We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed impressions”
Review of Hotel Tyl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tyl
Ranked #263 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here Tuesday to Friday in May 2014.

Good:
Very central location.
Clean, large room.
Helpful, pleasant staff.
Free WIFI

Bad:
Few if any amenities - hotel couldn't provide more than the 2 coat hangers I had in my room.
Could provide the hotel clothes iron, but had no ironing board.
Mattress comprised of foam slabs (partially) covered with a mattress cover.
Bath had a shower head that had to be handheld (did have a wall mount, which was only a few inches above the taps - was designed as a bath, not a bath/shower combo.
Room didn't have functioning climate control; extremely hot, had to resort to leaving windows open, 2 floors above a busy tramway in a very central location which was extremely noisy, even at 4am mid-week (not hotel's fault - central a good thing, right?).
Painfully slow WIFI - on balance would have preferred to pay for faster.
Unlike previous Expedia-booked/pre-paid Prague hotels, found I had to pay additional room tax.

To be fair, I would say this hotel would be a good choice for a weekend break/stag trip. Less good for my business trip, and next time I will probably seek out a different hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room overlooking the tramway if you want a peaceful night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceLDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmidJakub, Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr. Davis,

let me thank you for your opinion which is extremely important for us.
Please be assured that we are constantly striving to improve our quality.
The hotel has a great central location and the noise of the city is difficult to eliminate.
Given the situation as regards WIFI connection we performed a restart of the entire network which is now fully functioning again.
We are very sorry to learn about non fuctioning climate control, if we would have a chance we would immediately replace your room.
We believe that in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you with us again and your expectations will be met.

Jakub Šmíd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    281
    106
    25
    18
See reviews for
84
319
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a last minute booking for the May Bank Holiday weekend. The room was spacious and very clean as was the bathroom. Good location, easy to walk into the Old Town or use tram and metro which are only 200 yards away. Restaurants and bars close by if you don't want to go too far in the evening. Also an easy journey by bus and metro from the airport. Staff were great, particularly Elena who showed us where to go on the map, booked a great tour and also recommended great restaurant. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmidJakub, Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!

Thank you very much for the nice words, it is very rewarding for us to
read that we provided a good service and our guests were satisfied.
We are also glad to read that we made you happy and your stay met your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next trip to Prague.

Thank you and hope to see you again in Hotel Tyl.

Jakub Šmíd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed in Hotel Tyl over Easter break for 4 nights. Our room on the 6th floor was very nice with a spacious bathroom. The hotel is kept clean and tidy at all times. There are no marks on the walls. Freshly decorated. The staff is very helpful and friendly especially Elena. We booked a Folk night through the receptionist. The entertainment was pretty average but plenty of food and unlimited drinks. The unexpected thing was that we had to share our table and food! with other people...
The location is rather good. 15 min on the tram to the historic center of Prague, walking distance to the main museums and The Dancing House. But I would try and find a hotel closer to the Old Town if travelling to Prague in winter or autumn when the weather is not so good.They serve hot breakfast at the hotel, slightly different each day. WiFi was very fast in the room. I am a little fussy when it comes to staying in hotels but this time it was a positive experience for both of us. Pleasant cosy hotel and excellent value.

Room Tip: Receptionist will turn the heating in the room up/down at your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Visited in July 2013 on a stag do. Lovely little hotel and excellent value. When you walk out of the hotel, you can turn left and are within touching distance of KFC and right opposite McDonald's, Starbucks and a newsagent. Very handy when on a stag do, believe me! The room is clean and kept so daily. Hotel staff are very helpful and there is a computer with internet access you can use free of charge. You are 10-15 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square, and transport is on your doorstep which speeds up your journey to the square. I enjoyed Prague and will definitely be returning sooner rather than later and will be returning to Hotel Tyl.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToonJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmidJakub, Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Tyl and for really nice review! We are happy,
that you´ve enjoyed your stay in out hotel and you want to stay again next time. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. For any future assistance do not hesitate to contact us directy.

Kind regards,
Jakub Smid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel Tyl is situated on a lovely small parklike plaza connected steps away from a major transit intersection. It is ideal for those who enjoy Prague's incredible transit system and enjoy taking lovely walks. The area is safe and we never felt uncomfortable at any hour of the day or night walking anywhere around the hotel. There are several 24 hour shops and restaurants within a block and this makes for an ideal option if you need anything at 3 am from an aspirin to absinthe and beyond.

The hotel staff is wonderful. They were patient and helpful. Our luggage was lost by the airline for two days and Hotel Tyl helped us communicate with the baggage representatives in Czech to help us get our much needed belongings. The door is locked at night, but the desk is staffed all night so no one can randomly walk through here or gain access to your rooms. We were greeted with a smile at all hours, even when returning past sunrise when perhaps a smirk and wink or frown would be expected, first class treatment of guests who were clearly taking their vacation seriously.

The breakfast room is lovely, quiet, quaint, and well stocked with delicious choices. Cheese, meats, pastries and more could be found daily along with some much appreciated coffee which made days start and nights end much better!

The room was huge. Huge. Beyond our expectations to be certain. We loved the way it was arranged and everything about it. Towel heater was a great touch. There are lovely safes built into the wall, you put a deposit for the key, and it is worth it for small valuables. It fit an iPad mini, I don't remember clearly if I had anything bigger, but just for scope of size. It is small and rectangular, so jewelry, cash, or other such things would be fine. Always felt safe with this as it would simply need to be removed with the wall and that didn't seem likely.

The stairway is gorgeous in the lobby, and adds much flavor to the place. We love Hotel Tyl and we love their property group so much that we are returning to Prague this summer to stay at another Garzotto hotel.

Prague is a great city, this is a great location, walk basically anywhere at any hour. The Zizkov Tv tower is a must see and a quick 10-15 minute walk (Albeit up a hill) and there are countless places to eat drink and be merry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmidJakub, Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with fellow travelers. It is a pleasure to read, that you´ve enjoyed friendly service in our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, ensuring you spend yet another fully enjoyable time.

Kind regards,
Jakub Šmíd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our stay at Hotel Tyl got off to a bit of a rocky start as the lady behind the desk did not acknowledge us or say hello to us when we walked in, she just handed us the form we had to fill out without another word spoken... I believe it was the manager working at the time, and I work in customer service myself so I do hesitate to write this but it has to be said because it unfortunatly left a sour taste in my mouth for the rest of the stay, sorry!. The guy working on reception was very friendly. Moving on though the beds are comfortable, the rooms are a nice size, rooms clean, bathroom clean, very, very quiet which we like. Wifi is so-so, sometimes really good, sometimes really bad. The only thing I would say is that they supplied only one pillow per person in the rooms, and the pillows are very thin, I do feel that they need to supply two pillows per person per room, not just one per person as by the time we had asked for an extra pillow each all the extra pillows had been taken, so clearly extra pillows are in high demand in the hotel!! I do remember also that our bed cover was thrown into the corner one day after housekeeping had cleaned the room... and not really folded neatly or anything just thrown in the corner in a bunch? Dont know what happened there. Also, there was no toaster provided when we were there. I found this odd, besides this the breakfast was very decent. The hotel is in a great location, a really short walk to the centre and to the wonderful Wenceslas square. Overall we did enjoy our stay at Hotel Tyl.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel Tyl.
I apologie if you did not receive the customer service as expected. We are costantly training our staff to be nice, kind and having a smile for each of our guest.
Since your stay in October 2013 we have been going through many improvements both in service and management reaching better results and higher standards. It is always a work in progress. We hope we could welcome you back soon to check them yourself.
Looking forward to hearing from you, best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel was in a good location, lovely market outside the Hotel. It was clean and beds were comfy,breakfast was fine I would highly recommend and would probably return again, the only downside was no tea or coffee facility in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kar t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for having evaluated positevely our Hotel and for leaving this nice review.
We are happy you had a pleasant stay and we thank you for sharing with us your suggestion, which I will forward to the Management to be considered for any future improvement.
Our guests' opinion always matters a lot to us.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you very soon.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#284 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#262 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#255 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#223 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Praha 2
Beranek
Beranek
#278 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Praha 2
Aparthotel Lublanka
Aparthotel Lublanka
#312 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Property: Hotel Tyl
Address: Tylovo namesti 668/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing