We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”
Review of Hotel Tyl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tyl
Ranked #244 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel 6 days.So what is good and bad:
Good:
Friendly staff.
Location is really good.
Breakfast is ok, but after 8am sometimes poor.
Bad:
Wifi is terrible, no possible to do anything in internet, either check email.
Double bed was a 2 mantras together, not a single king size.
Nothing inside(tea, water or else), if you need kettle you need to ask it.
Sauna not for free and have terrible price.

This is normal hotel for simple people, but not a 4 star.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedbacks with us.
It saddens me to read that some aspects of your stay were not totally positive: we have been starting working on the improvement of the breakfast service to increase its quality, presentation and offer.
The difficulties with the wi fi are now solved by our IT, please next time feel free to address any problem or difficulty to our staff who will gladly assist you, report the problem to be fixed as soon as possible.
It is very useful for us to receive guests'comments and we are sure that yours definetly will help us to focus more on our services.
I take the advantage of this response to wish you a happy new year!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

There are a lot of things I really like about his hotel. It's location was fabulous as it sits right by major tram lines with easy access to anywhere in the city. They provide a free breakfast which rivals any of the breakfast buffets I've had for 8-12 Euros elsewhere. There is free internet for all the guests (though it isn't fast enough for using beyond simple browsing). There is an empty fridge in the room! This was great for getting water and other drinks. The service from the front desk is great. I asked for a 9:30 wake up call not wanting to miss breakfast which ended at 10am (much later than most places) but I missed the call. At 9:55 they called me again saying they would hold breakfast for me if I wanted to hurry up. The next morning, I accidently left the phone off the jack so they knocked on my door for my wake up call. Overall, a great experience here.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the top floor as they have slanted windows and all you can see is the sky rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquidmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!
Thank you very much for the feedback, it is rewarding for us to read that you had a good stay in our Hotel Tyl and that you were satisfied with our services and staff.
I will share this review with all the staff, and I am sure all of them will be very happy of it.
On behalf of all of us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

the reception was lovely and only too kind to help us book tours and pub crawls as well as tell us the best places to go of an evening. the room (401) was very spacious including a moderatly sized bathroom. The bathroom was a bit grimy but not too bad. The breakfast was ok but dont worry if you miss it. Not a bad selection but people seem to be im a rush to grab everything. there are plenty of places down the road to get food including 24hour KFC. It is in a very nice area which is very close to I.P Pavlova station. All in all it was a great stay and we will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Semptyshshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your nice review, we are happy you had an overall positive stay in our Hotel Tyl.
I am sorry to read that you did not evaluate our hotel to meet a 4 star hotel category and we woiuld be grateful if you could contact us at your convenient with any suggestion, idea or advice. We know the importance of giving voice to our guests and listening from them how their hotel should be. We hope to hear from you soon and we wish you a very good day.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was well located for lots of good bars, but was in no way a four star hotel. The room was pretty big but also basic, and the decor was dated and a little scruffy.

However we stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas for €88, which was excellent value and made the trip affordable, so really we can't complain. We kind of knew it wouldn't be up to too high a standard by the price so we really weren't too disappointed.

Prague was a really cool city, which is quite large and sprawling, so we walked a long way but it is interesting to walk around and we always seemed to be close to a coffee shop, café or restaurant for a rest and they all seemed to have free wifi.

We would both thoroughly recommended a trip to Prague, and this hotel is fine for a cheap stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your review about Hotel Tyl.
It saddens me to read that you found your room to be dated and scruffy. Please feel free to contact us directly with the room number you stayed and we will definetly have a look at it.
The hotel decor is in Bidermeier style and rooms have antique piece of furniture.
We are happy you found the hotel to be in a comfortable position to stroll around Prague and enjoy it at its best.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further comments you wish to share, we are at complete disposal and thankful for our guests´ feedbacks.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a shot city break.
We wish you a great and prosperous 2014!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is situated in a square which had market stalls and a Xmas tree and all the trees had lights also.

It is in a very central position and the 22 tram will take you to most of the places of interest. Just around the corner is the Hop on Hop off tourist trip stop.

The reception staff at the hotel were so helpful - they had details of the trams, and tickets. Also lots of tours both day and night. Their English was brilliant and they were so helpful and polite.

The Breakfast was buffet style and good - plenty of choice of cereal, bread and jam, meats and various other savoury choices in cold - the hot selection was scrambled egg, which was replaced regulalrly so nice and fresh, smoked sausages and a veggie option. Plenty enough to fuel the hungriest person!

The rooms were warm, clean and spacious with plenty of comfort - bathroom with hairdryer, clean towels daily.

All in all a great experience and will be returning here next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing with us your wonderful review on Tripadvisor!
I am very glad to read that you had a positive expereince and I am thankful for the nice words you used. I will forward it to the staff of the Hotel and I am sure that they will all be very grateful and looking forward to welcoming you next year.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any further inquiry, we will ove to assist you personally this time.
In the meantime we wish you a wonderful beginning of 2014!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the large room. It overlooked the buildings at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The curtains were dark and thick which made sleeping so easy.
Elana at the front desk was lovely on our arrival and departure. She was very knowledgeable and provided us with lots of very useful information and brochures.
Breakfast was good with a cold and hot selection but unfortunately no fruit. The staff in the dining area were not happy. Never smiling or friendly. Surely their job cant be that bad!
I loved that there is a kettle available at the front desk to take to your room.
The only small problem I had with the room was stepping down into the deep bath to take a shower. With poor knees getting in and out was not too easy.
If travelling by train its only 2 stops on the Metro from main station to Pavlova and then a short walk. With no baggage we then walked everywhere.
would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katonsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor community.
I am happy you were satisfued with the room assigned. For your eventual next stay do not hesitate to contact us and if you mention the preference to have a bathroom with shower we will happily provide you with it.
Thank you for the nice words about Elena, she is always very nice and helpful with all our guests and we are gld she made your stay full of useful information.
Regarding the breakfast service and staff, I will definetly inform the manager in change of it and forward your comments for futrure improvements. I am sorry you could not find fresh fruits, please next time feel free to ask our staff in the breakfast room for some more and they will happily provide you with it, too.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at tops a 2 or 3 star hotel. Rooms are spaceful but beds are extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast is very limited and the service is very poor and not nice at all. There were two women working in the breakfast room, which is in a claustrophobic basement, who were not dressed properly and looked very untidy and they just weren't helpful or even nice when asking for basic things as milk. We thought it was a great deal to get a 4 star hotel for that cheap price, but in this case cheap things can turn out expensive and dissapointing.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mstimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedbacks with us on Tripadvisor.
It saddens me to read that we did not meet your expectations and I wished we could have had the chance to do something for you during your stay in order to turn it better.
Please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience if you wish to share with us further feedbacks and comments which will help us to improve the hotel services. Any guests´comments is for us useful and important.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
public.relations@ghotels.cz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Beranek
Beranek
#299 of 648 in Prague
281 reviews
Praha 2
Aparthotel Lublanka
Aparthotel Lublanka
#286 of 648 in Prague
96 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#222 of 648 in Prague
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#238 of 648 in Prague
513 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#285 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#274 of 648 in Prague
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Address: Tylovo namesti 668/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £41 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing