We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & cute hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden Deer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golden Deer
Ranked #276 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We loved this hotel. It's not luxurious but it's clean, decked out in antique furniture, right in the centre of town and they make their own cakes!
Breakfast was nice, the staff were friendly and helpful, and we were able to go home to the hotel in the afternoon and freshen up after a full day of sightseeing in Prague because the hotel is in such a great location.
We read a lot of reviews saying it was noisy at night due to the proximity to the Old Town, and yes, it was a bit loud at times, but this did not taint our stay at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden Deer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night as I was sitting a university exam in Prague. The hotel was a charming old building and my room had lovely high ceilings and was tastefully decorated. However, the best thing about this hotel was the staff: they were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to everyone. The location of the hotel is great , it is right in the city centre near to all main sights , the staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and cosy with large comfy beds. We also enjoyed the delicious home-made breakfasts and desserts, especially my favourite cheesecake was georgeous! :) We are looking forward to every next visit to Prague and hotel U Zlatého jelena!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

If the goal of your visit is to be in the old town square this hotel is perfect. Huge rooms, though ours was sparsely decorated, which was fine. Massive new bathroom with high end fixtures except the large tub had no stand up shower, just a hose and handle.... Had lots of hot water though! Breakfast was excellent. The internet was a bit patchy so did any necessary stuff in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel, is good for a budget holiday, as it's location is one of the best, just behind the Old town Square. It is a very basic hotel, but if you just want bed and board it is great, The breakfast was a bit sparse, and bacon and eggs cold,
The staff were friendly and always spoke.
So if you want a basic budget hotel close to the centre , then book here.
Oh one other minus point , in our room the plug didn't fit the plug hole., but shower fine

Room Tip: Steps are uneven so, anyone with a problems walking ask for a groundfloor room as there are no lifts...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesycharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed in room 35 with my partner from the 22nd Nov - 24th November and I found it very easy to find as it was right next to Swaroski in the Old town just 2 seconds off the Old town Square. It took 45 mins to get to the hotel from the airport via the 119 bus then the metro then walking. It is a fantastic location as most sights are walking distance from the hotel which meant we hardly ever used any public transport. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we got a 2 keys for the room and the hotel. The first key was for our room and the second key was for the main door for the hotel as they close up the reception at 11pm. They main key meant we could leave and come back without any hassle. The room itself was very spacious, the decor in the room is very vintage with a dazzling chandlier and old style wardobes and drawers. It was quite an authentic feel. I did have a problem with outside noise however because we were so exhausted from our day of sightseeing and walking around that at the end of night I slept really well which meant the outside noise did not disturb my sleep. We got the room with the Jacuzzi which was so relaxing when you got in at the end of the night after being outside in the cold. And the towel radiators were always on so the room was always nice and toast which was great! However I would advise to take a supply of toiletries as there was only 2 bars of small soaps and 2 sachets of shampoo/showergel. The total price for the 2 nights was 3106 Kc but we also had two drinks from the mini bar as well so that boosted up the price a little. Also they do not accept credit cards so bring cash to pay for this hotel. Overall this hotel is very pleasant to stay in and I would reccomend staying here if you like the authentic Czech feel rather than a modern chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenye-east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is a very nice hotel, very clean and nice interior. Fantastic location - right behind the Tyn Church. We did not have WIFI signal though in our room, which was a bit frustrating since we had to go down to go online...

Otherwise the people are VERY VERY nice, and great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#137 of 648 in Prague
478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#203 of 648 in Prague
540 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#279 of 648 in Prague
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#221 of 648 in Prague
346 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#193 of 648 in Prague
657 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#70 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Deer

Address: Stupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £56 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden Deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Deer is a very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing