We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Ranked #232 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 27 July 2006

I'm a budget traveler who normally spends about $50/night on hotel rooms, so the Tivoli was somewhat above my regular budget ($75/night). That being said, I was very pleased by the services provided.

The room was relatively large and the bathroom spacious by European standards, with plenty of clean towels. The daily breakfast had lots of variety going beyond the typical rolls, cheese, and meat, to include various juices, eggs, breads, cereal, fruit, and yoghurt.

My only complaint was that while the hotel provided strong, central air conditioning (an enormous relief during the heat wave), they tended to turn it off between 3 and 6:00 am. The thermostat in the room was for decorative purposes only.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lb-budget-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2006

What a wonderful place to start our trip of Europe! The Tivoli is an absolutely charming and well priced hotel. It is only ten minutes walk down the main street to the square. We can highly recommend a walking tour of Praugue (with the Yellow umbrella) It is not a hard walk and a great way to get your bearings. The front desk was polite and helpful. The room is very small, but sufficient. The bathroom was lovely, clean and modern. The breakfast was a mix of cereals pastries, cold meats and cheeses. It was probably the best we recieved in europe that was included in the price. We will most definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2006

I rec'd a really good price deal at this hotel. It is pretty well kept up, with a nice decor, and I got a very large room for the price with an actual double room. The breakfast was a pretty good European style, with preads, yogurt, canned fruit (fresh fruit only 1 day in 7), meats, cheeses, hard boiled egs, juices, etc. The front desk receptionists were nice & friendly.

However, there must still be a black market in bathroom supplies in Prague. I stayed a week, and when I ran out of supplies, including toliet paper!!!!!, I had to call down to the front desk to get them replaced. Towels would be taken & not replaced.

Also, the "internet" service is an absolute joke -- they have a computer from 1989 w/ no memory that crashes if you even pull up yahoo. It literally took me 20 minutes to just look at my e-mail, and the 2nd time it took an hour -- I am not making this up. You should not consider it available at all for anyone's use. Not exactly how I want to spend my vacation time.

First time I was in Prague, so maybe this is standard for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livin_n_the_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2005

Couldn't be happier with this charming little place. The location is very convenient - a bit removed from the tourists but close to everything, including a metro station a block away. Staff is so very friendly and kind - they even gave us complimentary glasses of champagne as a welcome. The room is a good size for a European hotel, bathroom is clean and with nice amenities (cute soap!), and the interior decor of the whole hotel is lovely. And considering what we paid for the room in the off season - what a steal! I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2005

I have been to Prague many times (it's my favorite city in the world!) and stayed at the Renaissance, the Hotel Tivoli and the Rott Hotel. I've stayed at the Tivoli twice so far, and it is the best deal around. The price is very affordable, the service is the BEST customer service I've yet to encounter ANYWHERE in Europe, the rooms are very nice and the breakfast is more than just merely "edible", it's actually good. The Renaissance was nice, but wicked expensive, virtually no customer service. The Rott Hotel is also another good place to stay, albeit right in the very middle of everything! The interior is not as nice as the Tivoli, but good enough for the price. The only reason I stayed there on the last visit is because the friend I was travelling with had an injured foot and we needed to keep all of our walking to an absolute minimum. The Tivoli is just right on the edge of "everything", a block from the subway, and just a great hotel all-around.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apacheav8rix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2005

Extremely good value.

Concur with the other review re: location -- it's a bit out of the way, but is easily walkable to anywhere in the city (and if you don't want to walk, there are bus, metro and a taxi stations less than a block away).

Rooms are comfortable, but avoid getting stuck on the top floor -- the top front rooms are in the attic (not those in the back, though), and while comfortable the "view" is less than ideal. The other rooms are fine, though. I recommend back (garden-view) rooms, as the traffic noise in the front rooms is a bit high in the morning.

Breakfast is included and is good (meats, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, etc. plus excellent breads/pastries).

Personel is extremely nice and has a sense of humor.

Only (small) downside: there are no "real" restaurants to speak of close by (but there are KFC and McDonald's two blocks away, if such is your bent), and neither are there bars where I felt like unwinding after a long day.

In all, a great choice for those on a budget, and a choice worth considering regardless of your budget.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ayilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bolton, England
18
Reviewed 1 August 2005

The Tivoli is a pretty new hotel a 10 minute walk from Wencelas Square in the new town. There is a tube and tram stop right outside, and Prague's public transport system is one of the easiest I've ever used. The hotel is small and informal with very helpful staff and a lovely breakfast. As the hotel is so new, all the fixtures and fittings are in superb condition, and the room still felt like we were the first people to use it. The truth is, this hotel is located just far enough to be away from the heaving masses, yet close enough to walk to all the main attractions - that said, we used the public transport to save our feet and because it's so simple. Quick word of caution if you do use public transport: buy a ticket and validate it, i got a £20 fine for being a bit shabby with regards this.
For the price you will pay to stay here, i can only give the place 5 stars, as it probably puts a few higher graded older hotels to shame.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#125 of 646 in Prague
872 reviews
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#174 of 646 in Prague
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#463 of 646 in Prague
56 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#45 of 646 in Prague
421 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#96 of 646 in Prague
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel Prague

Address: Sokolska 1794/48, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £26 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tivoli Hotel Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing