We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“''A lovely place''” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prague Golden Age

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prague Golden Age
Ranked #292 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“''A lovely place''”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at Prague and that's mostly because the hotel has the perfect location, so we were able to walk everywhere in the old city and explore all the magical little streets within. We loved the beautifully furnished suit. The personal was very friendly and helpful during our stay. We will definitely come back to Prague and stay at Golden Age Hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    66
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
28
73
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Excellent location..... Narrow stairs up to the rooms and unlikely to get help with bags. Clerk is friendly but not a reception clerk that has much info or provides any extra help. This is a value hotel for location.... Clean... Good for guests who know what and where they want to go and do in prague or are independant. I have stayed here over 5 times... Always for location. Its gotten a little worse over the last few years...and my last trip ( one week stay in feb) i was charged for mini bar whiskey after I returned to the states.... i dont drink whiskey! Obviously one of the staff who has an alcohol problem. Likely the one who charged my credit card.... There were only 2 employees there that i saw that week..... And the hallmark of alcoholism is lying about drinking. I didnt go thru the trouble of fighting and enlisting my credit cards arbitration as it wasnt worth the aggravation for 30$.... But it was annoying when u are charged for whiskey and have not had one! I would stay there again as the Value is still good for the location. If you dont like narrow stairs and no elevator choose elsewhere.... Not a place my elderly parents could stay at.

Room Tip: There can be lots of late night 3 am street noise.... So you may ask for a room without wondows on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenerousMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Golden Age Prague is a fantastic value right in the middle of the old city. We had a great time as the hotel is centrally located which was great as we could easily head back for our 2 1/2 year old nap time. We had a room facing the street which yes, it can be noisy as there is a major market selling handicrafts and food in the street all day then it is an active walking street at night. With that said our toddler had no problem sleeping. The room was big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good compared to the value of the hotel. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised when my husband and two adult children walked into our exceptionally priced room on the third floor. The room was huge with self contained kitchen, large bathroom and two bedrooms. The furniture was heavy oak and had lots of charm. It was hot when we were there and I was concerned about comments re no airconditioning but they had floor fans which did the trick and wasnt a problem. Breakfast was perfectly ok - nothing extravagant but it hit the spot fine! We had our windows open all of the time and didnt find the noise distracting - if anything, it added to the charm of Prague and wouldnt have wanted it any other way. Perfect location - right in the heart of the city and one minute (if that) walk to the metro (Mustek). Would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is a small 'hotel' that felt like one step up from a B&B, with a similar level of facilities. As other reviewers have said, the location of the hotel is excellent. 5 minutes walk to the Old town square and wenceslas square felt unbeatable. The beds themselves were comfortable, and the breakfast satisfactory (cold meats/cheeses/cereals).

I've never been to Prague before so I can't compare this hotel to others in the city but there were some oddities. Firstly, the room had the lingering smell of smoke in the pillows which was hard to ignore - smoking is widespread in the city and taxis, so it's something to get used to again for us from the UK! There was a mix-up with the room booking where I thought I had booked a double room but instead booked a twin room. In most hotels, this would be fine as you could move the single beds together. Not in our room, There was a massive wall between the beds so we couldn't even see each other! Hardly a romantic getaway. When we explained the situation to the guy at reception he didn't let us sleep in the available double room - which would have been a nice gesture. Whilst he didn't do anything wrong, it seemed a little random.

There was also loud banging music one night (a Tuesday night).

Prague is a nice city and one that I suspect is extremely popular with tourists, meaning that other places in the city are not dissimilar to this.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Located in the old part of town, the Golden Age is well placed to be a short walk to all the major attractactions. The only down side to this is that it can be a bit noisy at night time. Rooms were comfortable , if a little dated. This is an old city so that standard is acceptable. The rooms were well heated as it was cold during our stay so I can't comment on air cond. Staff were very helpful. Overall, a unique experience staying in this old hotel with character.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stay there once and will go there again.best location and good breakfast.and recommended to my mom next vist and planing to stay there next summer.
it is a small location, small business but the value and location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehrdadbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#307 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Modra Ruze
Hotel Modra Ruze
#219 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#282 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#336 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Golden Age? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Golden Age

Property: Prague Golden Age
Address: Havelska 515/18 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prague Golden Age 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Prague Golden Age reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing