We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #58 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful hotel in Sept. Amazing service! Our driver Milan picked us up from the train station and helped us get our next leg of train tickets. Very courteous and professional, we also hired him to take us on a day trip to Kutna Hora. He was an excellent tour guide, and we had a great day. He also made sure we got on the correct train when we were leaving, and we very much appreciated that. The check-in was easy and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the room was just so spacious and beautiful. I love that our view was overlooking the Charles Bridge. Really the location was fantastic as you can walk everywhere. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Next time we are in Prague we will definitely book this hotel again! Maybe have a pint with Milan!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Ovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you very much for your appreciation and sharing your beautiful photos. We cannot imagine nothing better then to hear that your only regret was that you couldn´t stay longer. :) Please, feel welcome also next time when planning your trip to Prague. P.S. Milan sends you greetings as well. :) Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was a wonderful stay in Domus Balthasar Design Hotel! Everything was perfect: romantic attic room decoration, all facilities and services, very calm hotel, good breakfast, located in the city center, very nice staff (especially Barbara, who received us so helpful and warming). We really couldn't ask for more!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at room nº7 - at the building attic. If you are looking for a romantic stay, that's ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

It is a real pleasure for us to read that everything was perfect and you had a beautiful romantic stay. I informed Barbora about your nice words. :) We wish you a successful new year 2014 and hope to see you again! Kind regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located, a few steps from the Charles Bridge on the Lesser Town (Mala Strana) side. The Charles Bridge has a different vibe according to time of day, early morning without tourists, the sunset and late at night provide different perspectives too. So it’s great to stay in a hotel close to the bridge. The location is also great to visit the Castle, it’s a short pleasant walk through the Mala Strana neighborhood to get there. And of course, the Old Town is just across the Charles Bridge.

My room was large, confortable and very clean. Breakfast was included, besides fruit, bread and ham you have a choice of a hot dish (eggs or pancakes).

The staff is friendly and helpful. One night I forgot the key to the front door. The problem was that after 12 am there’s no one at the front desk, so I was basically locked out. I called their 7/24 phone number and they arrived late at night to open the door for me.

One downside of the hotel is that it doesn’t have an elevator. The stairs are steep. This was not a problem for me, but just beware of it.

I made a day trip out of Prague and when I got back I stayed in the Old Town. I recommend Lesser Town as the district to stay. You have the ambiance of Prague without the hordes of tourists of the Old Town and you are still at walking distance ot Prague main attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajer0mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers and sharing your photos! :) You are right, the Charles Bridge especially at the sunrises is unforegettable! As we are located so close to it I recommend to everybody to wake up early and enjoy the magical view. We hope that we will be able to welcome you in Prague again and we all wish you a happy new year! Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were booked to stay at the Domus Henrici (sister hotel) to the Balthasar but could not get all the nights we required. We were here for one night and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is only a short walk to the Charles bridge and other tourist locations. On the day of our meeting they arranged for our bags to be held and then transferred to the Henrici Hotel at no charge which really saved us some time and energy as we did not get back to town until midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagles93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, General Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much for your nice words, we appreciate it! Please feel welcome anytime at Hidden Places hotels and as we´ve understood you are interested in beautiful cars, also in our sister company Engine Prague (engine-cz.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is a few steps fropm the Charles Bridge, 500 meters from the closest Metro station.
The staff is friendly and willing to make your stay wonderful. There is no elevator, but the rooms are large and peaceful.

The Breakfast was very good, the italian waiter has been very kind and funny.

A perfect place for visiting the town, close both to the old town and to the castle.

I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much! We are happy to hear you would come back! We informed Gian Piero from Bohemia Bagel as well. :) Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed there in early October and have to agree with the rave reviews from other guests regarding the rooms and staff. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. We were on the corner but noise was not an issue. The staff were very helpful and I would definitely recommend using the hotel's pickup and drop off service for trains and the airport. (Not only does it save a lot of hassle, but Milan the driver is great, with the added bonus that he takes your bags to your room, saving you lugging your suitcases up the stairs!)
Two points: If you like a hotel that has lounges, patios or other common areas available to guests you should know that this hotel has none. What you are getting is a GREAT room and a fabulously convenient location for the tourist sights, restaurants etc.
Secondly, the next door restaurant where hotel guests are given vouchers for breakfast is okay, a bit cramped with music blaring all the time but my major complaint is that there was little, and on some days no fruit.
Would I go back? ABSOLUTELY

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was large and bright and had great views over the street and towards the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about our team! :) We have discussed your breakfast complaint with our colleagues from Bohemia Bagel Café and we are sorry for an insufficient amount of fruit that day. It sounds great that you would absolutely come back! Thank you. Best wishes, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very friendly staff and excellent location. Our room was on the 4th floor, climbing the stairs was a bit exhausting but the the clean room with wooden beams on the ceiling made it worthwhile every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thanks for your nice comment!
We are glad the stairs exercises did not ruin your stay and you´ve enjoyed your time in Prague :)
Please, feel welcome anytime you decide to visit our city again!
Best regards, Mona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#83 of 647 in Prague
345 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#71 of 647 in Prague
756 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 647 in Prague
711 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 647 in Prague
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#101 Family Hotel in Prague
#111 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing