We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, but annoying about the air con”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Ranked #252 of 649 Hotels in Prague
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, but annoying about the air con”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The hotel was fine but we were in Prague during the heatwave. The hotel was very fiddly about the aircon, not giving guests control of the system. Was annoyed waking up sweating in the middle of the night and having to call down to the front desk and ask them to turn the air conditioning on again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchowla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    228
    84
    14
    15
See reviews for
97
203
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skalica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Nice hotel near to tram stop. 20 mins away from the center. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

This hotel is very conveniently located, 1 min away from the subway and major tram stops.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

We asked for a quiet room on the courtyard (the main street is a very busy one) and we got a very nice and quiet room indeed!

Very nice 4 night stay overall. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank M0tus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

This is a really good value hotel. It was friendly, clean and warm. The beds were very comfortable. We asked for quiet rooms, and they were seriously quiet. Had three perfect nights sleep. If you are going to Prague, and intend to be out and about, I would recommend this hotel without reservation. It does have free use of a computer and some fitness equipment too. We paid an average of £80/night.
I would also recommend the Fischer restaurant, Jakubska 6. We had some very good food, 3L of wine for 6 of us, for less than £100. It was also very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roland martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pocono, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Found this very reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Prague through booking.com. Then confirmed its "worthiness" through Trip Advisor reviews.

First of all, DO NOT DRIVE INTO PRAGUE!. Even though the Tivoli promised me a parking spot with my rooms reservation, the lot was a couple of blocks away and far too small to accomodate my rental van. Parked instead 5 blocks away at the train station - $48 per day!!!!

Other than the parking incident I have nothing but praise for this older, yet comfortable hotel located just outside the Old Town. Wenceslas Square was only a ten minute walk away while the subway taking you to the other tourist sights was just around the corner. The neighborhood itself wasn't the most charming in Europe, but it felt safe enough. Just a few blocks away was a great beer pub called "Pivovarsky Dum". It offered big platters of inexpensive Czech cuisine washed down with the brewpubs own home-brewed beers. Reservations suggested because the locals love it too.

The Tivoli's rooms were of average European size meaning that the double rooms offered two single beds. The bathrooms were clean, large and modern. A TV with BBC and CNN provided entertainment. Despite facing a very busy thoroughfare our room was reasonably quiet and well-heated.

Breakfast was a mini-buffet with hard rolls, cheese, lunch meats, cold cereals, Danish, toast, preserves, some fresh fruit and a coffee/hot cocoa machine. Nothing outstanding but enough to fill our empty bellies.

  • Liked — Nearby subway, great price, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Total lack of parking and rundown neighborhood
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

The hotel is located a bit outside Prague's city center; you can catch the underground in the near station, or you can walk (20 minutes), but be advised that the Venceslas Square area during the night is not properly the best view of this magnifcent city.
The road where the hotel is located is also noisy for the traffic.
The rooms are anyway confortable and clean; for 55 euro/night for the single (reserved through [--]) it is a good value for the money.
All in all, it is a good hotel. For your next vacation, I'd suggest you to look for an hotel more close to the center, anyway.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

User review:
I was very disappointed in this hotel and would not recommend it. Although it is about a 20min walk to the Old Town centre, it is in an ugly, noisy, run-down part of town - inexplicably, the area is full of hotels even though there are no services (restaurants, supermarkets) nearby. When I arrived, I was given a dark, dilapidated single room that STANK of sewage - there was clearly something wrong with the pipes. It was absolutely foul, I couldn;t believe they expected someone to sleep there. Luckily, there was a double free on another floor which was cleaner. The room was worn-down, however, and the sheets were old, though the bathroom was decent. I tried to have dinner in the neighborhood upon my arrival, but there was nothing welcoming or convinient -only a few dodgy looking restaurants and a very creepy "variety" (read:liquor) store. Oh, and a lovely sex "supermarket" down the street. If I hadn't brought food with me from Vienna, I wouldn;t have eaten at all that night. The staff were unable to complete simple tasks, like connecting my calls to my room. Breakfast was cheap, with rotting fruit cocktail from a can and bad coffee from an automated machine. Given that this hotel wasn;t even particularly inexpensive, stay away from it and others by the IP Pavlova metro stop, spend the extra money, and stay right in the old town. Prague is NOT an attrative city outside of the tourist districts, and needs to seriously focus on cleaning its streets of garbage and graffitti, treating visitors respectfully and kindly, and making travellers feel safe and comfortable.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Shackleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#136 of 649 in Prague
692 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#227 of 649 in Prague
209 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#456 of 649 in Prague
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#259 of 649 in Prague
226 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#318 of 649 in Prague
728 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#355 of 649 in Prague
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel Prague

Property: Tivoli Hotel Prague
Address: Sokolska 1794/48, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tivoli Hotel Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing