We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, with customer focused staff”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #87 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked a long weekend in Prague in September 2012. We went on the Saturday and left on the Tuesday. We stayed at the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace Hotel for 2 nights.

When we arrived at the hotel from the airport, we had a lovely warm welcome form the lady at reception (Martina). She asked us if we wanted a drink and offered tea, coffee, water, or sparkling wine. We chose the sparkling wine and sat down to check in. It was all very civilised and stress-free at that point. The receptionist then gave us the bad news...there was a problem with our room, which meant that we had to spend the night at another hotel (their sister hotel). She said that they will fix the problem by the afternoon of the following day. She apologised profusely, and said that she will give us a free upgrade for the inconvenience. We had booked a junior suite, and she was going to upgrade us to an executive suite on our return. She also organised for a car and driver to take us to the other hotel, which was quite far from the main sights, and in the other side of town. She did acknowledge that we had booked the original hotel because of its location, right by Charles Bridge, and the Old Town. We are quite easy going, so we didn't make a fuss and relished the thought of getting an upgrade our return!

So, our first night was spent at Hotel Le Palais Prague. It was a great hotel, and I will write a review for them. Back to Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace Hotel. When we returned on the following afternoon, we were shown to our lovely executive suite. It was huge! We didn't know what to do with all the space. There were two double bedrooms, each with an en-suite bathroom. There was also a large sitting/dining area, and kitchenette with a fridge and cooker hob etc. Not only had they upgraded us to a great suite, with our own doorbell(!), but they had also left a small bottle of wine and some chocolates on the table for us. We were blown away by it all. They had really gone to a lot of trouble to make it up to us. We would definitely stay here again.
The suite was fantastic, and clean. The beams in the bathroom are a little low, especially the ones over the shower, so watch your head when having a shower. Also, the plaster on the windowsill next to the shower in one of the bathrooms is starting to peel off, but that's not a big issue and can easily be sorted.

The staff at the hotel were very nice and friendly and helpful. The manager at the restaurant where breakfast is served is less so. (I will write a separate review for the breakfast).

We had a great stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on the Tripadvisor and also thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague. It is always a pleasure to read compliments about good quality service. It has always been our main aim to treat our guests with the highest level of professionalism but also treat them as a family members.

I do apologize for moving you to another hotel for your first night and hope it didn’t affect your stay too much. I do understand you chose our hotel because of the location and I appreciate even you didn’t stay with us for the first night you are able to admire our service and hotel in general. It means a lot for me and for the whole team of Pachtuv Palace.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to an executive suite, it was the least we could do for you.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review one more time. I hope to welcome you back in the future!
Yours Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

we were there while the hotel was being renovated so this meant no view, which was not ideal, but the location was still great, just a few steps to the Charles V Bridge and across the street from the Bellevue restaurant (delicious!). Nevertheless they gave us very nice rooms. Huge suites with a living room/dinning room area with a kitchenette and a guest bathroom, and a main bedroom with a full barthroom and kingsize bed. The staff was very nice and helpful for restauramte reservations, transportation, etc. The only thing that was just ok was the breakfast buffet, and the fact that soem of the staff at the restaurant doesnt speak english. However, overall very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace during you stay in Prague.
I apologize for the inconvenience with the renovation. I know this will not change your experience but as of today, the renovation is done and Pachtuv Palace has the beautiful views back. I hope you can experience it during your future stay.

I will inform the restaurant manager about your dissatisfaction with the service. The restaurant staff speaks English on communicative level and I am sorry you experienced issues.
On the other hand thank you very much for lovely comments about the hotel staff and the rooms.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay and were understandable during the time of renovation.

Best regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, very handy for all sights, only reason I have marked some a 4 is nothing's ever perfect but this place comes close, would def stay again, charles bridge is just over the street, great views of the castle, city centre is only a 5 min scenic walk, I only stayed 5 nights, but would have stayed another 5,

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sy8ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for complying this nice review here on the Tripadvisor and also thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

I was happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay as well as our friendly staff.
I hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break in this beautiful Hotel, once Mozart's home in the city, we were upgraded to a wonderful deluxe suite on arrival, unfortunately the view was restricted by renovation work to the front of the Hotel, it would have been nice to have at least been informed that there was restoration work going on but all in all it was a fantastic break, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and so unhurried, the location was superb, we done all of our sightseeing on foot capturing the most breathtaking historical sights , the roads and pavements are cobbled so good flat walking shoes are a must, public transport was plentiful for those wishing to venture further or not wanting to walk, we had a wonderful concert dinner in the cafe Mozart which is opposite the famous astronomical clock, we sat in the window and enjoyed the views, numerous, bars, restaurants and shops, something for everybody in this wonderful city.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank glennsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel for your stay in Prague. Your Tripadvisor review is very much appreciated.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the renovation. Before the renovation started we informed all the travel agencies, had the information on our webpage and also had this information here on the Tripadvisor. It definitely wasn’t our intention to keep information about the renovation from our guests and I am sorry if you felt that way.

On the other hand thank you so very much for a positive feedback on our staff members. I will forward the feedback to the team. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel breakfast, we just recently did a renovation there as well with changing the concept to the café/restaurant and I am happy our guests feel good there and are happy with services and food.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay in Prague and our hotel and hope you will return soon.
Yours Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel during the Autumn break. We reserved a small suite for the family and was given a free upgrade to a 2-bedroom suite. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is fantastic, very near to Charles Bridge and within walking distance to all the attractions. It has a great restaurant as well. One minor point was that the hotel was undergoing renovation when we were there. Fortunately, the works was restricted to the exterior and we had a room facing the courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your family stay. Also thank you for reviewing us with such a nice comment here on the Tripadvisor.

I apologize for the renovation and I am glad your stay, due to the room location, was not affected by it. The renovation is finished as of today and I can promise you beautiful views for your next stay.

Thank you again,

Yours sincerely
Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a very good location close to the river and the Charles Bridge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a very good advance rate and ended up with a smaller room. However, the room was spacious enough, well appointed and very comfortable. There was a mini-kitchen and the bathroom was large.Our room should have had a nice view of the river but there was no view due to exterior restoration work on the front of the building. We received no prior notification or special consideration for the inconvenience. The rooms in the back of the hotel around the delightful inner courtyard would probably be better. Even with double windows, there was traffic noise from the street. One minor issue: as in many European hotels, the "shower curtain" consisted of an 18 inch piece of plexiglass beside the tub. Expect a lot of water everywhere.

Room Tip: If your package does not include breakfast, order off the menu. You will get a good breakfast at les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dccv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location as well as our employees.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the renovation and thank you for your understanding. The renovation is done and I hope you will return to Pachtuv Palace in the future.

Thank you again,

Yours Sincerely,


Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was our favourite hotel of our recent 4 week round the world trip. We were greeted by courteous staff and it only got better. The suite we were given had a beautiful balacony overlooking the Charles Bridge and up the hill to the castle. The room was huge and tastefully decorated. There was a powder room as well as a large bathroom and the bed was luxurious. The wifi was free and worked well. The location is central and the garden is beautiful out the back. I have nothing but praise for this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a castle view..worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#55 of 648 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £118 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing