We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel and a fantastic staff made for a memorable stay”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #92 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

i was on a biz trip to prague in feb 2012 and stayed in suite no 207 overlooking the river - from the time i entered the hotel totally tired with hours of flying the experience was nthg but exceptional......the staff is always read to help - no matter how many times i would call them to replace the toiletries ( my fav l'occitance products )- they would always answer with a big smile - my room was ultra posh - free wi fi connection, massive bedroom with a huge living room and a small pantry - it was home away from home undeniably....loved the candies in the bowl at the reception ...their restaurant amade does fantastic food - although options for vegetarians was limited the chef was able to put together a pasta and grilled vegetables dish effortlessly altho it was not a part of the menu..........they even helped call a private cab to take me to the airport which i have not seen many posh european hotels do...all in all i would go back to them again with my beau in summers ...the hotel is right across the charles brigde.....the view from the stunning

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poojapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for 19 March for 3 nts - was absolutely fabulous... we booked a deluxe double for a special Anniversary and were welcomed with champagne in our beautiful room overlooking the river with a view of the Charles Bridge and castle in the background all floodlit - what a treat...couldn't have asked for a more special location!! must have been upgraded!! Would def recommend this hotel to anyone the location is to die for and everything is so close and within walking distance - loved the trams outside and so quick to walk over the river (go late at night when it's quiet and floodlit - truly magical) - went for a run up to the castle and back along the bridges to the "dancing house" past some beautiful areas and down onto one of the islands in the middle of the river. Prebooked Prague airport transfers for taxi into Prague - so helpful with map,booklet and free walking tour done by lovely local cz lad - definitely recommended - but beware there are several "free" walking tours with a red umbrella so check you are with the right guy a local not a kiwi or similar!
Great bar across the road by the weir with great close up view of Charles Bridge! had been looking at hotel next door to American embassy so glad we didn't stay there no view and police everywhere. Go to concert in Mirror Concert hall at 5pm if you can and great little short cut through Klementium

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late February and were very pleased with our choice. The only reason I've taken a while to write the review is because I want to go back and don't want it to get too booked up! The location was perfect - we could easily walk to all the attractions and best bars and restaurants. It is right by the Charles Bridge on the old town side of the river, which is the best.
Our room was fantastic, so much so that the real challenge was leaving it to explore Prague. Staff were friendly and helpful and gave us excellent recommendations for a place to go for breakfast, The Cafe Rouge - do go - we went for lunch as well! Go to Prague, stay here - you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhizzieGoldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I can only say that our experience from start to finish was 5 star.
The staff were nothing but exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and the initial welcome at reception was only enhanced when we were shown to our room
The room (suite) overlooked the river at the front of the hotel but due to the excellence of the windows and secondary glazing there was absolutely no noise whatsoever from the road/s.
The room was spotlessly clean and the facilities consistent with the service.
If i was asked for my only suggestion it would be access to more English speeaking TV channels as BBC World news can be a tad repetetive
However, in a foreign country I am absolutely aware that as a visitor I cannot expect to have "all the comforts of home" having said that the Hotel came very very close
If you are considering visiting Prague then I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pachtuv Palace given its position and quality of service
I will be returning soon to see more of this magical city and I will definitely be returning to the Palace.

Room Tip: Room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Prague (February 2012) where we stayed at the Pachtuv Palace. I had high hopes after reading the reviews, and this hotel MORE than delivered! First: Location is top-notch, within walking distance of everything (Charles Bridge, cable car to castle). Second: Service and location awareness was unbelievable - the staff handled every detail with perfection down to the smallest thing, including making great recommendations for our stay, scheduling a walking tour, arranging a pickup, booking a Bikram Yoga class for me. There were gifts in the room for our children, a bottle of champagne for us (anniversary and birthday to celebrate), and our rooms were beautiful -- we were in a 2-bedroom suite, and it literally FELT like we were staying in a real palace. I can't imagine staying ANYWHERE else in Prague, and will return, and will send friends and family...I can't say enough good things about the place or its staff! Bravo Pachtuv Palace, we'll be back! And Mamaison...we'll be checking out your other properties when we travel, too!
(About us: We are Americans living in Europe for a couple of years. We have two young children. We travel a fair amount with them, usually by car, we don't smoke and don't want to smell smoke, and we value comfort and value pretty much equally. We are somewhat discerning and have stayed in some nice places on the Amalfi Coast of Italy, in Rome, in Paris, and in London...but we have also stayed in nice Hampton Inns! So we tend to stay in nice places when that's part of the experience but don't overspend to do that when we don't need to. If that helps you to decide whether our review is relevant to you!) :>)

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, get a 2-bedroom suite...we had a castle view, and the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bubbie0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I am in the hospitality industry at its highest level in management. I understand and the know how to delivery top notch service. I planned a visit to Czech Rep & Germany for 12 days and decide on Prague, as it was dream choice for my wife to visit. The Pachtuv Palace is 5 stars with service, facility, and location. It is 1 of my best hotel experiences throughout the world. I highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rom 209, it overlooks the Charles Bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmgreatbay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Absolutely first class.

Room was fantastic (only one with balcony) very opulent. Central to everywhere and few minutes walk in either direction to all attractions. Stayed for the Christmas markets and enjoyed every minute of a long week end. Highly recommended. Staff very attentive and helpful. Agree with all previoius comments. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyld0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,175 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#38 of 647 in Prague
1,146 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 647 in Prague
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £155 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing