We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location- charming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #62 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location- charming hotel!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed on the top floor (Royale Room) for just one night and the room was gorgeous. It looks more like a small studio, with wooden beams giving a very cozy atmosphere.
The Hotel is literally at the end of Charles Bridge in Mala Strana, so it is very close to everything.

The receptionists were charming and most accomodating and helpful. Even one of them looked for hours and kept sending emails about something we had inquiry.

The only BIG issue... if you´re in the top floor like us, and have big luggages is that there is NOT elevator. And the stairs are of an old house, so they´re very narrow and kinda akward. The hotel taxi driver, took them up for us, which was unbealieavable kind.

BTW, the taxi driver is great! he came to pick us up at the station and then took us to the airport. The shuttle rates are very rasonable, so I would reccommed to book with them.

Breakfast was just ok. Not as much variety as I expected, but they did have a waitress serving everything we asked for.

We payed much more for this hotel that we payed for staying on the Savic... and I think I would have come back to the Savic knowing what I know now. However, it was good be able to stay on the other side of the river... and the Mala Strana area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you for spending your time on writing such a long review. :) We are happy to hear that you liked the atmosphere of the hotel and our transport service with Milan. Although we do not have an elevator, Milan is always helpfull to bring the luggage to the room. The receptionists are also always ready to help. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    110
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
50
276
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Beautiful hotel. We had the double room and it was lovely and stylish. Spacious with high ceilings and very elegant.

If you want to stay in a great hotel with character this is perfect!

The location is excellent with Charles Bridge so close by.

The staff are very kind and warm.

Would stay here again for sure. Highly recommended!

Only thing is that there is no lift.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review!! :) We are trying to give the hotel a special character and we are happy to hear you liked it. Thank you for recommending us! Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed on the top floor (Royale Room) in the Domus Balthasar for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The reception staff were helpful and warming and were always available to answer any questions. The location is ideal being next to the Charles Bridge - allowing us to walk to the main square in only 15 minutes. The room itself was spacious with eveything you would need. It comes with a huge bath tub, a powerful shower and underfloor heating in the bathroom.

The minor downfalls are that because we were on the top floor, the wifi was very weak and would only work if you stood at the entrance of the room. Also the bed consisted of 2 smaller mattresses joined together to create a king size. Although it was well joined it was still a nuisance when sleeping.

Overall the hotel was fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMacca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you very much for nice comments about our hotel, staff and services! :) We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and that you would recommend us. We have already started to fix the problem with the mattresses so we are working on improvement of the sleeping quality of our guests. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in Domus Balthasar during Christmas 2012. We had the royal room in 3rd floor which was simply fantastic. Extremely spacious, very quiet, nicely decorated in quite modern style, with an amazing wooden ceiling. Unfortunately, although the hotel is just 50m away from Charles Bridge you cannot see it from the windows of the room, you just see the building across the small street.
Service was excellent; all the girls at the reception and Mr Milan the taxi driver who is working for the hotel were extremely helpful. There is wifi available in the rooms and also a PC in the corridor. Of cource there is no lift, as it is a small medieval building.
Breakfast at next door bagel shop (connected through an internal door to the hotel) was of good quality, but quite poor variety.
Overall we had an excellent stay and will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Royal Double room on 3rd floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efsnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel and our staff!! :) We are glad to hear your stay was excellent and that you had a beautiful Christmas time in Prague. We are trying to do our best every day and constantly improve our services as well as breakfast to fulfill the requests of our guests. We hope to meet you here again soon! Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic-right by the Charles Bridge, which makes walking to most of the sites in Prague easy. We stayed in a suite on the second floor and it was very nice and clean. We had lots of room, and while our bed was comfortable, our kids were uncomfortable on the sofa bed, which was really hard. We ended up putting our pillows down for them to sleep on top of because they couldn't sleep.

Also, because you are very central and in a touristy area, there was alot of outdoor noise (mainly cars driving by) at night that woke me up some but I tend to be a light sleeper. The wifi Internet worked great in the first room, but couldn't find the signal in the master bedroom.

Breakfast was great and in the next door bagel shop which is connected to the hotel. There were lots of choices and we got a discount to eat here for lunch too which was a nice option if we wanted a bagel sandwich to take with us.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and for the money, its a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkgervitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us. :) We are sorry that your children were not comfortable on our extra bed. We are trying to make the extra bed as comfortable as the normal bed, we have a big choice of pillows but still - it is just an extra bed. One prefers harder bed, one softer but our guests used to be satisfied with it before. The house has thick walls what makes it technically difficult with the wi-fi. As a compromise to this problem there is the computer on the first floor where the internet use (cable access) is available for our guests for free as well. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

With the room rates and a staircase to match, what with no lift, Domus Balthasar is truly Over The Top. Truly a valiant attempt in a tatty tourist district but falling quite short of the mark.
Breakfasts are catered in the affiliated bagel shop in which the lighting is mercifully subdued.

Room Tip: Impossible location for a quite night. Select a property away from the tourist centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. Our hotel is a part of an ancient building preserved within the Prague UNESCO zone what makes us limited in bigger reconstructions. The fact that we do not have a lift is mentioned on our web page, booking systems as well as in our e-mail correspondence. On the other hand we think that our central position in the historic part of Prague is a good compensation for this inconvenience. Our double rooms are both attic (4th floor) and also our most economic rooms. They are normally quiet and romantic and many guests praise this. You might have had a bad luck if there was some more noise on the street that night.

Regarding the breakfast, the reception staff as well as the Bagel staff is always ready to meet the requirements of our guests when they are missing something for their perfect breakfast.

We are constantly trying to improve our services but unfortunatelly not all the requests can be solved that easily. We honestly think that we do not deserve that much irony and we hope that your bad experience (from not having a lift..) did not totally ruin your trip to Prague.

Yours sincerely,
Zuzana Cinková & Domus Balthasar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I loved everything about my stay here. I don't usually write reviews, but I was such a fan of this place. I traveled by myself, and I stayed in the back attic room which was awesome (exposed beams, spacious, etc.- prob not ideal for anyone 6ft or so but awesome otherwise). The location was ideal- just on the other side of the Charles Bridge. I had never been to Prague before, so I did not know if this would be close or far, but it was perfect- go into town for the day and/or for dinner, and then leave all the madness and walk back over the bridge for the evening. It's such a short walk into town, but it was so nice being able to sleep away from the frenzy. Plus the walk across the bridge is ridiculously beautiful. Awesome staff, delicious breakfast in cute cafe next door every morning (cold buffet plus made-to-order whatever you want from menu). Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in the least expensive room- attic room- and loved it, so I can only imagine it only gets b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your time on sharing your good experiences! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards and all the best for the new year 2013! :) Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#74 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 649 in Prague
734 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 649 in Prague
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing