We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once hidden - not any more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #65 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Once hidden - not any more”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a truly delightful 8 bedroom hotel within less than 80m from the Charles Bridge. Our room on the third floor was spacious and very well equipped. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is more than adequate. The staff are charming, extremely friendly, pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. There are plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear David,
Thank you for your review and compliments we are very grateful for!
It is always nice to hear from our guests that they are satisfied with our service.
Have a beautiful rest of autumn and hopte to see you at Hidden Places again :)
Regards, Mona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    110
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
50
274
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of our tenth anniversary, on our first (I hope not last) visit to Prague. We are so glad we chose the Domus Balthasar, which is so beautifully appointed, such good value for money (luxe on a budget!) and so well placed for exploring the city on foot, with St Nicholas Church a minute's walk away, the Castle ten minutes walk, and the Old Town only a five minute walk away over Charles Bridge (which is only 50 metres from the hotel). The staff were exceptionally charming and friendly (thank you Zuzana and Lucie!) and made every effort to help and accommodate our needs. We arrived late and flustered and had emailed requesting an iron - they emailed us straight back and the iron and table were ready and waiting in our room on arrival. They were wonderfully helpful in every way. They liaised with Milan, the wonderful driver who took us from and later back to the airport. They were happy to keep our bags after check-out until we needed to go to the airport. Our room (room 5) was gorgeous and airy with a lovely beamed ceiling. The bed was very comfortable and great water pressure in the bathroom! Everything spotless. The double windows are remarkably effective at shutting out noise, although (and this was truly the only negative!) the doors to the rooms do give right onto an at times noisy wood and stone stairwell. The sound of clattering footsteps and echoing voices from the stairwell did occasionally wake us. My husband commented that this acoustic problem could easily be remedied if the hotel added an outer door to each room door, which would work like the outer window to cut out noise from the landing and stairwell - looks like there is just enough room for an extra door on the landing outside the room (between the ceiling beam and existing door) - alternatively the doors could be replaced with more noise-proof ones! We hope the hotel management will consider this improvement as it would make an already fantastic hotel completely perfect. Breakfast deserves a mention - the blueberry pancakes were out of this world and the bagel cafe staff so nice too. All in all, a wonderful and unforgettable stay and we hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassylondonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate it very much. Thank you also for the acoustic proposal. The problem sometimes applies for this room, we have already been solving it and will have to improve the solution. Unfortunately even such relatively small issues are complicated in a historically preserved house. Our strive for perfection never ends. Looking forward to welcome you again and wishing beautiful travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A great hotel to base oneself to take in all Prague has to offer. Only 50 metres from the Charles Bridge. Rooms are large, clean and well appointed. A very acceptable breakfast is provided by voucher by the adjoining cafe. Most importantly, the staff ( especially Zuzana whom we had most to do with) were cheerful, obliging and totally helpful in providing advice in relation to all requests ( public transport, restaurants and attractions).Also use their pick-up service for 15 euros from the train station to avoid taxi rip offs. Would stay there again in a flash.

Room Tip: Corner room has enormous bedroom and view of Charles Bridge tower ( definitely room 3 which we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear John and Diana, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope this was not your last trip to Prague and please feel welcome anytime in the future. Thank you for being our guests. :) Take care! Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and once again we weren't disappointed. The rooms are large and spacious and are well fitted with modern and stylish interiors. The bed was excellent and we slept very well. Last time we stayed for a weekend but this time decided to extend our stay to a full week. Would definitely recommend using the hotels driver for airport collection/drop off, this is good value at 22 euros with a very efficient and friendly driver. The room we had was at the top of 2 flights of stairs and there is no one available to take bags up or down, the driver kindly took ours up for us on arrival but beware if you take a large bag you may well have to haul it up or down (to our room) 41 steps! We found the breakfast offering disappointing on this trip, it is served in half of a small bagel shop attached to the hotel which we found very cramped and chaotic. This is definitely not a breakfast to linger over with the papers!! The food offering is fresh and adequate although a little boring but we found the service varied from OK to poor depending on who served us. All the waiting staff are friendly but some are not very efficient! One morning we got served the wrong breakfast and on another no breakfast at all! Despite breakfast being included in the room rate we just couldn't face it on some mornings and opted to pay for breakfast elsewhere. If we go again we will try and negotiate a rate that doesn't include breakfast. There are a myriad of wonderful restaurants and cafes in Prague that are much better. Despite this grumble however the hotel is lovely and in a fantastic location. We had a comfortable stay and when we visit Prague again we will rebook.

Room Tip: Beware, there are a lot of stairs to negotiate and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJTwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
346 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for three nights at this hotel following abusiness trip to Prague. The staff were so helpful and welco,ing, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was by a voucher in a Bagel bar next door -- teh cold buffet was supurb, teh cooked eggs ok. Get a room with a view of the Charle sBridge and teh views at night are interesting. No hotel restaurant but walk up teh hill a little and there is pleanty of choice!! Great few days

Room Tip: Ask for view of bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Pete,
Thank you for your nice words and your time to write the review :)
We are glad you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and hope you´ll be back to spend also some lessure time in Prague!
Best regards, Mona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a small hotel with tastefully designed rooms that are spacious and comfortable. Our room (no.1) had large windows on two of the walls with views of the Charles bridge tower. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious with both a deep tub and a powerful shower. We were not disturbed once during our stay but received all the help we required when we asked for it, our room was always cleaned when we were out. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The hotel location was perfect as it was right on Charles bridge but the area was quiet in the evenings. It was only a short walk to the main attractions. We will definitely use this hotel again and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much! :) It was a pleasure for us to read your review. Please, feel welcome anytime you plan your next trip to Prague! Thank you also for sharing a nice photo. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This little boutique hotel (8 rooms only) is located almost at the foot of Charles Bridge.

Though I've been to Prague several times, I never noticed Domus Balthasar. Actually, on the door itself there is no sign (and this is a good thing).

The reception is very small and it(s at the end of a long corridor but this should not stop you as once you are in your room, this is a completely different world.

I have booked 2 rooms (Room 5 which was the Deluxe room and Room 6 the Royal Room) both on the 3rd floor. I preferred my room the Deluxe one as the bathroom has natural light. Everything was just perfect. The room has large windows and with a wonderful view on the Bridge Tower?

You could not have a better location. Close to everything.

As one of the reviewer said if you're not prepared to climb stairs then this is not for you. Actually, I did not mind.

We did enjoyed the breakfast in the cafe next door (actually there is a connecting door in the hallway) and the pancakes were excellent.

The staff at Domus Balthasar is very friendly and especially Zuzana.

We used the transfer proposed by the hotel both on our arrival at the airport and to go back and it was efficient. Milan our driver is very friendly.

I will definitely come back to Domus Balthasar but may be not in hot summer as there is no AC. This weekend was perfect as the temperature was not high but I can imagine that it could be a problem during hot summer days. However, the hotel provides a powerful fan.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the 3rd floor with a great view on the Tower Bridge and have a natural light bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for writing such an excellent review and sharing so many nice photos! :-) We highly appreciate your opinion and hope to meet you again soon! Warm regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#77 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing