We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #43 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was my 6th or 7th visit to Domus Balthasar since 2007, and I hope not the last !
The hotel is perfectly located (15 steps from Charles' bridge), the staff is warmly welcoming, the rooms are beautiful (a mix of ancient building fully renovated with design furniture), and the hotel is tiny so you feel really like a guest.
I keep on recommending the address to my friends visiting Prague, and I am looking forward for my next stay, hopefully next summer !

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieBelgium79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Marie,

we are happy that you came to our hotel once again! It is a real pleasure for us to be your favourit hotel in Prague. Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends, we really appreciate it! :) We are looking forward to seeing you again in summer! Take care!

Best regards,
Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Absolutely unbeatable location, right at the start of Charles Bridge. Fabulous room, large, nicely decorated: mix of modern and traditional, in an old, charming building, completely renovated. Attentive staff. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Michele, thank you for your nice review! We really appreciate your opinion and hope to see you again! :) Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar Design hotel for 6 nights in October. We reserved a junior suite which had a large bedroom with a king bed, a separate sitting room with a small refrigerator, and a very contemporary bathroom. There was free access to the internet. We were on the second floor. The hotel does not have an elevator but this did not bother us. Our room was just above the restaurant that served breakfast each morning. Our room was quiet, very clean, and comfortable. The desk staff were extremely helpful giving us great ideas for our visit and answering any questions we had. They also arranged transportation to and from the central train station and airport and the man who provided the transportation was also extremely helpful. This hotel is about 100 feet from the St Charges bridge on the castle side of the river. Great location.
If you stay at this hotel and many in Prague and throughout Europe, you need to get used to a little less power in the light bulbs. Everyone seems to be trying to reduce their energy use. The only time this became an issue was if you wanted to read while in bed.
We would go back to this hotel if returning to Prague.
Dale

Room Tip: When selecting a room, keep in mind that they do not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Dale and Beverly,

thank you very much! It was a pleasure for us to meet you at our house. Thank you for being our guests. :) We are really glad to here that our efford makes sence and that you would come back again! Best regards and hopefuly see you soon, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were delighted with this small hotel near Charles Bridge. We had a suite, which was very spacious (especially the main bedroom & bathroom), and great for a small family. It was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable, with a large modern tv, a fridge and some cooking facilities if we had needed them (it was only a short stay, so we just made cups of tea). We had got 3-day travel passes, but didn't really need them except to and from the airport. Everything was in easy walking distance - castle, old town, Kafka Museum. The breakfast was lovely, especially the fresh blueberry pancakes and bagels. There were lots of nice touches to the service - the hotel covered the excess when our son ordered an option which wasn't included on the breakfast menu, gave me a half-bottle of bubbly when they realised it was my birthday, and charged us less than expected at the end because we had been given the "full occupancy" price for the room online. The staff were very helpful, but never intrusive. All in all, we had a wonderful time there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Zoe,

thank you very much for your words of appreciation! We hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration with your family in our beautiful Prague. :) We are trying to make our guests feel like home at our house with all the comfort and it is a pleasure for us to read that we did a good job. :) We hope to see you back soon. Best wishes, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we really like your hotel and the staffs are really nice and helpful!! The room is big, warm and comfortable~The location is also so great,which is almost the centre. We do had a perfect holidays in Prague!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Yiwen,

thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am so happy that you and your friends had a perfect stay at our hotel. Prague is beautiful, so you should come back again one day! :) Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Domus Balthazar is a delightful small hotel just at the foot of the Charles Bridge. It was a great location, near St. Nicholas Church and just across the bridge to the Old Town. Trolley stop nearby. Our room was wonderful, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We took the "Good Luck Room" option, and ended up with a small suite at the price of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbshoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Barbara, thank you for being our guest. :) We are happy that you chose our hotel to enjoy beautiful pre-christmas atmosphere in Prague and we appreciate your nice words. We wish you a happy and successful new year! Best regards, Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a very special hidden place, a true treasure. Beautiful rooms in an old building close to the Charles Bridge, an ideal place to explore the city. The stuff is very, very kind! We will defintely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina24960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

We are so happy to hear that you spent wonderful christmas days with us. Thank you for calling us "a true treasure“. :) We wish you all the best for the new year and hopefully, see you again soon! Zuzana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
807 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#68 of 646 in Prague
786 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#33 of 646 in Prague
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#111 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing