central position in the historic part of Prague is a good compensation for this inconvenience. Our double rooms are both attic (4th floor) and also our most economic rooms. They are normally quiet and romantic and many guests praise this. You might have had a bad luck if there was some more noise on the street that night.

Regarding the breakfast, the reception staff as well as the Bagel staff is always ready to meet the requirements of our guests when they are missing something for their perfect breakfast.

We are constantly trying to improve our services but unfortunatelly not all the requests can be solved that easily. We honestly think that we do not deserve that much irony and we hope that your bad experience (from not having a lift..) did not totally ruin your trip to Prague.

Yours sincerely,
Zuzana Cinková & Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I loved everything about my stay here. I don't usually write reviews, but I was such a fan of this place. I traveled by myself, and I stayed in the back attic room which was awesome (exposed beams, spacious, etc.- prob not ideal for anyone 6ft or so but awesome otherwise). The location was ideal- just on the other side of the Charles Bridge. I had never been to Prague before, so I did not know if this would be close or far, but it was perfect- go into town for the day and/or for dinner, and then leave all the madness and walk back over the bridge for the evening. It's such a short walk into town, but it was so nice being able to sleep away from the frenzy. Plus the walk across the bridge is ridiculously beautiful. Awesome staff, delicious breakfast in cute cafe next door every morning (cold buffet plus made-to-order whatever you want from menu). Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in the least expensive room- attic room- and loved it, so I can only imagine it only gets b...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your time on sharing your good experiences! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards and all the best for the new year 2013! :) Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Myself and my partner are just back from a 3 night stay in Prague and we cannot wait to go back next year!

The hotel, the staff and the rooms all exceeded expectations - this is really a hidden gem in Prague! The location is second to none, a 15minute stroll over the bridge and through the cobbled streets to the Christmas markets and near the castle.

We booked the 'good luck' room and were offered a free upgrade to a suite on arrival, we were shown both the attic room that we originally reserved and the suite - we could choose either. As we were staying for 4 days we opted for the extra space that the suite offered but the attic rooms were georgous and we would of been delighted with this room even if an upgrade had not been available! (given the age of the house the attic rooms are a quite the trek up steep stairs so I would keep that mind when booking)

The room was spotless, it had a fabulous bathroom with heated floors, a seperate shower and deep set bath. It also had a small kitchen area with kettle, mini bar, microwave & hob.

Breakfast was in a little cafe attached to the hotel. The staff were so friendly and the food was lovely. There was a choice of fresh bagels, pastries, fruit, yoghurts etc from the buffet or if your preferred eggs and pancakes from the main menu.

The staff on reception were a joy to deal with and recommended a fabulous restaurant for my birthday dinner -'Bellevue'.
They handled tours/tickets and literally anything else you may require during your stay!

I wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel again and really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife_Og_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you very much for such nice words!! :) We are very happy that your stay here exceeded your expectations! We were pleased that we were able to provide you a free room upgrade. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards and happy new year 2013! Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This place is truly amazing! The rooms are huge and comfortable, the staff is superb, the location is perfect! This was the perfect place for our visit to Prague! I highly recommend the Domus Balthasar!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 489LindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you very much, these words are very kind of you! :) I wish you all the best for the new year 2013! Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in the Attic room from 22-26 November 2012. The room was surprisingly large and is at the top of the hotel - 76 steps. This didn't bother us (too much) but wouldn't be great for anyone with mobility problems. The room itself was surprisingly large (the photos undersell it) and stylishly furnished without being too self conscious about it. The mini bar was comprehensive and reasonably priced. Dvds can be borrowed from reception if needed. In summary it felt more like an upmarket studio flat - a quiet hideaway. Ideal for a romantic break.

The hotel is superbly situated 30m from Charles Bridge so you can get the best of both the Old Town and charming Mala Strana. The reception staff were extremely helpful with everything from ipod charging sockets to printing boarding passes. Breakfasts in the Bohemia Bagel next door were good and served with a smile. You can order from the menu as well as use the buffet.

All in all I can't fault it and would return again without hesitation. We paid 95 euros per night and I think this was excellent value for the location and service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagull74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Allow me to thank you for such a nice review. We do our best and this is what gives us motivation to be even better. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar hotel for 3 nights and would highly recommend this boutique hotel. We stayed in Room 5 (more of a suite), which has a view of the Charles Bridge. The room was huge and very tastefully and comfortably decorated - lots of windows so very light and airy and a gorgeous beamed ceiling. The bathroom (and room) was very clean and the shower a great power shower!
The location is perfect - very close to Charles Bridge and all the sights (and restaurants and bars) but being on the slighly quieter (less frenetic) side of the river meant room very quiet at night. A perfect base to explore the city.
The staff were all extremely helpful - they organised the transfer to and from the airport for us which would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you very much for such a positive feedback!! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our services. Looking forward to your next visit in Prague. Warm regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#69 of 648 in Prague
343 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 648 in Prague
747 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#43 of 648 in Prague
799 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#101 Family Hotel in Prague
#111 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing