We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #50 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Everything was amazing.

Friendly and serviceminded staff
Wonderful room
Excellent location
The breakfast was really good

I almost don't want to tell anyone about this amazing hotel so it will have a room for us next time we come to Prague

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for describing our hotel as amazing! Most of all I like the last sentence. It is really kind from you. :) It will be a pleasure for us to meet you again. Warm regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    110
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
269
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Domus Balthasar in July and found this hotel delightful. It was both quiet and very conveniently located - with close proximity to some major landmarks.

It was spacious, spotless, with the spaces well-designed and the details had been thought out. The staff were fantastic, Zuzana in particular was great to deal with.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, both for the value and the location. I would stay here again if in Prague.

Room Tip: Keep both the of the window panes shut, otherwise street noise creeps in. If both the double panes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear James, on behalf of our team I would like to thank you for such positive review! :) We deal with our guests with pleasure and try to be helpful in every way to make their stay wonderful. Once more, thank you for recommending us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Prague. Take care, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early July. The location is incredible, the rooms were huge and quiet, beds really comfortable, bathroom enormous and spotless, wifi worked perfectly, breakfasts delicious and plentiful, staff very friendly and efficient - everything was fantastic. Very reasonably priced too. We could walk to everything we wanted to see from the hotel, and then stroll back to our haven at the end of a busy but incredible day. I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I would like to say a big Thank you! :) In your review you perfectly summarized everything what we are trying to offer our guests. Our team love to hear that we managed it. ;) We will be really pleased to meet you again! Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel has a great location just near the Carl bridge and 10min walk though the old town to the city old center. The Hotel offer 8 rooms where the suite that we stayed was very nice with a bedroom, living room and a big bathroom. The Hottel offer a nice breakfast in a nearby coffee shop (has shared door with the hotel). The staff was very warm and help with any question that we had, also the shuttle service (From\To) airport was great with a reasonable price (22.5 Euro per direction).
downgrays - room has no air condition and no elevator.

Overall - we had a great vacation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofir_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much! :) It is a real pleasure for our team to hear you had a great vacation – that is what we are trying to achieve. Take care and see you again one day. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Location is central but still quiet! Staff extremely helpful! Mona Zuzana and another lovely lady whose name we can't remember did all the bookings for us, guided us well and always friendly!! We got upgraded to a suite which is always a big plus! It is very "Prague" with all the comforts!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. I am so delighted that you highlighted our reception team! It is a great motivation for us. Warm regards and hopefully see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My first time in Prague and chose this hotel based on the fine reviewes from this site. It lived up to every expectations. Stayed there for three nights for a business trip but my wife travelled with me so for this trip I chose this place to be a bit more central.

Was welcomed by the nice staff in the lobby and even though arriving a bit early my room was ready. I stayed in the Suite which was one bedroom, small resting area and bathroom. All was very spacious and clean. The only issue I had was pulling the curtains but they were stuck so I couldnt cover the whole window.

The breakfast in the bagle shop next door was nice and so was the staff. Tried the egg and bacon on the last day and it was very good.

The location for this hotel is excellent - just at the end on Charles Bridge and in walking distance to the old center and castle.

Nice hotel and good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halldor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much! I am pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations! :) I will pass your compliments to our team. We are sorry for a small inconvenience with the curtains and take note of this issue. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just steps from the Charles bridge, the location is perfect. The rooms are spacious, cool, hip and comfortable and despite the location, very quiet. Beds were great and the bathrooms clean and contemporary. Breakfast is at the cafe next to the hotel and was delish. But it is really the staff that shines here. I was there during the floods in May and almost had to be evacuated. The staff communicated well and was amazing through the entire stay. They were all expertly knowledgeable about Prague and extremely helpful. I even left my necklaces in the safe and they mailed them to me. Service extra-ordinaire! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for your excellent review!! Althoung there was a really rainy weather in Prague during your stay you and your friends had a good mood all the time and I am sure you have nice memories as well. Take care and we hope to see you in Domus Balthasar again soon.

P.S. I am happy that the necklaces arrived fine. Next time we will try to manage better weather for you. ;)

Best regards,
Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#78 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing