We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and central”
Review of Hotel Tyl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tyl
Ranked #262 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent and central”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend over a long weekend. Very nice and big room, decent enough location (Prague is pretty small and navigable anyway). The breakfast buffet was okay and the service was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MThompson2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    281
    106
    25
    18
See reviews for
84
319
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Receptionist's don't know how to behave with their guests. I have arrived to the hotel morning at 10:45 and check-in time was 14:00. I have been asked to wait till 14:00. The lady in the reception was not ready to provide room 10min before check-in time even though they have vacant room. She was giving the reason that room were under maintainance. Atleast they would have called and given room when the room is ready. I only went and asked room at 14:05.

There was a problem with shower. I went to reception and explained about the problem. They said they will fix soon. But they didn't fixed it.

Please search for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirankumar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iklin, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Tyl during our visit to Prague. During the first couple of days of our stay, it was quite hot there and so was our room. When we advised the receptionist, he said that the A/C was set to 16 degrees, but the room temperature was around 27 degrees. Because of this, we had to open the windows and it was quite noisy outside.

Other than that, the hotel is clean, centrally located (just 30 seconds away from the tram station), and the rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RY90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience.Not as busy as the Old Town,but very close to tram and metro station.From here you can reach any landmark in Prague.It is also possible to walk to the Old Town(20 to 30 minutes).The staff were helpful and friendly and always willing to help with information.Breakfast was good with plenty variety.Wifi also good.We could not fault anything and can recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard Sanet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Tyl for a short break and really enjoyed it.
Location was perfect for us – It is located in a small square with a fountain and weekday markets, just outside the centre of town, there are numerous other hotels, shops and plenty of cafés and restaurants in the area. There is a metro (I.P.Pavlova) and tram stop literally just round the corner, and it took us just 10 minutes to get to the old town square with all the touristy bits etc.

Hotel & room – the hotel open areas were very smart, and our room was of a reasonable standard, the furniture was all vintage which fitted in with the style of the hotel well. The bathroom was good, clean and tidy and everything was in good condition. However the beds were not really up to the standard I would expect from a four star hotel, they were a modern style bed and the springs were very squeaky and the mattress moved about a lot on the base. However we did sleep ok, so not all bad. Being British we do like a cup of tea, and although there are no facilities in the room, reception kindly provided us with a kettle, cups etc. so we felt at home. The aircon is centrally controlled by reception, which was not a problem, we just gave them a ring if we were too hot or cold and they adjusted it immediately. The free wifi worked perfectly in our room - 205. Even though technically the hotel does fulfil all the requirements of a four star rating, ‘personally’ I think it is a high quality 3 star which the prices reflect and I think it is extremely good value for what you get.

Spa – they have a small fitness room free for guests and a sauna at extra cost, and you can also get massages etc. We never got chance to use this though, as due to ‘our’ schedule the masseuse was fully booked when we were free which was not the hotels fault. And unfortunately the Whirlpool/Jacuzzi was out of action for our entire stay, which was a bit of a disappointment as my wife had quite fancied that, so she ended up using the facilities at another hotel.

Staff – Excellent, exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed by Viktor, who speaks excellent English and during our stay was very helpful whenever we needed information or anything sorting out, such a kettles, room changes, extra pillows etc. There was a little confusion on checkout, because we had already paid via a booking agent, but this was quickly sorted out by Elena who was also extremely helpful throughout our stay. I hope I have got their names right, because they made us feel so welcome in Prague

Meals – Breakfast was an adequate buffet style affair. It was nothing special compared to some 4 star hotels we have stayed in, but it was fine and set us up well for a day touring the city. There was the usual selection one expects – pastries, cold meats, fruit, toast, mini frankfurters, eggs etc. and something we had never some across before at breakfast: a selection of vegetables – which was an interesting change.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and I would have rated it 5 had it not been for the whirlpool being out of action and the squeaky beds.

Would we stay again – yes definitely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My mum and I always go to city destinations together once, every year.
We are so glad we chose prague this year. One word. Amazing city. The people are so helpful, friendly and really make you feel at home in their city.
We stayed at the hotel 5th till 9th June. We had a fab time though I wouldn't have called the hotel services 4 star... I would say 100% to the amazing customer service that we got at reception. They where all lovely and so welcoming but, our room could have had a bit more. Ie there was no tea and bathroom amenities .. We all know us Brits love a good cuppa now and then. The jacuzzi wasn't working either which was a real shame as after the long walks around prague it's just what mum and I needed. The breakfast was fine. You had to get there earlier or everything would have been munched. The staff topped most things up but, it needed a few more things I think ie crossiants, fruit salad etc. Overall it was a lovely hotel and I would return again as the location is just amazing and a short walk away to the main shops, sightseeing destination too. Make sure you take sunscreen from now until end of summer it was 35 oc and very hot!!
The ballet was beautiful and something I'd definitely recommend.
Thanks hotel TYLER

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here Tuesday to Friday in May 2014.

Good:
Very central location.
Clean, large room.
Helpful, pleasant staff.
Free WIFI

Bad:
Few if any amenities - hotel couldn't provide more than the 2 coat hangers I had in my room.
Could provide the hotel clothes iron, but had no ironing board.
Mattress comprised of foam slabs (partially) covered with a mattress cover.
Bath had a shower head that had to be handheld (did have a wall mount, which was only a few inches above the taps - was designed as a bath, not a bath/shower combo.
Room didn't have functioning climate control; extremely hot, had to resort to leaving windows open, 2 floors above a busy tramway in a very central location which was extremely noisy, even at 4am mid-week (not hotel's fault - central a good thing, right?).
Painfully slow WIFI - on balance would have preferred to pay for faster.
Unlike previous Expedia-booked/pre-paid Prague hotels, found I had to pay additional room tax.

To be fair, I would say this hotel would be a good choice for a weekend break/stag trip. Less good for my business trip, and next time I will probably seek out a different hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room overlooking the tramway if you want a peaceful night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceLDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmidJakub, Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr. Davis,

let me thank you for your opinion which is extremely important for us.
Please be assured that we are constantly striving to improve our quality.
The hotel has a great central location and the noise of the city is difficult to eliminate.
Given the situation as regards WIFI connection we performed a restart of the entire network which is now fully functioning again.
We are very sorry to learn about non fuctioning climate control, if we would have a chance we would immediately replace your room.
We believe that in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you with us again and your expectations will be met.

Jakub Šmíd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#281 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#256 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#250 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#218 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Praha 2
Beranek
Beranek
#275 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Praha 2
Aparthotel Lublanka
Aparthotel Lublanka
#312 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Property: Hotel Tyl
Address: Tylovo namesti 668/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing