We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good winter season hotel”
Review of Residence 7 Angels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence 7 Angels
Ranked #52 of 359 Prague B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good winter season hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend, to take advantage of the Christmas Markets (2nd December).

Location - Fall out of the hotel and you are just around the corner from the main Old Town Square, which was amazingly convenient. Taxi from the airport was around £18 which seemed a bit steep, but was very convenient and took around 15 minutes, so a fair price I guess.

Our room was large, the bed was comfy and large, everything was clean. Admittedly, the fixtures and fittings and decor were dated and nothing matched each other (for example, we had 5 different lamps, none of them matching!), and the wallpaper although posh was falling off in places - but somehow, it just added to the querkiness and character of the hotel.

We were in Room 1 - ground floor, backing onto the cute courtyard. This is great in winter, but would have to say in the summer you'd probably not be too happy as your bedroom window would have people sitting outside in the sunshine just inches away from you, so that would be noisy - but in winter nobody is sitting around outside!

The staff were accommodating, smiley and friendly. We had an issue at check-in whereby the booking company had not told the hotel we did not want breakfast, so hotel tried to charge us - but was resolved once we provided proof on our booking, so it wasn't a problem. The staff kindly looked after our bags after we checked out too, so they were willing to help.

Would I stay here again - absolutely! Reasonable price, good location, room fit for purpose, staff helpful. Its not 5 star, but it doesn't claim to be, so thats fine. I had a FABULOUS time in Prague, and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: In summer, avoid the courtyard, expect it would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    19
    2
    11
See reviews for
18
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed 5 nights here and moved room after the 2nd night to room 1 which was good. Our first room (6) was dark, the curtains did not open/close and the pillows were hard. They changed the pillows but could not fix the curtains so eventually moved us. If you are lucky enough to get room 4 then you will enjoy a superb suite - shown in their picture.
I am sure the building has a long fascinating history - it is very close to the Old Town square so in the heart of old Prague - great for walking everywhere.
Breakfast was only between 0900 and 1000 and was adequate - some days we got a nice omelette or scrambled eggs.
The rooms adjoin a restaurant so the reception is the front desk of the restaurant.
We would visit again once we knew we were getting a good room.

Room Tip: Avoid 6. Try to get 4 or 1. These are the ones we have experience of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is really nice. Location is perfect, quite little street in the center two minutes walk to the main historical places. Old bilding, fantastic restorant on the first floor. If u rent
room n 3 or 4 u can have all what u need : kithchen dining room big bathroom and child bed. Was there several times and i will rent this hotel next time.

Room Tip: 3 or 4 apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexeyDv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPRUS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

positive
1GREAT LOCATION its in the center, 2 minutes walk from the Old Town square, and 5 minutes walk from both Charles Bridge and Wencleslas Square.
2NOT EXPENSIVE
negative
1POOR BREAKFAST
2 NO ELEVATORY

In general, (for standart double room) don't have high expectations, because you are going to stay in B&Bs..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAEHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We visitied in June 2011. We stayed in room 1 (I think). It was huge, maybe the largest room I have ever stayed in. The room was dark, and had an old world feel to it (dark wood, huge four poster bed, with good clean sheets, decent mattress & bedding) but that is something evident in the photos, and certainly if you drew back the giant velvet curtains, the light would pour in. In other words, I had an expectation, and I got what I thought I had bought.
Internet access was only available in the breakfast and bar area due to poor wifi reception. They were very happy for us to sit there at any time. To put this in context, these two areas are in a part of the building that was built in 1392!
Breakfast was good, and included cooked breakfast to order (eg ham and eggs).
Because we did not need to open the windows, we can't tell if late evening noise was an issue ... also it might be that some rooms are affected by this more than others. The staff were friendly. Although we did not require this service, I saw them offer to make an early packed breakfast for some people who had to leave before breakfast started.
Prague is a small city - and with so many places to see in the historic centre meant that staying here, we could regularly go back to the hotel and drop things off, collect whatever, check email, have a rest.
We ate at the adjoining restaurant - excellent food, and live music on saturday night (but thankfully, not too loud).
If you want to feel a bit of history, and "get into Prague" then I highly recommend staying in an old hotel such as this one.
I shall certainly be encouraging my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldandlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This was the nicest place we stayed during our trip to Czech Republic and Austria. We had 2 rooms with 2 bathrooms in a convenient location in the Stare Mesto. Service was excellent. When we told staff that we needed to leave before breakfast the next day, they prepared us a breakfast plate the night before.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melispdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Place here because of double boking in original hotel. Very disappointed. The standard room is not the best, very dark, wall paper coming off wall, shower head would not move so sprayed the wall rather than the body. Noisy at night - staff emptying bottles and regular smoke breaks on the terrace. Room not cleaned for two of a four day stay but it is in a great location.

One of the staff members amusing - he could not speak English without swearing

Would I use again - NO!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neveragain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#335 of 649 in Prague
436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#124 of 649 in Prague
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel King George
Hotel King George
#54 of 359 in Prague
177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Green Garland Pension
The Green Garland Pension
#23 of 359 in Prague
288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Corto
Pension Corto
#57 of 359 in Prague
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence 7 Angels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence 7 Angels

Property: Residence 7 Angels
Address: Jilska 20 | Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence 7 Angels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private residence originally from the year 1411 is situated in the exclusive location of the Old Town on the pedestrian zone only a few steps from the Charles Bridge and Old Town Square. The residence offers accommodation in double rooms and suites. Luxury rooms from 30 to 95 square metres are equipped with shower or bathtub, satellite TV, refrigerator, furnished antique (style La Patio) and modern furniture. All rooms are equipped with a king size bed. In some apartments, there are available also kitchenettes, washing machines and dishwashers. Buffet breakfast is served in the unique restaurant every day from 09:00 am to 10:00 am. Art Nouveau Restaurant 7 Angels offers typical Czech and international cuisine. Also vegetarians, lovers of fish and good Czech, Moravian and French wine could find a delight. Hotel guests can use a local laundry for a fee. Underground parking is located only 5 min. By walk from the residence. Our residence visited e.G.: Giulio Andreotti, Shirley Temple, Jean Reno, Lorenzo Lamas, Rolling Stones, Martina Hingis, football team AS Roma, president Vaclav Klaus, Karel Gott etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residence 7 Angels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Angels Residence (u 7 Andelu) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing