We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tracy B

Mrs Boxall

Review of Hotel Tyl
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Sept 2019
Room was clean but, we booked a double room and there were two single beds, both different heights, pushed together in our room. This was disappointing. Staff were ok. We had no window in our room only a skylight. We booked as a 4* hotel so this was a let down. Would say should be 2*.
Would not return to this Hotel. Very disappointing.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£95
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Vio.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £94
0.6 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£208
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £208
  • Vio.com
    £169
  • Official Site
    £186
0.8 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£85
  • Priceline
    £84
  • Vio.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £96
0.5 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£118
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £111
  • Vio.com
    £106
  • Hotel Website
    £136
1.0 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £159
  • Agoda.com
    £146
  • Expedia.com
    £149
1.2 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
£95
  • Expedia.com
    £102
  • Agoda.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £102
1.4 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£71
  • Priceline
    £83
  • Vio.com
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £86
0.8 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£211
  • Expedia.com
    £211
  • Vio.com
    £199
  • Hotels.com
    £211
1.0 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£62
  • Expedia.com
    £65
  • Vio.com
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £67
2.0 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£30
  • Priceline
    £30
  • Vio.com
    £20
  • StayForLong
    £41
3.0 miles from Hotel Tyl
Free parking
View more hotels in Prague
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
305
338
139
39
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
305
338
139
39
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop minute walk breakfast room the main square wardrobe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2019

Hotel Tyl is a really good hotel, I am really glad I booked here:

Location
- Well located, the tram is just behind the hotel (you can catch the number 22), to get to the old town, you will need to catch a tram to get there
- Wenceslas square is around a 8 minute walk
- There are small shops nearby where you can purchase water and other bits and bobs, along with quite a few restaurants
- It's nice and quiet, not much noise from the main road at night

Hotel itself
- Room is very nice, quite dated furniture, but I liked it
- Very comfy bed, I slept really well at night
- Toilet it also adequate, the sink is massive, the shower is on the smaller size
- The fridge is really really small, you can only fit one bottle in there (it already has stuff in it of course)
- There is no safe deposit box sadly
- There is AC in the room, but you can't open the windows, which is annoying, I didn't ask why, perhaps it was just my room!
- Breakfast! A lot of people have complained about it, yes it doesn't have much variety and it is very basic, but if like me it doesn't bother you that much, I wouldn't avoid staying here for just that reason. There is toast, bread, sausages, egg, some fruit and drinks
- Wifi - very good signal I had no problems with it in my room or the lobby

Overall I had a very good experience staying here, would most certainly stay again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeetaKG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Disappointed that there was no bar even though it’s advertised as having a bar, especially as arrived late. Take care walking in this area as many uneven/broken pavements outside. Reception staff are helpful but the breakfast staff don’t even look at you or smile. Beds great if you like soft beds which we do so we were happy with this. Beautiful places to visit, trams stop by hotel but can’t pay on tram. Trams are reasonable prices we bought from a newspaper shop rather than the metro train station. The hotel took our payment from the card we booked with on booking.com while we were there without telling us which was ok as we checked bank so check before you pay. Lovely and clean hotel, breakfast ok for continental. It’s just rooms really as there’s no bar and the breakfast is served in the basement. Rooms are nice and comfortable and cleaned every day same as picture. The shower was only a hand held one and wasn’t on the wall which wasn’t great.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lmor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Tram and subway stop right at the corner of the hotel, with tram 22/23 being most useful to castle ,Petrin hill and Charles Bridge. The staff during our stay is very friendly. Our room is spacious and clean, shower is strong, wifi is good as well. However the bed and pillow are way too soft for us. Breakfast is the biggest letdown of the hotel, one of the worst 3-stars hotel breakast I had. The only nice thing in the breakfast is the croissants, but they only serve once and never refill. The breakfast room is as cold as the dishes served. Juice and coffee are bland as well. You may consider to stay at this hotel and have your breakfast at the Paul bakery around the corner.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Caddilac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

Well, this hotel have ☆☆☆☆ stars..???. Think, that this 4 stars is stay from 1980. when the hotel is open, or something.. the room is 2 or max 3 star..the recepcionist in hotel are hidding from guests and never say good morning, good day, by by..nothing... first day on payment we have some problems, dont know why, but they charge our credit card almoust double.. the recepcionist is make a storno and we are pay for hotel in cash... the monney was returned on credit card 3 days after.. Breakfast in this hotel, in basment, is bad, sorry but really it is. For the price that we pay this hotel you can find for sure a better one... and for cup on the cake.. on the end hotel charged our credit card for cca 10€... and dont know why.. we ask them kindly on e mail, and they didnt even answer us... so for the end it is a real mistery for us how this hotel have 4*, and good recensions on trip, and booking... I hope that we are exceptions, and that our problems with this hotel is 1/1000

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jascat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

I visited in feb2019 for 3 nights a with my father. We had booked separate single rooms. Upon arrival we were placed in separate large double rooms as the hotel had availability for no additional charge.
Both rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. We both had a lovely view over the square in front. The extremely large bay windows let in lots of light adding to the bright airy feel of this hotel.
The beds were comfortable, we both slept very well. The bathrooms are clean and have sufficient space. The shower was very powerful!
Breakfast was generous and delicious and available until 1000 every morning. The staff looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The location was ideal for us. A 10 min walk from the airport shuttle bus (you could get the tram but we elected to walk) and 5 minutes to Wencslas Square. The tram is just outside making the whole city accessible but we walked everywhere during our stay, and the old town is a pleasant 20 min stroll through Prague beautiful streets.
This is a beautiful old building not a hyper modern characterless box! The rooms and communal areas are beautifully furnished to the style of the building.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would absolutely stay again as for the price, you would struggle to find a better hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HelenC410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews