We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden deer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golden deer
Ranked #271 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Köln
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

In the middle of prague, excellant for pedaestrians, near to all sights, friendly and qualfied staff, clean and stylished old building, "yes" you're in the centre-you hear people in the night and morning, we'd like to come back- see you in hotel 'u zlateho jelena'
als koelner habe ich mich redlich in englisch bemueht und kann nur schreoben: das hotel war joot!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amedif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    109
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
95
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I was skeptical when I booked this hotel, but there was a review that I had read that made me feel confident we were choosing the right place to stay. And we were not disappointed. Our room was huge, with a balcony that overlooked Celenta Street. The staff was always pleasant and happy to help in any way they could. The breakfast that was included with the cost of the room exceeded our expectations. The only problem we had was with the WIFI. We were in Building A, 2nd floor and the WIFI did not reach us. We heard that from a few other guests who were in our building and other buildings. We had to access WIFI in the reception area. We would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I with my wife spent 7days including the New Year in this hotel. Despite I've ordered and paid for superior double room with Jacuzzi they move us in the usual double room without Jacuzzi. We didn't understand this at first and only next day asked them to move us to corresponding "spacious” superior room. By the way at the room we spend first night was extremely cold, probably it was something wrong with radiator. Last 6 days we indeed spent in spacious room with Jacuzzi, but Jacuzzi was very small and suitable only for man of average size.
Ordinary buffet breakfast in the nearest building can be rated as “good enough” with sausages, beacon, eggs and simple cookies; but we suffered from the lack of high quality tea. Do not count on internet in your room, because it works only in lobbies and halls, probably due to old thick concrete walls, which actually gives you a feeling of old Prague.
But this place have one superior merit: the location is great!, very close to The Old Square of Prague! If you going to see all historical places of Prague this hotel is very convenient for this.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loki_Precious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is just steps off of old town square and the tourist center of the city. we were 3 guests and a 19 month old child. the room we got was HUGE and had a great view of the bustling street below. I was super happy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicaraguadiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The only thing that is good about this hotel is the location. We booked and paid for a quad room with 4 beds, but we were given a 1 bedroom with a double bed and the living room with a sofa as a bed and a part of a sofa with a foot stool to make up another bed, for 3 nights. We asked reception and they were aware they had not given us the room we paid for but there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full and that they would try to give us another room the next night (which they didn't), we asked for pillows as the stuffing in them was all bobbly and they were as old as the hotel, but they did not have anymore pillows??? and it was tuff, they were unable to give us another room the next night and did not want to give us any money off, they told us on the second night to move hotels if we were not happy. even tho we had paid for a quad room, the room was never properly cleaned and our first ice bucket of wine and glasses were still there on day 2 and by day 3 our 2 ice buckets and 8 glasses were still there and we had to ask for them to be taken away. -- Very disappointed -- would not stay there again and if you think 1* your on the right track. do yourself a favor and book another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1welshlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for our first night in Prague (we were booked in another hotel for the remainder of our stay). The hotel is rather quirky - with stairs and corridors running off in all directions, and small corridors leading to small landings (the hotel seems to be comprised of several buildings which were converted into a single hotel some years ago). Our hotel room was large, with high ceilings and a somewhat worn wooden floor and large windows overlooking the interior courtyard. There weren't really any comfortable chairs in the bedroom (just two wooden chairs flanking a small desk). The room was quiet, since the gates to the courtyard are locked at night. The bathroom was large with a relatively new shower, but very little counter-space. The room was clean. The stairs from the ground floor to the first floor are quite badly worn and someone with mobility or balance issues would probably have difficulties with these stairs.

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Old Town, which is the real benefit to staying at this hotel. Overall, relatively good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the courtyard, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMME_1155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our visit was reasonably priced in the Heart of the Old Town! The room was enormous, 20' ceilings in a vintage building, walls about 3' thick, even though it is a very busy noisy area just off the main square, with the windows closed, it was completely quite. Our room was in the center of the building, with windows opening on the quaint courtyard with tables for their cafe. The breakfast was very nice, the breakfast room is a very charming cafe with tasteful decor, and beautiful sunlight streaming into the room from the courtyard. This is not a concrete box business hotel, leave those notions behind. This feels more like an old villa, with fantastic historic charm (building is probably centuries old), and has been very well restored and maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. A very pleasant place to stay, and central to all the best sights, definitely recommended!

Room Tip: room 1 was as quite as a vault!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#215 of 670 in Prague
329 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#335 of 670 in Prague
426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 670 in Prague
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#309 of 670 in Prague
186 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
1,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#294 of 670 in Prague
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden deer

Property: Hotel Golden deer
Address: Shtupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Golden deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing